Setting up the offline database

It is important to ensure that the right requirements have been met before setting up the offline client. The following configurations need to be defined in both the AdminClient and also the user rights/user settings.

Requirements

To set up offline databases, this option must firstly be activated in the AdminClient. This process is carried out separately for each database in the database view in the AdminClient in the “General settings” (right click on the database). This is also possible to do when the database is initially created.

You will find further information on this subject in the sections: Creating databases and Managing databases

User rights

The user requires the “offline mode” right. In addition, how long offline mode can be used without a server connection can be defined in the user rights.

Creating an offline database

The synchronization with the offline database can generally be carried out automatically. However, the first synchronization must be carried out manually. The synchronization is started via the Main menu/Account.

An offline database can be created per user and client for each online database. This makes it possible to use several offline databases with an offline client.

Synchronization

In order to keep the data always consistent, the offline database must be synchronized regularly. Synchronization is automatically performed by the client in the background. The interval can be freely configured in the settings. The synchronization is completed every 30 minutes by default. When creating and editing records, it is also possible to synchronize outside of the synchronization cycle so that the changes are directly available offline. In addition, the synchronization can also be started manually in Backstage via “Account”.

A running synchronization is displayed in the icon in the task bar as well as by a status bar in the client:

As soon as the synchronization is completed, this is indicated by a hint.

Relevant settings

Offline mode can be configured and personalised using the four settings mentioned:

  • “Offline synchronization after saving a record”: The synchronization of the offline database is completed directly after saving a record. It is important to note that this only applies to those records that are saved by the user who is logged in. Changes made by another user do not trigger any synchronization!
  • Automatic synchronization after an interval: This setting is used to define the interval at which a synchronization of the offline database will be periodically carried out. The default value is 30 minutes.
  • Path where the offline database should be saved: If this field is left empty, the system default is used. The storage location for the offline database can otherwise be entered directly.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Einrichten der Offline Datenbank

Für die Einrichtung des Offline Client gilt es im Vorfeld die richtigen Voraussetzungen zu schaffen. Sowohl am Admin Client selbst als auch in den Benutzerrechten/Benutzereinstellungen sind die nachfolgend aufgeführten Konfigurationen durchzuführen.

Voraussetzungen

Um Offline Datenbanken einrichten zu können, muss dies erst grundsätzlich am Admin Client aktiviert werden. Dies wird in der Datenbankübersicht am Admin Client für jede Datenbank separat in den “Allgemeinen Einstellungen” (Rechtsklick auf die Datenbank) durchgeführt. Ebenso ist dies bereits beim initialen Erstellen der Datenbank möglich.

Weitere Infos zu diesem Thema finden Sie in den Kapiteln: Erstellen von Datenbanken und Verwaltung von Datenbanken

Benutzerrechte

Der Benutzer benötigt das Recht “Offline-Modus”. Darüber kann in den Benutzerrechten die Zeitspanne definiert werden, wie lange der Offline-Modus ohne Serververbindung genutzt werden kann.

Einrichten einer Offline Datenbank

Grundlegend kann die Synchronisation mit der Offline Datenbank automatisch erfolgen. Dennoch muss das erste Mal manuell angestoßen werden. Hierzu wird unter Hauptmenü/Konto die Synchronisation initiiert.

Es pro Benutzer und Client für jede Online Datenbank eine Offline Datenbank erstellt werden. Somit ist es möglich, mit einem Offline Client mehrere Offline Datenbanken zu verwenden.

Synchronisation

Um die Daten immer konsistent zu halten, muss die Offline Datenbank regelmäßig synchronisiert werden. Die Synchronisation wird durch den Client automatisch im Hintergrund ausgeführt. Das Intervall hierfür kann in den Einstellungen frei konfiguriert werden. Standardmäßig wird alle 30 min synchronisiert. Beim Anlegen und Bearbeiten von Datensätzen kann auch azyklisch synchronisiert werden, damit die Änderungen direkt offline verfügbar sind. Darüber hinaus kann im Backstage über “Konto” kann die Synchronisation auch manuell gestartet werden.

Eine laufende Synchronisation wird sowohl im Icon in der Taskleiste als auch im Client durch einen Statusbalken angezeigt:

Sobald die Synchronisation abgeschlossen ist, wird dies durch einen Hint dargestellt.

Relevante Einstellungen

Anhand der genannten vier Einstellungen kann der Offline Modus konfiguriert und personalisiert werden:

  • Offline Synchronisation nach dem Speichern eines Datensatzes: Die Synchronisation der Offline Datenbank erfolgt direkt nach dem Speichern eines Datensatzes. Es gilt zu beachten, dass dies nur diejenigen Datensätze betrifft, welche vom angemeldeten Benutzer gespeichert werden. Änderungen anderer Benutzer lösen keine Synchronisation aus!
  • Automatische Synchronisation nach Intervall: Es wird das Intervall definiert, welches zyklisch zu einer Synchronisation der Offline Datenbank führt. Der Standard beträgt 30 Minuten.
  • Pfad, an dem die Offline Datenbank abgelegt werden soll: Lässt man dieses Feld leer, wird der Systemstandard genutzt. Anderweitig kann auch direkt der Ablageort der Offline Datenbank angegeben werden.
  • *Verbindungsstring für Offline Datenbank:

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.