What is an import?

If another password management tool was used before Password Safe, these data can be imported into Password Safe. The formats .csv and especially Keepass (.xml) are supported. Both variants can be set up in the import wizard, which is started via the Main menu/Import.

Requirements

Whether the user is permitted to import data is controlled by the corresponding user right.

The import wizard

The wizard supports the import of data into Password Safe in four steps.

Select type

The first step is to define the file that is to be used for the import. It is only possible to proceed to the second step when the defined type corresponds to the stated file to be imported. The second step is the settings.

Settings

  1. The settings are used to firstly define the level in the hierarchy for saving the imported structure. As can be seen in the example, the import will take place in the main organisational unit. One of the existing organisational units can also be defined as a parent instance via the drop-down menu.
  2. The slider defines whether the imported structures should be imported as an organisational unit or as a tag. If the slider is fully moved to the left, only tags are created. If it s moved to the right, all objects are imported as an organisational structure. In addition, every object can be configured separately via the context menu that is accessed using the right mouse button. It is also possible to ignore folders.

Assignment of the form fields

The third step is to assign the forms from the file to be imported to already existing forms. As form fields may also have different names, the assignment process must be carried out manually via drag & drop. Depending on which form was selected on the top line, form fields from the list on the right can now be assigned to the form fields to be imported via drag & drop. It is also possible to create new forms.

Finish

In the final step, the configured settings are summarised as a list of the objects to be imported. The button “Finish” closes the wizard and starts the import.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was ist der Import?

Falls vor dem Password Safe bereits ein anderes Passwort Verwaltungs-Tool genutzt wurde, können diese Daten in den Password Safe übernommen werden. Unterstützt werden die Formate .csv sowie im Speziellen Keepass (.xml). Beide Varianten können im Importassistenten abgebildet werden, welcher über Hauptmenü/Import gestartet wird.

Voraussetzungen

Ob Daten importiert werden dürfen, ist durch ein dementsprechendes Benutzerrecht gesichert.

Der Importassistent

In vier Schritten unterstützt der Assistent den Import von Daten in den Password Safe.

Typ auswählen

Im ersten Schritt definiert man die Datei, aus welcher der Import erfolgen soll. Erst, wenn der festgelegte Typ mit der angegebenen, zu importierenden Datei übereinstimmt, kann der zweite Schritt in die Einstellungen gegangen werden.

Einstellungen

  1. In den Einstellungen wird zuerst definiert, in welcher Hierarchieebene die zu importierende Struktur gespeichert werden soll. Wie ersichtlich wird aktuell in die Hauptorganisationseinheit importiert. Über ein Dropdown-Menü kann auch eine der bestehenden Organisationseinheiten als übergeordnete Instanz definiert werden.
  2. Der Schieberegler bestimmt, ob die zu importierenden Strukturen als Organisationseinheit oder als Tag importiert werden sollen. Ganz links bewirkt der Schieberegler, dass lediglich tags erstellt werden, rechts werden alle Objekte als Organisationsstruktur angelegt. Darüber hinaus kann über das Kontextmenü der rechten Maustaste jedes Objekt separat konfiguriert werden. Auch das Ignorieren von Ordnern ist möglich.

Zuordnung der Formularfelder

Im dritten Schritt erfolgt die Zuordnung der Formulare aus der zu importierenden Datei in bereits bestehende Formulare. Da Formularfelder auch anders benannt sein können, muss die Zuordnung manuell per Drag & Drop erfolgen. Je nachdem, welches Formular in der obersten Zeile ausgewählt wurde, können Formularfelder aus der Liste rechts nun per Drag & Drop den zu importierenden Formularfeldern zugeordnet werden. Auch die Erstellung von neuen Formularen ist möglich.

Fertigstellen

Im abschließenden Arbeitsschritt werden die getroffenen Einstellungen in einer Auflistung der zu importierenden Objekte zusammengefasst. “Fertigstellen” schließt den Assistenten und startet den Import.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.