What is the migration process?

The migration process describes the actual porting process in which all data from a version 7 database is transferred to a new/existing version 8 database. The required amendments to the data set due to the redesign of the authorization concept are also carried out.

Starting the migration

Firstly, a new database is created as described in the section “Creating and managing databases”: https://help.passwordsafe.de/v8/1/en/topic/erstellen-und-verwalten-von-datenbanken#Erstellen. The data migration is activated in the third step of the wizard.

After completing the database wizard, you can go directly to the migration wizard.

  • Select the desired Import type
  • Under Migration file, select the previously created Password Safe V7 backup which is in .psx format
  • In addition, when migrating a server database, the private key file in .prvkey format that belongs to the backup must be selected. Users are requested to Enter the password for single and multiuser databases.
  • The complete migration is carried out as a test via the test run. Users do not receive passwords in this case and thus cannot log in. This step is only for test purposes.
  • For local users or users in deactivated Masterkey mode, randomly generated passwords can be created. These are sent to users via email. If the passwords are not automatically generated, they need to be manually issued in the database.
  • Merging existing users: If an existing database is migrated, any duplicate users are merged using the name. The rights will be added together. * If this option is inactive, a “*” is added to the name of the newly imported user. In the next run “**”, etc.
  • Create form field with folder path: A form field is created that replaces the folder path from Password Safe version 7. This field contains every record and allows you to search based on the old folder path in future.
  • Master Key mode for Active Directory objects: It is decided here whether the AD user is imported in Master Key mode or using end-to-end encryption. Note that a corresponding certificate is created in Master Key mode.
  • If documents had their own folder structure in version 7, the document folder can be added as an organisational unit.
  • It is recommended that the migration user is deleted, as this is authorized by the migration to all records in the database! As a rule, this user is no longer required after the migration, since the administrator is taken as the user from the migrated backup and will be used in the future.

After the process has been started, the data are analysed and processed. Depending on the database size, this step can take several hours.

Migration into an existing database

The data can also be migrated into an existing database via the ribbon. The migration process remains the same. This function allows multiple databases to be merged. Identical records, documents, forms, etc. are duplicated. Exception: Duplicated users will have a * added to the end of the name. They can, however, be merged together. Tags are not duplicated if they are written identically.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was ist der Migrationslauf?

Der Migrationslauf beschreibt die tatsächliche Durchführung der Portierung, bei der alle Daten aus einer Datenbank der Version 7 in eine neue/vorhandene Datenbank der Version 8 umgewandelt werden. Ebenso werden die aufgrund der Umgestaltung des Berechtigungskonzeptes notwendigen Anpassungen am Datenbestand durchgeführt.

Starten der Migration

Zunächst wird wie im Kapitel Erstellen und Verwaltung von Datenbanken beschrieben eine neue Datenbank erstellt. Im dritten Schritt des Assistenten wird die Datenmigration aktiviert.

Nach Abschluss des Datenbankassistenten gelangt man direkt in den Migrationsassistenten.

  • Es wird der gewünschte Importtyp gewählt
  • Unter Migrationsdatei wird das zuvor erstellte Password Safe v7-Backup im Format .psx ausgewählt
  • Es muss bei der Migration einer Serverdatenbank die zugehörige private Schlüsseldatei im Format .prvkey ausgewählt werden. Bei Single- und Multiuser Datenbanken wird zur Eingabe des Passworts aufgefordert.
  • Über den Testlauf wird die komplette Migration als Probelauf durchgeführt. Benutzer erhalten in diesem Zuge keine Passwörter und können sich somit nicht anmelden. Dieser Schritt dient nur zu Testzwecken – nach erfolgreichem Test muss diese Datenbank gelöscht werden um die Migration erneut durchzuführen.
  • Bereits existierende Benutzer zusammenführen: Wird eine bestehende Datenbank migriert, werden evtl. doppelt vorhandene Benutzer anhand des Namens zusammengeführt. Die Rechte werden addiert. Ist die Option inaktiv, wird dem neu importierten Benutzer am Namen ein “*” angehängt. Beim nächsten Lauf “**” usw.
  • Formularfeld mit Ordnerpfad erzeugen: Es wird ein Formularfeld erzeugt, das den Ordnerpfad aus der Password Safe Version 7 auflöst. Dieses Feld erhält jeder Datensatz und ermöglicht zukünftig die Suche anhand des alten Ordnerpfades.
  • Master Key Modus für Active Directory Objekte: Es wird entschieden, ob die AD-Benutzer im Master Key Modus oder Ende zu Ende verschlüsselt importiert werden. Es gilt zu beachten, dass im Master Key Modus ein entsprechendes Zertifikat erstellt wird.
  • Auf Wunsch kann der Migrationsbenutzer gelöscht werden. In der Regel wird dieser nach der Migration nicht mehr benötigt, da der Administrator aus dem migrierten Backup als Benutzer übernommen und zukünftig genutzt wird.

Nach dem Start werden die Daten analysiert und aufbereitet. Je nach Datenbank Größe kann dieser Schritt mehrere Stunden beanspruchen.

Migration in eine bestehende Datenbank

Über Ribbon kann die Migration auch in eine bestehende Datenbank erfolgen. Der Ablauf der Migration bleibt gleich. Durch diese Funktion können mehrere Datenbanken zusammengeführt werden. Hierbei werden gleichlautende Datensätze, Dokumente, Formulare usw. doppelt angelegt. Ausnahme: Benutzer können doppelt angelegt werden und bekommen einen * am Ende des Namen. Sie können aber auch zusammengeführt werden. Tags werden nicht doppelt angelegt, sofern Sie identisch geschrieben sind.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.