What is the release mechanism?

A sealed password will not be released until the number of approvals required in the seal has been granted. Releases can be granted by anyone who has been defined as having the required permissions to issue the release in the seal. The mechanism describes the complete process from the first release request to the final grant of the release and the breaking of the seal.

Users and roles in the release mechanism

As noted in the previous sections, seals always restrict the right of a user to view a specific password. Even if the configuration is usually done at the level of the role, each user is naturally responsible for his own request when carrying out the release. Even if a seal is defined for a role, technically separate seals are created for each individual member of the role.

1. Requesting a release

In order to release a seal for sealed passwords, this must be requested from the user with the required permissions to issue the release. Within the Password Safe client, this can be done via the buttons Reveal and Seal in the ribbon, as well as via the Icon in the password field of the data record in the reading pane.

A modal window opens, which can be used to request the seal. The reason for the entry will be displayed to the users with the required permissions to issue the release.

All user with the required permissions to issue the release will be notified that the user has requested the seal. This can be viewed via the module Notifications, as well as in the Seal overview.

2. Granting a release

The seal overview can be opened via the seal symbol in the ribbon directly from the mentioned notification. It is indicated by the corresponding icon that there is a need for action. All relevant data for a release are illustrated within the seal overview. The reason given in the release is also evident.

If the release is granted, the Inquirer Im * Module Notifications * will be informed. You can also open the seal directly from the ribbon and see the now released state.

3. Breaking the seal

As soon as the requesting user has received the number of the required releases, he will be informed via the notifications as usual. The seal can now be broken. From this point on, the user will be able to see the password.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was ist der Freigabemechanismus?

Ein versiegeltes Passwort wird erst dann freigegeben, wenn die im Siegel geforderte Anzahl von Freigaben gewährt wurde. Freigaben können all diejenigen erteilen, die im Siegel als Freigabeberechtigte definiert wurden. Der Mechanismus beschreibt den kompletten Vorgang von der ersten Freigabeanfrage bis hin zur endgültigen Erteilung der Freigabe und dem Brechen des Siegels.

Benutzer und Rollen im Freigabemechanismus

Wie bereits in den vorherigen Kapiteln erwähnt, schränken Siegel stets das Recht eines Benutzers ein, ein bestimmtes Passwort einzusehen. Auch wenn die Konfiguration in der Regel auf Rollenebene vorgenommen wird, ist selbstverständlich bei der Durchführung der Freigabe jeder Benutzer für seine eigene Anfrage verantwortlich. Auch wenn für eine Rolle ein Siegel definiert wird, werden technisch gesehen für jedes einzelne Mitglied der Rolle separate Siegel erstellt.

1. Freigaben anfragen

Um eine Freigabe für versiegelte Passwörter zu erhalten, muss diese bei Freigabeberechtigten angefragt werden. Innerhalb des Password Safe Clients ist dies sowohl über die Buttons Aufdecken und Siegel in der Ribbon, als auch über das Icon im Passwortfeld des Datensatzes im Lesebereich möglich.

Es öffnet sich ein modales Fenster, mit Hilfe dessen man das Siegel anfragen kann. Die eingegebene Begründung wird Freigabeberechtigten angezeigt.

Alle Freigabeberechtigten erhalten die Benachrichtigung, dass der Benutzer das Siegel angefragt hat. Dies ist sowohl über das Modul Benachrichtigungen, als auch in der Siegelübersicht einsehbar.

2. Freigaben gewähren

Direkt über die genannte Benachrichtigung kann durch das Siegelsymbol in der Ribbon die Siegelübersicht geöffnet werden. Es wird durch das entsprechende Icon darauf aufmerksam gemacht, dass hier Handlungsbedarf besteht. Alle für eine Freigabe relevanten Daten werden innerhalb der Siegelübersicht veranschaulicht. Auch der in der Freigabe genannte Grund ist ersichtlich.

Ist die Freigabe gewährt, wird der Anfragende Im Modul Benachrichtigungen informiert. Man kann hier auch direkt das Siegel über die Ribbon öffnen und den nun freigegebenen Zustand einsehen.

3. Siegel brechen

Sobald der anfragende Benutzer die Anzahl der benötigten Freigaben erhalten hat, wird dieser wie gewohnt über die Benachrichtigungen informiert. Das Siegel kann nun gebrochen werden. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt ist das Passwort durch den Benutzer einsehbar.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.