What is a migration?

The database format used for version 7 differs fundamentally from the MSSQL database used by version 8. The migration involves the automatic porting of all data from version 7 to version 8. In this regard, the amendments to the authorization concept make it necessary to adapt the data to the new conditions.

Fundamental changes to the operating concept

Password Safe version 8 is based on a completely new operating concept. The familiar folder structure from version 7 has been replaced here by organisational units which are supplemented by tags. The records are also no longer sorted by folder but instead categorised. The changes make the system significantly more flexible so that it can be adapted to individual requirements, as well as offering greater efficiency when locating saved information. The organisational units can handle the tasks previously performed by the folders. However, these tasks have been expanded. It is now possible, for example, to transfer settings to users via the organisational units.

Advantages

The new operating concept offers numerous advantages compared with version 7. It was previously only possible to assign a record to one single category via the folders – using folder memberships. In version 8, a record can be categorised via its membership of an organisational unit and also using any number of tags. This allows for much greater flexibility in the categorisation of the records. In version 7, it was often the case that numerous folders used precisely the same subfolders. This is where the tags now come into play. They can be universally used to categorise the records – which eliminates unnecessary redundancies.

Organisational units in structure view

In order to make the changeover from version 7 easier, the organisational units can also be displayed as a structure. In this case, the organisational units are thus used in a similar way to the previous concept using folders.

Categorisation during the migration

It is possible to define during the migration how the records previously saved in folders should be handled in the future. A “mapping” process is thus carried out to define the categorisation of these records. As part of the migration, it is possible for each folder to separately define whether it should be mapped as an organisational unit or as a tag. It is also possible to exclude individual folders from the migration. It is also possible to copy over the complete structure from version 7. To simplify the process, there is of course a wizard that is described in more detail in the corresponding section.

H2(#easymigration). Easy migration – the use of the structure from version 7

If you want to continue to use the structure from version 7 in Password Safe version 8, easy migration mode is available for this purpose. It can currently only be started via the ribbon and not via the database wizards.

In easy migration mode, these is no assignment of tags and organisational units. Instead, all folders are migrated as organisational units. The database is also started directly from the client in structure view. You thus receive the familiar structure from version 7.

Parallel operation of versions 7 and 8

From a technical point of view, it is possible to operate versions 7 and 8 in parallel. However, parallel operation is not recommended since it may cause deviations between the records. It may also cause issues with automatic login.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was ist die Migration?

Das Datenbankformat der Version 7 unterscheidet sich grundlegend von der in der Version 8 eingesetzten MSSQL-Datenbank. Die Migration beinhaltet demnach die automatische Portierung aller Daten aus der Version 7 in die Version 8. In diesem Zuge ist es, bedingt durch die Anpassungen am Berechtigungskonzept, nötig, die Daten auf die neuen Gegebenheiten anzupassen.

Grundlegende Änderungen am Bedienkonzept

Password Safe Version 8 setzt auf ein komplett neues Bedienkonzept. Die aus der Version 7 bekannten Ordner wurden hierbei durch Organisationseinheiten ersetzt, welche durch Tags ergänzt werden. Die Datensätze werden nun also nicht mehr in Ordner einsortiert, sondern kategorisiert. Die Änderungen ermöglichen deutlich flexiblere Anpassungsmöglichkeiten an individuelle Anforderungen sowie gesteigerte Effizienz beim Auffinden gespeicherter Informationen. Die Organisationsheiten können die Aufgaben der bisherigen Ordner übernehmen. Diese werden jedoch ergänzt. So ist es beispielsweise möglich, über die Organisationseinheiten Einstellungen auf Benutzer zu übertagen.

Vorteile

Durch das neue Bedienkonzept ergeben sich etliche Vorteile gegenüber der Version 7. Über die Ordner konnte einem Datensatz nur jeweils eine einzige Kategorisierung zugewiesen werden. Eben die Ordnerzugehörigkeit. In der Version 8 kann ein Datensatz sowohl über die Zugehörigkeit zu einer Organisationseinheit als auch mit beliebig vielen Tags kategorisiert werden. Dies ergibt also eine viel flexiblere Möglichkeit der Kategorisierung. In der Version 7 gab es oftmals die Situation, dass in zahlreichen Ordnern genau die gleichen Unterordner verwendet wurden. Hier kommen nun die Tags ins Spiel. Diese können übergreifend zur Klassifizierung verwendet werden, was unnötige Redundanzen vermeidet.

Organisationseinheiten in der Strukturansicht

Um den Umstieg von der Version 7 zu erleichtern, können die Organisationseinheiten auch als Struktur angezeigt werden. In diesem Fall werden die Organisationseinheiten also ähnlich der bisherigen Ordner verwendet.

Kategorisierung während der Migration

Während der Migration kann festgelegt werden, wie die ehemals in Ordnern abgelegte Datensätze zukünftig gehandhabt werden sollen. Es erfolgt also ein “Mapping”, welches festlegt, wie diese Datensätze kategorisiert werden sollen. Man kann im Zuge der Migration für jeden Ordner separat festlegen, ob dieser als Organisationseinheit oder als Tag abgebildet werden soll. Ebenso können einzelne Ordner von der Migration ausgenommen werden. Ebenso ist es möglich, die komplette Struktur aus der Version 7 zu übernehmen. Um die Arbeit zu erleichtern steht natürlich ein entsprechender Assistent bereit, welcher im entsprechenden Kapitel näher erläutert wird.

Einfache Migration – Die Verwendung der Struktur aus Version 7

Soll in der Password Safe Version 8 weiterhin mit der Struktur aus der Version 7 gearbeitet werden, so steht hierfür der einfach Migrationsmodus zur Verfügung. Dieser lässt sich aktuell nicht über den Datenbank Assistenten, sondern nur über die Ribbon starten.

Im einfachen Migrationsmodus erfolgt keine Zuordnung von Tags und Organisationseinheiten. Vielmehr werden alle Ordner als Organisationseinheiten übernommen. Die Datenbank wird im Client auch direkt in der Strukturansicht. Somit erhält man die von der Version 7 gewohnte Struktur.

Parallelbetrieb von Version 7 und 8

Technisch gesehen ist es möglich Version 7 und 8 parallel zu betreiben. Dies kann jedoch nicht empfohlen werden, da es dadurch zu Abweichungen der Datenbestände kommen kann. Die automatische Anmeldung kann im Parallelbetrieb ebenfalls zu Problemen führen.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.