What are forms?

When creating a new data record, it is indispensable to always query all relevant data for the intended application. In this context, Forms represent templates for the information to be stored. The manageability of existing forms primarily ensures the completeness of the data to be stored. Nevertheless, their use as an effective filter criterion is not to be ignored! Forms have a lasting impact on working with Password Safe v8 and must be managed and maintained with the necessary care by the administration. The configuration of Masking is explained in a similar way to the other modules in one place.

Relevant rights

The following options are required to add new forms.

User right

  • Can add new forms
  • Display form module

Standard forms

Password Safe is supplied with a series of standard forms – these should generally cover all standard requirements. Naturally, it is still possible to adapt the standard forms to your individual requirements.

The associated preview for the form selected in list view appears in the reading pane. Both the field name and also the field type are visible.

Creating new forms

The wizard for creating new forms can be started via the ribbon, the keyboard shortcut “Ctrl + N” or also the context menu that is accessed using the right mouse button. The same mechanisms can now be used to create new form fields within the wizard. Depending on the selected field type, other options are available in the field settings section. This will be clearly explained below using the example of the field type “Password”. The sequence in which form fields are requested when creating new records corresponds to the sequence within the form. This can be adapted using the relevant buttons in the ribbon.

The following field settings thus appear for the field type “Password”: “Mandatory field, Reveal only with reason, Only generated passwords and Password rule”. These can now be defined as desired. (Note: It is possible to select password rules within the field settings; they are defined as part of the options in the main menu)

Permissions for forms

In the same way as for other objects (records, roles, documents,…), permissions can also be granted for forms. On the one hand, this ensures that not everyone can edit existing forms, while on the other hand, it allows you to make forms available to selective groups. This ensures that clarity is maintained and that users are not confronted with information that is irrelevant to them. The form “Credit cards” may be relevant within the accounting department but administrators do not generally need to use it.

Configuring the info field

Every record displays other information underneath the obligatory name of the record in list view. In the following example, the user name is also displayed in addition to the name of the password. The name of the form is displayed in between in a blue font.

The name of the record (192.168.150.236) and the form (password) cannot be adjusted – these are always displayed. The user (Administrator) that is still saved for the record is currently displayed. This can be configured in the info field for the form. It is thus possible to separately define for each form what information for a record can be directly seen in list view. In the form module, the info field is configured by opening the form to be edited in editing mode by double clicking on it and then pressing the *Configure info field” button in the ribbon.

This will open a separate tab that enables you to design the info section via drag & drop. The fields that are available on the right can be “dragged” onto the configuration window on the left. In the following example, “Start RDP session” will be made visible in the info section, whereby only the word “RDP” is assigned a function – namely to start the RDP manager. A preview is shown in the top section.

The info field for the form is now updated. It is now possible to start the RDP session directly in the RDP session.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was sind Formulare?

Es ist bei der Erstellung eines neuen Datensatzes unabdingbar, stets alle für den angedachten Anwendungsfall relevanten Daten abzufragen. Formulare stellen in diesem Zusammenhang die Schablonen der zu speichernden Informationen dar. Die Administrierbarkeit der existierenden Formulare stellt in erster Linie die Vollständigkeit der zu speichernden Daten sicher. Dennoch ist auch deren Nutzen als effektives Filterkriterium nicht zu verachten! Formulare prägen das Arbeiten mit dem Password Safe v8 nachhaltig und müssen demzufolge durch die Administration mit der nötigen Sorgfalt verwaltet und gepflegt werden. Die Konfiguration der Sichtbarkeit ist analog zu den anderen Module an zentraler Stelle erläutert.

Standardformulare

Password Safe wird mit einer Reihe von Standardformularen ausgeliefert – diese sollten in der Regel alle gängigen Anforderungen abdecken. Das Anpassen der Standardformulare an individuelle Anforderungen ist natürlich dennoch möglich.

Zu dem in der Listenansicht ausgewählten Formular erscheint im Lesebereich die zugehörige Vorschau. Sowohl Feldname als auch Feldtyp sind einsehbar.

Erstellen neuer Formulare

Sowohl über die Ribbon, den Shortcut “Strg + N* als auch über das Kontextmenü der rechten Maustaste kann man den Assistenten zum Erstellen neuer Formulare starten. Innerhalb des Assistenten können über die gleichen Mechanismen nun neue Formularfelder angelegt werden. Je nach ausgewähltem Feldtyp ergeben sich für den Bereich Feldeinstellungen andere Optionen. Nachfolgend wird dies am Beispiel für den Feldtyp “Passwort” deutlich. Die Reihenfolge, in der beim Anlegen neuer Datensätze Formularfelder abgefragt werden, entspricht der Reihenfolge innerhalb des Formulars. Über die zugehörigen Buttons in der Ribbon kann diese angepasst werden.

Für den Feldtyp “Passwort” ergeben sich demnach die “Feldeinstellungen Pflichtfeld, Aufdecken nur mit Begründung, nur generierte Passwörter und Passwortrichtline prüfen”. Diese können nun nach Belieben definiert werden. (Anmerkung: Die Auswahl von Passwortrichtlinien ist innerhalb der Feldeinstellungen möglich, deren Definition ist Teil der Optionen im Hauptmenü)

Berechtigungen auf Formulare

Analog zu anderen Objekten (Datensätze, Rollen, Dokumente,…) können auch Formulare berechtigt werden. Dies stellt sicher, dass einerseits nicht jeder existierende Formulare bearbeiten kann, andererseits können Formulare auf diese Art und Weise selektiv Benutzergruppen zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Auf diese Art und Weise ist sichergestellt, dass Übersichtlichkeit gewahrt wird und Benutzer nicht mit für diese irrelevanten Informationen konfrontiert sind. Das Formular “Kreditkarte” mag vielleicht Relevanz innerhalb der Buchhaltung haben, Administratoren sollten dieses in der Regel eher nicht brauchen.

Infofeld konfigurieren

Jeder Datensatz besitzt unterhalb des obligatorischen Datensatznamens in der Listenansicht weitere Informationen. Im nachfolgenden Beispiel wird zusätzlich zum Namen des Passworts noch der Benutzername angezeigt. Dazwischen findet sich in blauer Schrift der Name des Formulars.

Der Name des Datensatzes (192.168.150.236) sowie des Formulars (Passwort) können nicht angepasst werden – diese werden immer angezeigt. Aktuell wird noch der im Datensatz hinterlegte Benutzer (Administrator) angezeigt. Dies ist im Infofeld des Formulars konfigurierbar. Man kann somit für jedes Formular separat definieren, welche Informationen innerhalb der Listenansicht eines Datensatzes direkt eingesehen werden sollen. Die Konfiguration des Infofeldes erfolgt, indem man im Modul Formulare das anzupassende Formular mit einem Doppelklick im Bearbeiten-Modus öffnet und anschließend die Schaltfläche Infofeld konfigurieren in der Ribbon betätigt.

Es öffnet sich wieder ein separates Tab, welches uns nun per Drag&Drop die Gestaltung des Infobereichs ermöglicht. Die rechts verfügbaren Felder können in das linke Konfigurationsfenster “gezogen” werden. Im nachfolgenden Beispiel soll im Infobereich “RDP Sitzung starten” sichtbar sein, wobei nur das Wort “RDP” mit einer Funktion belegt wird, nämlich dem Starten des RDP Managers. Im oberen Bereich existiert eine Vorschau.

Das Infofeld des Formulars wurde nun aktualisiert. Das Aufrufen der RDP-Session ist nun direkt aus der RDP Session heraus möglich.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.