What are add-ons?

The passwords can also be used in the browser via browser add-on. It is possible to search for passwords via add-on. The user can search for passwords in the add-on, transfer them to the clipboard or enter them in the input mask of the website automatically. The automatic login may require applications.

In order to provide the data, the add-on needs a connection to the database. This can be set up in two ways, either via SSO Agent or directly in server mode.

Currently, add-ons are available for the following browsers: Microsoft Internet Explorer, Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox and Safari.

Installation

Please find more information about the installation on: Installation Browser Add-ons

Connection via SSO agent or server mode

If the Installation of the add-on has been carried out, the user can now open the desired browser. A window appears in which the security of the connection is confirmed. Pairing is performed with a simple click. The add-on is authorized to request data from the SSO Agent from this point onwards. A new icon will also be displayed in the desired browser from this point onwards:

If the icon is displayed as shown, it means that although the add-on has been installed, a connection has not yet been established with the SSO agent. Only after logging into the agent (via the icon in the system tray) will you receive a Windows notification about the successful login. If a connection to the agent has been established, the number of available records for the current website will be directly displayed on the icon.

The following picture explains the exact procedure for connecting in detail:

After successful connection, the number of data records available for the current Internet page is displayed on the icon.

The subscript “0” means that the add-on has a connection to the database.

Database profiles

The server mode must know which database profile it is connected to. There are two ways of setting up a database profile:

  • First, the database profile can be created manually. Therefore, he following information is required: IP address, WebClient URL and database name. Please note that /api is appended to the end of the IP address.

  • It is also possible that the database profile is filled out automatically. For this, you need to log on to a database via WebClient. By clicking on the add-on in the WebClient, its profile can be taken over. Now all necessary information such as profile name, IP address, WebClient and database name are transferred.

The server mode benefits

The server mode offers the following advantages:

  • No terminal service is required in terminal server operation.
  • SSO is no longer required.

Settings

All settings that relate to the add-on are made centrally on the client. The user settings system can be used to enter them globally per organisational unit or per user. The following options have a direct impact on the add-ons and can be found in the SSO category:

  • Browser add-ons: Automatically send login masks ensures that the login is automatically completed after the access data has been entered. It is thus not necessary to click the relevant button manually
  • About browser add-ons: Automatically fill login masks ensures that access data is entered without the need for any confirmation when a website is recognised.

The default browser option also has an impact on the add-ons. This setting defines the browser in which the websites are opened from the client.

The above-mentioned settings can also be defined for each record. Further information can be found here: “

Working with add-ons

The subscript number mentioned in the previous section is only available with active logins and therefore already says a lot about the “Number of possible entries”. For example, if the number “2” is shown, you can directly select the account you want to log in with.

Previously, the prerequisite was that you had to navigate manually to the precise website via the browser that you actually wanted to use. This navigation can now also be handled by Password Safe – as described in the following section.

Search and navigation

It is currently assumed that the user has to navigate manually to the website on which they want to automatically enter login data. This way of working is possible but is not convenient enough. The add-on can be used in a similar way to bookmarks. The search field can be used to search for the record in the database. The prerequisite is again that the record contains a URL.

The screenshot shows that the URL and the name of the record (Wikipedia) are searched. The results for the search are displayed and can be selected using the arrow buttons or the mouse. The selected website will be opened in a separate tab.

Displayed passwords

Which passwords are displayed for a recognised website depends on how the record or records have been configured. It is possible to define for each password how granular the URL should be checked. Further information can be found in the section “password settings”:https://help.passwordsafe.de/v8/1/en/topic/passworteinstellungen.

The process will be explained by an example:

A unique password has been created for each of the following websites:

  • www.passwordsafe.de
  • help.passwordsafe.de
  • license.passwordsafe.de

The Exact domain check is deactivated for all three passwords:
On www.passwordsafe.de, the passwords for the subdomains are also displayed in the addon, i.e. www.passwordsafe.de, help.passwordsafe.de and license.passwordsafe.de

The Exact domain check is activated for all three passwords:
On www.passwordsafe.de, no passwords for the subdomains are displayed in the addon. Only www.passwordsafe.de is displayed

The Exact domain check is activated for all passwords except for license.passwordsafe.de.
On www.passwordsafe.de, www.passwordsafe.de and license.passwordsafe.de are displayed in the addon.

Several passwords for one website

If a user opens a page and multiple passwords with the autofill function are possible for this website, no entries will be made unlike in older versions. Instead, the following message appears in a pop-up:

However, if the autofill function is only activated for one password but multiple passwords are possible, the password with the autofill function is entered.
If the user clicks on a record in the pop-up, this record is entered as normal (as was the case previously).

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was versteht man unter Addons?

Will man direkt aus dem Browser auf die Datenbank zugreifen, benötigt man ein Browser Addon für die Verbindung zum SSO Agent. Der Agent ist über das Icon im System Tray aufrufbar, wohingegen das Addon im Menübereich des jeweiligen Browsers zu finden ist. Die Addons sind aktuell für Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome und Microsoft Internet Explorer verfügbar und zuständig für die automatische Eintragung an Websites.

Installation

Die Addons für Google Chrome und Mozilla Firefox können direkt über den SSO Agent heruntergeladen werden. Über einen Rechtsklick auf das Icon wird das Kontextmenü geöffnet. Nach einem weiteren Klick auf Browser Addons installieren kann das gewünschte Addon ausgewählt werden. Da die eigentliche Installation der Addons unterschiedlich abläuft, wird nachfolgend separat darauf eingegangen:

Internet Explorer

Das Internet Explorer Addon kann direkt zusammen mit dem Client installiert werden. Hierfür gibt es im Installer eine entsprechende Option, welche standardmäßig aktiviert ist.

