How are users managed in Password Safe?

The way in which users are managed is highly dependent on whether Active Directory is connected or not. In Master Key mode, Active Directory remains the leading system. Accordingly, users are then also managed on AD. If Password Safe is the leading system, e.g. in end-to-end mode, users are managed in the organisational structures module. More details are provided in the relevant sections. More…

Relevant rights

The following options are required to add local users.

User rights

  • Can add new users
  • Display organisational structure module

Adding local users

In general, new users are added in the same way as creating a local organisational unit. Therefore, only the differences will be covered below.

Creating users

  • Allocated roles: New users can directly be allocated one or more rolls when they are created
  • Change password on next login: The user will be requested to change their user password on the next login (obligatory)
  • Account is deactivated: The user is created with the status “deactivated”. The account is thus not useable. The write rights for a user can be set/removed with this option. In editing mode, the account can also be deactivated during ongoing operation.
  • Restricted user: Controlling entities exist in many companies that are only tasked with checking the integrity and hierarchies of various pieces of information with one another but are not required to productively work with the information themselves. This could be a data protection officer or also an administrator in some cases. This would be the case if an administrator was responsible for issuing permissions to other people but should not be able to view the data themselves. The property restricted user is used to limit the visibility of the password field. It thus deals with purely administrative users or controlling entities.

Configuring rights

The second tab of the wizard allows you to define the permissions for the newly created user. If an allocated organisational unit or a rights template group was defined in the first tab, the new user will inherit its permissions. Here, these permissions can be adapted if desired.

Configuring user rights

Users always receive their user rights via role, which is either user-specific or global (see user rights). If no role is defined in the first tab “Create user”, the third tab will thus contain globally defined user rights.

Importing users

Importing from Active Directory can be carried out in two ways that are described in a separate section.

User licenses

There are two different types of licenses in Enterprise Plus, FullClient and LightClient licenses. In all other editions you can only purchase FullClient licenses.
Please note that licensed LightClient users are not able to use the FullClient. However, FullClient Users can also switch to the LightClient.

Our sales team will be happy to answer any questions you may have about licensing.

Display data to which the user is authorized

In order to display the data to which a user is authorized, you must right-click on the corresponding user in the organizational structure. In the context menu that opens, you will find the following options under displaying data records:

  • Password
  • Documents
  • Forms
  • Rolls
  • Uses
  • Password Reset
  • System Tasks
  • Seal templates

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Wie werden im Password Safe Benutzer verwaltet?

Die Art der Benutzerverwaltung hängt stark davon ab, ob das Active Directory angebunden wurde oder nicht. Im Master Key Modus bleibt das Active Directory das führende System. Demnach erfolgt die Benutzerverwaltung auch aufseiten des AD. Falls der Password Safe das führende System wird, wie z.B. beim Ende zu Ende Modus, erfolgt die Benutzerverwaltung im Modul Organisationsstrukturen. Auf die Details wird in den jeweiligen Kapiteln ausführlicher eingegangen. Mehr…

Anlegen lokaler Benutzer

Grundsätzlich ist da Anlegen neuer Benutzer analog zum Erstellen einer lokalen Organisationseinheit durchzuführen. Nachfolgend soll deshalb nur auf die Unterschiede eingegangen werden.

Benutzer erstellen

  • Zugeordnete Rollen: Neuen Benutzern können direkt bei der Erstellen eine oder mehrere Rollen zugewiesen werden
  • Passwort bei der nächsten Anmeldung ändern: Der Benutzer wird bei der nächsten Anmeldung aufgefordert, sein Benutzerpasswort zu ändern (obligatorisch)
  • Konto ist deaktiviert: Der Benutzer wird im Zustand “deaktiviert” erstellt. Das Konto ist demnach nicht nutzbar. Diese Option kann danach mit Schreibrechten auf einem Benutzer gesetzt/entfernt werden. Im Bearbeiten-Modus kann das Konto auch im laufenden Betrieb deaktiviert werden.
  • restriktiver Benutzer: In vielen Unternehmen existieren Kontrollinstanzen, welche nur die Integrität und Hierarchien der Informationen zueinander überprüfen, jedoch nicht selbst produktiv mit denen arbeiten sollen. Ein Datenschutzbeauftragter könnte eine solche Person sein, ebenso in manchen Fällen auch ein Administrator. Dies wäre dann der Fall, wenn der Administrator zwar Personen berechtigen, jedoch selbst nicht Einsicht auf die Daten haben soll. Das Merkmal restriktiver Benutzer bezieht sich auf die Einschränkung im Hinblick der Einsicht auf das Passwortfeld. Es geht hier also um rein administrative Benutzer, bzw. Kontrollinstanzen.

Rechte konfigurieren

Im zweiten Reiter des Assistenten sind die Berechtigungen auf den neu zu erstellenden Benutzer definierbar. Wurde im ersten Reiter eine zugeordnete Organisationseinheit, bzw. eine Rechtevorlagengruppe definiert, so erbt der Benutzer diese Rechte. In diesem Zuge können diese Berechtigungen bei Bedarf angepasst werden.

Benutzerrechte konfigurieren

Benutzer erhalten Benutzerrechte stets über eine Rolle, benutzerspezifisch oder global (vergl. Benutzerrechte). Ist im ersten Reiter “Benutzer erstellen” keine Rolle definiert, enthält der dritte Reiter demnach die global definierten Benutzerrechte.

Import von Benutzern

Der Import aus dem Active Directory ist auf zwei Arten möglich, welche in einem separaten Kapitel beschrieben werden.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.