Which applications need to be learned?

As already indicated in the previous section, RDP and SSH applications are completely embedded in Password Safe. These applications thus do not need to be specially learned. All other applications in Windows need to be learned once.

What does learning mean?

The record contains the user name and password. Learning involves defining the steps required. The result is equivalent to a script that defines where precisely the login data should be entered. In Password Safe, the completed instructions themselves are also known as an “application”.

Relevant rights

The following options are required.

User right

  • Can add new RDP applications
  • Can add new SSH applications
  • Can add new SSO applications
  • Can add new web applications

Configuration

First, a new SSO application is created via the ribbon.

Various properties for the application can now be defined in the tab that opens. The fields Window title, Application and Application path are not manually filled. This is done via the Create application button in the ribbon:

A crosshair cursor now appears. It enables the actual “mapping” or assignment of the target fields. You can see the field assignment for the user name below using a login to an SQL server as an example. All of the other fields that should be automatically entered are assigned in the same way. The process is always the same. You select the field that needs to be automatically filled and then decide which information should be used to fill it.

In parallel to the previous step, all of the already assigned fields will be displayed on the right edge of the screen. In this example, the VMware vSphere Client has a total of 4 assigned fields: IP, user name, password and clicking the button to subsequently confirm the login.

Once you have assigned all of the fields, you can exit the application process using the enter button. The fields “Window title”, “Application” and “Application path” mentioned at the beginning are now automatically filled.

As you can see, the .exe file is directly referenced. If the application is saved to the same storage location for all users, it can then also be accessed by all other users.

Linking records with applications

In the Passwords module, the newly created application can now be directly linked. To do this, mark the record to be linked and open the “Connect application” menu in the “Start” tab via the ribbon. This will open a list of all the available applications. It is now possible here to link to the previously created application “VMware”.

When the link has been established, this application can then be directly started via the ribbon in future. Pressing the button directly opens the linked application.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Welche Anwendungen müssen angelernt werden?

Wie bereits im vorherigen Kapitel erwähnt, sind RDP und SSH komplett in den Password Safe embedded. Diese müssen also nicht gesondert angelernt werden. Alle weiteren Anwendungen unter Windows werden einmalig angelernt.

Was passiert beim Anlernen?

Der Datensatz hält Benutzername und Passwort. Beim Anlernen erfolgt die Definition der Arbeitsschritte. Das Ergebnis entspricht quasi einem Skript welches definiert, wo genau die Anmeldedaten eingetragen werden sollen. In Password Safe wird die fertiggestellte Arbeitsanweisung selbst auch “Anwendung” genannt.

Konfiguration

Im ersten Schritt erstellt man über die Ribbon eine neue SSO Anwendung.

Im sich öffnenden Tab können nun diverse Eigenschaften für die Anwendung definiert werden. Die Felder Fenstertitel, Anwendung sowie Anwendungspfad werden nicht manuell befüllt. Dies erfolgt über den Button Anwendung erfassen in der Ribbon:

Es erscheint nun ein Fadenkreuz. Dieses ermöglicht das eigentliche “Mapping”, bzw. die Zuweisung der Zielfelder. Nachfolgend ist zu sehen, wie die Feldzuweisung für den Benutzernamen am Beispiel der Anmeldung an SQL Server abläuft. Analog erfolgt dies auch bei der Zuweisung aller weiteren Felder, die automatisch eingetragen werden sollen. Die Vorgehensweise ist immer dieselbe. Man wählt das Feld aus, welches automatisiert eingetragen werden soll und entscheidet dann, mit welcher Information dieses gefüllt werden soll.

Parallel zum vorherigen Arbeitsschritt wird am rechten Bildschirmrand jede bereits getätigte Zuweisung dargestellt. In diesem Beispiel wurde der VMware vSphere Client mit insgesamt 4 Anweisungen gespeist: IP, Benutzername, Passwort sowie das Klicken des Buttons für die abschließende Anmeldung.

Hat man alle Felder zugewiesen, verlässt man mit der Eingabetaste die Anwendungserfassung. Es wurden nun die eingangs erwähnten Felder “Fenstertitel”, “Anwendung” und “Anwendungspfad” automatisch befüllt.

Wie zu sehen ist, wird direkt die .exe Datei referenziert. Wenn bei allen Anwendern dementsprechend die Anwendung am selben Ablageort gespeichert ist, kann diese Anwendung dann auch von allen weiteren Benutzern angesprochen werde.

Verknüpfen von Datensätzen mit Anwendungen

Im Modul Passwörter kann nun direkt die erstellte Anwendung verknüpft werden. Hierzu markiert man den zu verknüpfenden Datensatz und öffnet über die Ribbon im Reiter “Starten” das Menü “Anwendung verbinden”. Es öffnet sich die Auswahl aller zur Verfügung stehenden Anwendungen. Dort kann nun die zuvor erstellte Anwendung “VMware” verknüpft werden.

Wurde die Verknüpfung hergestellt, kann zukünftig diese Anwendung direkt über die Ribbon gestartet werden. Das Betätigen des Buttons öffnet direkt die verknüpfte Anwendung.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.