Finding a quick solution in the event of a disaster

In our experience, Password Safe is usually installed in IT in a central location. If the system fails, it must be possible to gain access to the passwords again as quickly as possible. This section is designed to help you quickly find a solution in the event of a problem.

Prevention

It is extremely important to create a sensible recovery plan and to make corresponding preparations. Unfortunately, it is not possible to supply a finished recovery plan because it always needs to be created individually. The following points should be taken into account in this process:

Creating backups

It is of course essential in the event of a disaster that you can access a backup that is as up-to-date as possible. Therefore, it is necessary to regularly create “backups”:https://help.passwordsafe.de/v8/1/en/topic/backupverwaltung.

Who is responsible in the event of a disaster?

The first thing to decide is who should take action in the event of a disaster. Corresponding deputies should also be defined. The responsible employee should have the corresponding rights within Password Safe.

Providing the required passwords

What passwords do those people responsible need in order to restore Password Safe?

  • Domain password to log into the specific computer
  • Password for the AdminClient
  • Access data for the service user
  • Access data for the SQL user
  • Password for logging into Password Safe

Furthermore, it must be ensured that the responsible user has access to these passwords at all times. The following options are possible:

  • Store the passwords in the company safe
  • Create corresponding “offline databases”:https://help.passwordsafe.de/v8/1/en/topic/offline-client
  • Periodically create a HTML WebViewer file with automatic delivery via a system task including “email forwarding”:https://help.passwordsafe.de/v8/1/en/topic/benachrichtigungen#weiterleitung

Disaster scenarios

The following section will describe various disaster scenarios including the possible recovery steps.

Scenario 1

Problem:
Database is corrupt

Solution:
Restore the database from a backup.

Scenario 2

Problem:
Database server is faulty

Solution:
Install the database server on new hardware. If the server name changes as a result, the licence needs to be reactivated. If the licence has already been activated multiple times, it may be that it can only be released again by MATESO. If the SQL instance name changes, the connection to the database server needs to be reconfigured on the application server. This is carried out via the basic configuration.
Any existing offline databases will continue to function properly.

Scenario 3

Problem:
Application server faulty

Solution:
New installation on new hardware. The licence must be reactivated. If the server name has changed, it may be that the licence can only be released again by MATESO. The basic configuration must be completed to restore the connection to the database server. If the server name changes, the database profile on the client needs to be amended.
Any existing offline databases need to be recreated!

Scenario 4

Problem:
Both servers are faulty but passwords from Password Safe are required urgently.

Solution:
Install the database server and application server on new hardware. The licence must be reactivated. Restore the database from the backup. The basic configuration must be completed to restore the connection to the database server. If the licence has already been activated multiple times, it may be that it can only be released again by MATESO.
Any existing offline databases need to be recreated!

Scenario 5

Problem:
As for Scenario 4 but the Active Directory is also not available.

Solution:
As described for scenario 4. If the user was imported in end-to-end mode, you can also log in without an AD connection. Users imported in Masterkey mode cannot log in. Therefore, it is recommended that you create special, local emergency users for such cases.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Im Desaster Fall zu einer schnellen Lösung

Erfahrungsgemäß steht Password Safe in der IT an einer zentralen Stelle. Sollte es zu einem Ausfall kommen, muss so schnell als irgendwie möglich wieder Zugriff auf die Passwörter möglich sein. Dieses Kapitel soll helfen im Fall der Fälle schnell zu einer Lösung zu gelangen.

Prävention

Es ist extrem wichtig einen sinnvollen Recoveryplan zu erstellen und entsprechende Vorbereitungen zu treffen. Leider kann kein fertiger Recoveryplan ausgeliefert werden, da dieser immer individuell erstellt werden muss. Folgende Punkte sollten dabei berücksichtigt werden:

Erzeugen von Backups

Essentiell ist natürlich, im Desasterfall auf ein möglichst aktuelles Backup zugreifen zu können. Daher ist es nötig regelmäßig Backups zu erzeugen.

Wer ist im Desasterfall zuständig?

Es sollte zunächst betrachtet werden, wer im Desasterfall eingreifen kann. Auch entsprechende Stellvertreter sollten festgelegt werden. Die zuständigen Mitarbeiter sollten innerhalb von Password Safe entsprechende Rechte haben.

Bereitstellung der nötigen Passwörter

Welche Passwörter benötigen die Zuständigen um Password Safe wieder zum Laufen zu bringen?

  • Domänenkennwort um sich an den einzelnen Rechner anmelden zu können
  • Passwort für den Admin Client
  • Zugangsdaten des Dienstbenutzers
  • Zugangsdaten des SQL Nutzers
  • Passwort zur Anmeldung an Password Safe

Weiterhin muss sichergestellt sein, dass die zuständigen Benutzer jederzeit Zugriff auf diese Passwörter haben. Folgende Möglichkeiten kommen in Frage:

Desaster Szenarien

Folgend sollen verschieden Desaster Szenarien inklusive möglicher Recovery Möglichkeiten beleuchtet werden.

Szenario 1

Problem:
Datenbank korrupt

Lösung:
Datenbank wird aus einem Backup wiederhergestellt.

Szenario 2

Problem:
Datenbank-Server defekt

Lösung:
Datenbank Server wird auf neue Hardware installiert. Ändert sich dadurch der Servername muss die Lizenz neu aktiviert werden. Wurde die Lizenz bereits mehrfach aktiviert, kann es sein, dass diese durch die MATESO wieder freigegeben werden muss. Ändert sich der SQL Instanz Name muss am Anwendungsserver die Verbindung zum Datenbankserver neu konfiguriert werden, dies gelingt über die Grundkonfiguration.
Eventuell vorhandene Offline Datenbanken funktionieren weiterhin.

Szenario 3

Problem:
Applikationsserver defekt

Lösung:
Neu Installation auf neue Hardware. Die Lizenz muss neu aktiviert werden. Ändert sich der Servername kann es sein, dass die Lizenz durch die MATESO wieder freigegeben werden muss. Die Grundkonfiguration muss durchgeführt werden um die Anbindung an den Datenbankserver wiederherzustellen. Ändert sich der Servername, müssen die Datenbankprofile an den Clients angepasst werden.
Eventuell vorhandene Offline Datenbanken müssen neu erstellt werden!

Szenario 4

Problem:
Beide Server defekt, Passwörter aus dem Password Safe werden aber dringend benötigt.

Lösung:
Datenbank Server und Anwendungsserver wird auf neue Hardware installiert. Es muss die Lizenz neu aktiviert werden. Restore der Datenbank aus Backup. Die Grundkonfiguration muss durchgeführt werden um die Anbindung an den Datenbankserver wiederherzustellen. Wurde die Lizenz bereits mehrfach aktiviert, kann es sein, dass diese durch die MATESO wieder freigegeben werden muss.
Eventuell vorhandene Offline Datenbanken müssen neu erstellt werden!

Szenario 5

Problem:
Wie Szenario 4, aber zusätzlich ist auch Active Directory nicht verfügbar.

Lösung:
Wie unter Szenario 4. Sind die User im Ende zu Ende Modus importiert worden, können Sie sich auch ohne AD Anbindung anmelden. User welche im Masterkey Modus importiert wurden, können sich nicht anmelden. Daher ist es empfehlenswert spezielle, lokale Notfall User für solche Fälle zu erstellen.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.