User passwords

Depending on the type of user, they will either be allocated their password in Password Safe or the login will be carried out using access data for the domain. How the user logs in also differs according to the type of user.

Differences between users and passwords

  • Local users
    Local users are those users that were directly created in Password Safe. These users must be directly assigned a password when they are created. If local users are migrated from older versions, they receive a randomly generated password that is sent to them via email.
  • AD users in end-to-end mode
    These users must also be assigned a password in Password Safe. A new password will also be issued via email for these users in the case of a possible migration.
  • AD users in Master Key mode
    These users log in directly with access data for the domain. It is thus not necessary to assign them a password. As these users directly authenticate themselves via Active Directory, the currently saved password in Active Directory is thus always valid. These users can still directly log in using the existing password even after a migration

Required rights

Various rights are required in order to issue or change user passwords. One prerequisite is the user right Can display organisational structure module. Read and write rights for the user are also required. Finally, membership of the user is required. Normally, the user themselves and the user who created or imported the user have the right to change their password.

Assigning and changing passwords

As already explained, local users are directly assigned their initial password when the user is created. The situation is different for users that are imported in end-to-end mode. They do not possess a password directly after the import and can thus not log in. It is thus necessary to assign passwords after the import.

The passwords can be directly assigned or changed via the ribbon. Naturally, it is also possible to select multiple users if e.g. several imported users should be assigned the same password.

Change password on next login

Even if several users receive the same initial password, it is sensible to force them to change it to an individual password. There is a corresponding option for this purpose. In the case of local users, this can be activated during the creation of the user. In the case of users in end-to-end mode, this option is directly activated during import for security reasons. This option is automatically deactivated after the user has successfully logged in and changed the password.

Security of passwords

To guarantee that passwords are sufficiently strong, it is recommended that corresponding “password rules”:https://help.passwordsafe.de/v8/1/en/topic/passwortrichtlinien are created. It is especially important to ensure here that user names are excluded. The password rule then still needs to be defined as a “user password rule”:https://help.passwordsafe.de/v8/1/en/topic/administration#standardrichtlinie.

Logging in to the database

The process for logging into the database differs depending on the type of user.

Local user

Local users simply log in using their user name and the assigned password.

AD user

If only one domain has been configured, the users from AD can also log in with their user name and password the same as local users. If multiple domains have been configured or there is a local user with the same name, the name of the domain must be entered in front of the user name:

The name of the domain must be entered as it is configured in the AD profile under Domains. The option Other domain names can be used to save other forms of the domain name.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Benutzer Passwörter

Je nach dem, um welchen Typ von Benutzer es sich handelt, bekommt er sein Passwort entweder in Password Safe zugewiesen oder die Anmeldung erfolgt mit den Zugangsdaten der Domäne. Auch die Anmeldung der Benutzer unterscheidet sich je nach Typ.

Unterschiede bei den Benutzern und Passwörtern

  • Lokale Benutzer
    sind diejenigen Benutzer welche direkt in Password Safe erstellt werden. Diesen Benutzern muss direkt beim Anlegen ein Passwort zugewiesen werden. Werden lokale Benutzer aus einer älteren Version migriert, bekommen diese ein zufällig generiertes Passwort, welches per E-Mail zugestellt wird.
  • AD Benutzer im Ende zu Ende Modus
    müssen ebenfalls in Password Safe mit einem Passwort versorgt werden. Auch diese Benutzer bekommen bei einer etwaigen Migration ein neues Passwort per E-Mail zugestellt.
  • AD Benutzer im Masterkey Modus
    melden sich direkt mit Zugangsdaten der Domäne an. Es muss somit kein Passwort zugeteilt werden. Da sich diese Benutzer direkt gegenüber dem Active Directory authentifizieren, gilt immer das dort aktuell hinterlegte Passwort. Auch nach einer Migration können sich diese Benutzer direkt mit dem bekannten Passwort anmelden

Benötigte Rechte

Um die Passwörter der Benutzer vergeben bzw. ändern zu können, sind verschiedene Rechte nötig. Voraussetzung ist zum einen das Benutzerrecht Kann Organisationsstruktur Modul anzeigen. Weiterhin sind die Rechte Lesen und Schreiben auf den Benutzer nötig. Schlussendlich wird auch die Mitgliedschaft des Benutzers benötigt. Standardmäßig haben der Benutzer selbst sowie derjenige Benutzer der ihn angelegt bzw. importiert hat, die Rechte sein Passwort zu ändern.

Zuweisen und Ändern von Passwörtern

Wie bereits geschildert, bekommen lokale Benutzer das initiale Passwort direkt beim Erstellen zugewiesen. Anders verhält es sich bei Benutzern welche im Ende zu Ende Modus importiert werden. Diese haben direkt nach dem Import kein Passwort und können sich somit nicht anmelden. Es ist also nötig, nach dem Import die Passwörter zu vergeben.

Die Passwörter können direkt über die Ribbon zugewiesen bzw. geändert werden. Selbstverständlich ist hier auch eine Multiselektion möglich, falls beispielsweise mehreren, importierten Benutzern das gleiche Passwort gegeben werden soll.

Passwort bei nächster Anmeldung ändern

Gerade wenn mehrere Benutzer das gleiche Initialpasswort bekommen, ist es sinnvoll eine Änderung auf ein individuelles Passwort zu erzwingen. Hierfür gibt es eine entsprechende Option. Bei lokalen Benutzern kann diese während des Erstellens des Benutzers aktiviert werden. Bei Benutzern im Ende zu Ende Modus wird die Option aus Sicherheitsgründen direkt beim Import aktiviert. Nach erfolgter Anmeldung und Änderung des Passworts wird die Option automatisch deaktiviert.

Sicherheit der Passwörter

Um ein ausreichende Stärke der Passwörter zu gewährleisten, wird empfohlen eine entsprechende Passwort Richtlinie zu erstellen. Hier ist vor allem darauf zu achten, dass der Benutzername ausgeschlossen wird. Abschließend muss die Passwortrichtlinie noch als Benutzer Passwortrichtlinie festgelegt werden.

Anmeldung an der Datenbank

Je nach Typ des Benutzers unterscheidet sich die Anmeldung an der Datenbank.

Lokaler Benutzer

Die Anmeldung lokaler Benutzer erfolgt einfach mittels Benutzername und dem zugewiesenen Passwort.

AD Benutzer

Sofern nur eine Domäne konfiguriert ist, können sich Benutzer aus dem AD mit Benutzername und Passwort anmelden, wie die lokalen Benutzer auch. Sind mehrere Domänen konfiguriert oder gibt es einen lokalen Benutzer mit dem gleichen Namen, so muss die Domäne vorangestellt werden:

Die Domäne muss hierbei so angegeben werden, wie sie im AD Profil unter Domäne konfiguriert ist. Unter Weitere Domänennamen können andere Ausprägungen der Domäne hinterlegt werden.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.