What are documents?

Security-critical data does not necessarily need to be in the form of passwords. To enable the uniform and secure storage of data other than passwords, Password Safe version 8 offers effective tools for the professional handling of sensitive documents and files. The ability to share documents with others according to their permissions gives you access to the current status of a document and helps avoid redundancies. The documents module is complemented by a sophisticated version management system, which records all versions of a document that were saved in the past and thus enables you to revert back to historical versions. The configuration of visibility is explained in a similar way to the other modules in one place..

Relevant rights

The following option is required to add new documents.

User right

  • Can add new documents

Adding documents

There are two ways to manage documents and files in Password Safe v8:

  1. Creating a link: In this case, only a file that is located locally or on a network drive will be linked. The file itself is not stored in the database. Neither version management nor the traceability of changes in the history are possible.
  2. Storing the document in the database: The file becomes part of the encrypted database. It is saved within the database and can be made available selectively to employees for further processing in the future based on their permissions.

Document selection

When selecting the file to be uploaded, you can either browse your file system via the Explorer view or add objects by drag & drop. The latter gives you the possibility to directly import several documents in one step.

Versioning

The heart of each document management system is the ability to capture and archive changes to documents or files. All versions of a document can be compared with each other and historical versions can be restored if necessary. Password Safe provides this functionality via the history in the ribbon, as well as in the footer area for ​​the detailed view of a document. This can be used in the same way as the password history. The interplay between the document-specific event logbook and the history provides a complete list of all information that is relevant to the handling of sensitive data. Version management can be used to restore any historical versions of a document.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was sind Dokumente?

Sicherheitskritische Daten müssen nicht zwingend in Form von Passwörtern vorliegen. Um die einheitliche und sichere Datenhaltung auch abseits von Passwörtern nutzen zu können, bietet der Password Safe in der Version 8 effektive Werkzeuge für den professionellen Umgang mit schützenswerten Dokumenten oder Dateien. Durch die Möglichkeit, Dokumente gemäß der Berechtigungen mit anderen zu teilen, erhält man stets den aktuellen Stand eines Dokumentes und vermeidet Redundanzen. Komplettiert wird das Modul Dokumente durch die ausgereifte Versionsverwaltung, welche sämtliche in der Vergangenheit gespeicherten Versionen eines Dokumentes erfasst und demzufolge das Zurücksetzen auf historische Versionsstände ermöglicht. Die Konfiguration der Sichtbarkeit ist analog zu den anderen Modulen an zentraler Stelle erläutert..

Hinzufügen von Dokumenten

Es gibt zwei Arten Dokumente und Dateien in Password Safe v8 zu verwalten:

  1. Erstellen einer Verknüpfung: Hierbei wird lediglich auf eine Datei verwiesen, welche lokal oder auf einem Netzlaufwerk liegt. Die Datei selbst wird nicht in der Datenbank gespeichert. Sowohl Versionsverwaltung als auch die Nachvollziehbarkeit von Änderungen in der Historie sind hierbei nicht möglich.
  2. Ablegen des Dokuments in der Datenbank: Die Datei wird Teil der verschlüsselten Datenbank. Sie wird innerhalb der Datenbank gespeichert und kann zukünftig selektiv gemäß der Berechtigungen den Mitarbeitern für die weitere Bearbeitung zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Dokumentenauswahl

Bei der Selektion der hochzuladenden Datei können Sie entweder über die Explorer Ansicht Ihr Dateisystem durchsuchen, oder bequem per Drag & Drop Objekte hinzufügen. Letzteres gibt Ihnen die Möglichkeit direkt mehrere Dokumente in einem Schritt zu importieren.

Versionsverwaltung

Das Herzstück einer jeden Dokumentenverwaltung ist die Möglichkeit, Änderungen an Dokumenten oder Dateien zu erfassen und zu archivieren. Sämtliche Versionen eines Dokumentes können miteinander verglichen, und bei Bedarf historische Zustände wiederhergestellt werden. Password Safe stellt diese Funktionalität über die Historie sowohl in der Ribbon, als auch im Footerbereich der Detailansicht eines Dokumentes zur Verfügung. Diese ist analog zur Historie von Passwörtern anwendbar. Das Zusammenspiel aus dem dokumentspezifischen Ereignislogbuch und der Historie bietet in der Summe eine lückenlose Auflistung jeglicher Informationen, welche Relevanz im Umgang mit sensiblen Daten aufweisen. Mit der Versionsverwaltung lassen sich beliebige historische Versionen eines Dokuments wiederherstellen.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.