What are databases?

Databases contain all information on users, records, documents, etc. The changes to objects in Password Safe will also become part of the MSSQL database. Naturally, the regular creation of backups to secure this data should always have the highest priority. The MSSQL relational database management system is used in Password Safe version 8.

Creating databases

The creation of databases is supported by the database wizard, which is started directly from the ribbon. The individual tabs of the wizard are explained below:

Database server

The first tab can be used to manually select the database server. By default, the value defined in the Advanced settings is preset. A user can also be entered or the service user can be selected instead.

Name

Enter the name of the new database here. Alternatively, you may select an existing database. A meaningful name makes it easier to differentiate between databases, especially when using multiple databases.

Data

This setting can be used to define whether a template should be used. The template will provide the database with ready-made forms and dashboard settings that make it easier to get started. The user can select from English and German templates. However, it is also possible to proceed without a template – you will then start with a completely empty database. If you have a backup from Password Safe version 7, this can be migrated.

User

This setting is used to define the first user to be created – normally this is the administrator. If a migration is active, the user can be deleted after migration.

Finishing the database wizard

Once a database has been created successfully, “database migration” :https://help.passwordsafe.de/v8/1/en/topic/migrationstarts, provided it has been selected. If no data migration has been selected, the new database is created directly, and will be displayed in the database overview.

Click here to return to the “Getting started” section

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was sind Datenbanken?

Datenbanken beinhalten alle Informationen zu Benutzern, Datensätzen, Dokumenten oder dergleichen. Ebenso werden die Änderungen an Objekten im Password Safe ebenso Teil der MSSQL Datenbank. Selbstverständlich sollte der regelmäßigen Erstellung von Backups, und somit der Sicherung dieser Daten, stets die allerhöchste Priorität zu Teil werden. Für Password Safe Version 8 kommt das relationale Datenbankmanagementsystem MSSQL zum Einsatz.

Erstellen von Datenbanken

Die Erstellung von Datenbanken wird durch den Datenbankassistenten unterstützt, welcher direkt über die Ribbon gestartet wird. Nachfolgend eine Erläuterung zu den einzelnen Reitern:

Datenbankserver

Die Auswahl des Datenbankservers kann im ersten Reiter manuell definiert werden. Standardmäßig ist der in den erweiterten Einstellungen definierte Wert voreingestellt. Es kann darüber hinaus ein Benutzer hinterlegt oder auf den Dienstbenutzer zurückgegriffen werden.

Name

Hier wird der Name der neuen Datenbank angegeben. Alternativ kann auch eine bestehende Datenbank selektiert werden. Ein aussagekräftiger Name erleichtert besonders im Zusammenspiel mehrerer Datenbanken deren Unterscheidung.

Daten

Es kann selektiert werden, ob eine Vorlage verwendet werden soll. Über die Vorlage erhält die Datenbank vorgefertigte Formulare und Dashboard-Einstellungen, welche den Einstieg erleichtern. Es kann zwischen der deutschen und der englischen Vorlage ausgewählt werden. Es ist jedoch auch möglich ohne Vorlage fortzufahren, um eine komplett leere Datenbank zu erhalten. Haben Sie ein Backup aus einer Password Safe Version 7, kann dieses migriert werden.

Benutzer

Es folgt die Definition des initial anzulegenden Benutzers – üblicherweise ist dies der Administrator. Ist die Migration aktiv, kann der User nach der Migration wieder gelöscht werden.

Abschließen des Datenbankassistenten

Nach der erfolgreichen Erstellung einer Datenbank startet die Datenbankmigration, sofern diese ausgewählt wurde. Wurde keine Datenmigration gewählt, wird die neue Datenbank direkt angelegt und in der Datenbankübersicht angezeigt.

Hier geht´s zurück zum Kapitel Erste Schritte

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.