Google Chrome

Die Installation des Google Chrome Addons wird über den SSO Agent gestartet. Man gelangt direkt in den Google Store, wo über Hinzufügen die Installation gestartet wird.

Das Addon wird nun installiert und im Browser das Icon hinzugefügt.

Firefox

Das Firefox Addon kann unter folgendem Link herunter geladen werden:

Password Safe Addon für Firefox

Nach dem Download wird das Addon einfach per Drag and Drop in den Browser gezogen. Nach Bestätigung einer Sicherheitsfrage wird dieses installiert und in der Menüleiste ein Icon erstellt.

Verbindung mit dem SSO Agent

Sind die Punkte Installation des Addons und Verbindung mit dem SSO Agent abgeschlossen, öffnet man den gewünschten Browser. Es erscheint ein Fenster, in dem man die Sicherheit der Verbindung bestätigt. Über einen einfachen Klick erfolgt das Pairing. Das Addon ist ab diesem Zeitpunkt berechtigt, Daten vom SSO Agent abzufragen. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt ist dann im gewünschten Browser ein neues Icon sichtbar:

Wird das Icon in dieser Form dargestellt bedeutet dies, dass das Addon zwar installiert ist, jedoch aktuell noch keine Verbindung zum SSO Agent besitzt. Erst nach der Anmeldung am Agent (über das Icon im System Tray) erhält man eine Windows Benachrichtigung über die erfolgreiche Anmeldung. Besteht die Verbindung zum Agent, wird direkt am Icon die Anzahl der Datensätze angezeigt, die für die aktuelle Internetseite verfügbar sind.

Eine tiefgestellte “0” bedeutet, dass man am Agent erfolgreich angemeldet wurde.

Einstellungen

Alle Einstellungen, welche die Addons betreffen, werden zentral am Client gesetzt. Über das System der Benutzereinstellungen können diese global, pro Organisationseinheit oder pro Benutzer gesetzt werden. In der Kategorie SSO sind folgende Optionen zu finden, welche sich direkt auf die Addons auswirken:

  • Browser Addons: Loginmasken automatisch absenden sorgt dafür, dass nach dem Eintragen der Zugangsdaten direkt eine Anmeldung erfolgt. Es ist also kein manueller Klick nötig
  • Über Browser Addons: Loginmasken automatisch befüllen wird erreicht, dass die Zugangsdaten ohne Rückfrage eingetragen werden, wenn eine Website erkannt wird.

Ebenso wirkt sich die Option Standardbrowser auf die Addons aus. Hier wird festgelegt, in welchem Browser die Websites aus dem Client heraus geöffnet werden.

Die oben genannten Einstellungen können auch pro Datensatz gesetzt werden. Weiterführende Infos sind hier zu finden: “

Arbeit mit den Addons

Die im vorherigen Kapitel erwähnte, tiefgestellte Zahl ist einerseits nur bei einer aktiven Anmeldung verfügbar, andererseits sagt diese bereits viel über die Anzahl der möglichen Eintragungen aus. Wenn hier z.B. eine “2” angezeigt wird, kann man über das Icon direkt den Account auswählen, mit dem man sich anmelden möchte.

Voraussetzung war bisher immer, dass man manuell über den Browser genau zu der Website navigiert, welche man auch nutzen möchte. Diese Navigation kann auch durch den Password Safe übernommen werden – wie im nachfolgenden Kapitel beschrieben wird.

Suche und Navigation

Aktuell wurde immer davon ausgegangen, dass der Benutzer manuell zu der Seite navigiert, für die er eine automatische Eintragung nutzen möchte. Diese Art zu arbeiten ist möglich, jedoch nicht ausreichend komfortabel. Das Addon ist analog zur Vorgehensweise bei Lesezeichen nutzbar. Über das Suchfeld kann direkt auf Basis der Datensätze in der Datenbank gesucht werden. Voraussetzung ist nach wie vor, dass der Datensatz eine URL besitzt.

Im Bild ist ebenso ersichtlich, dass neben dem Namen des Datensatzes (Wikipedia) auch ebenso die URL durchsucht wird. Die den Suchkriterien entsprechenden Treffer werden angezeigt und können direkt über die Pfeiltasten oder die Maus selektiert werden. Die gewählte Internetseite wird in einem separaten Tab geöffnet.

Dargestellte Passwörter

Welche Passwörter zu einer erkannten Website dargestellt werden, hängt davon ab, wie der Datensatz bzw. die Datensätze konfiguriert sind. Hierfür kann pro Passwort definiert werden, wie granular die URL überprüft wird. Weitere Infos dazu sind im Kapitel Passworteinstellungen zu finden.

Das Verhalten soll mittels eines Beispiels verdeutlicht werden:

Für folgende Websites wird jeweils ein eigenes Passwort erstellt:

  • www.passwordsafe.de
  • help.passwordsafe.de
  • license.passwordsafe.de

Die Exakte Domainprüfung wird bei allen drei Passwörtern deaktiviert:
Auf www.passwordsafe.de werden im Addon auch die Passwörter der Subdomains angezeigt, also www.passwordsafe.de, help.passwordsafe.de und license.passwordsafe.de

Die Exakte Domainprüfung wird bei allen drei Passwörtern aktiviert:
Auf www.passwordsafe.de werden im Addon keine Passwörter von Subdomains angezeigt. Dargestellt wird also nur www.passwordsafe.de

Die Exakte Domainprüfung wird bei allen Passwörtern außer bei license.passwordsafe.de aktiviert
Auf www.passwordsafe.de werden im Addon www.passwordsafe.de sowie license.passwordsafe.de angezeigt.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.