What is the password generator?

The complexity of passwords is generally determined by their randomness. In order to be able to rely 100% on the fact that the passwords are randomly generated, an algorithm for generating passwords is indispensable. The password generator performs this function and is completely integrated into the software.

Opening the password generator

The password generator can be opened in different ways:

  • Main menu/Extras/Password generator: Here, the password generator is accessed directly. Passwords generated in the password generator can be copied to the clipboard.

  • When creating new records: Once the password field has been selected in the reading pane, the password generator can then be directly opened in the “Form field” tab via the ribbon. Passwords generated here can be directly entered into the password field for the new record using the “Adopt” button. Alternatively: The password generator can also be accessed on the right in the password field in the reading pane.

Functionality

The Character section is used to define the character groups that should form part of the password. This section can also be used to exclude (special) characters. Once the password length has been defined, a preview of a password that corresponds to the configured criteria is displayed on the bottom edge of the password generator. The “shuffle function” can be activated via the icon on the right next to the password preview. This will generate a new password in accordance with the defined criteria.

Phonetic passwords

This type of password can be recognised by the fact that it is relatively easy to remember (they are “readable”) but do not have any association to terms found in dictionaries. Only the number of syllables and the total length are defined in this case. Options that can be set are how the syllables are separated and whether to use LeetSpeak.

Password rule

Already defined password rules can be utilised for the automatic generation of new passwords

Multigenerator

The multigenerator makes it possible to automatically generate up to 200 passwords. The convention used for generating these passwords is always the previously defined default. This could be:

  • User defined
  • Phonetic passwords
  • Password rules

The generated passwords are saved in a text file in the local user directory and can be opened immediately if desired.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was ist der Passwortgenerator?

Die Komplexität von Passwörtern wird grundsätzlich durch deren Zufälligkeit bestimmt. Um zu 100% auf rein zufällig erstellte Passwörter zugreifen zu können, ist ein Algorithmus zum Erstellen von Passwörtern unerlässlich. Der Passwortgenerator liefert dies und ist komplett in die Software eingebunden.

Öffnen des Passwortgenerators

Der Passwortgenerator kann auf verschiedenen Wegen geöffnet werden:

  • Hauptmenü/Extras/Passwortgenerator: Hierbei wird der Passwortgenerator direkt aufgerufen. Dort kreierte Passwörter können in die Zwischenablage kopiert werden.

  • Beim Erstellen neuer Datensätze: Hierbei markiert man das Passwortfeld im Lesebereich und kann dann in der Ribbon im Reiter “Formularfeld” den Passwortgenerator direkt öffnen. Dort erstelle Passwörter werden über den Button “Übernehmen” direkt in das Passwortfeld des neuen Datensatzes eingetragen. Alternativ: Rechts im Passwortfeld im Lesebereich kann der Generator ebenso aufgerufen werden.

Funktionsweise

Unter Zeichen definiert man die Zeichengruppen, welche Teil des Passwortes sein sollen. Analog können auf diese Art und Weise auch (Sonder)Zeichen ausgeschlossen werden. Nachdem die Passwortlänge bestimmt wurde, existiert am unteren Rand des Passwortgenerators eine Vorschau auf ein den konfigurierten Kriterien entsprechendes Passwort. Rechts neben der Passwortvorschau lässt sich über das Icon die “Shuffle-Funktion” aktivieren, welche gemäß den definierten Kriterien ein neues Passwort kreiert.

Phonetische Passwörter

Diese Form von Passwörtern zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass man Sie sich verhältnismäßig gut merken kann (sie sind “lesbar”) und dennoch keinen Bezug zu Begriffen aus Wörterbüchern besitzen. Definiert werden hier nur die Anzahl der Silben sowie die Gesamtlänge. Optional kann noch für die Form der Silbentrennung sowie LeetSpeak verwendet werden.

Passwortrichtlinie

Bereits definierte Passwortrichtlinien können für das automatische Erzeugen neuer Passwörter herangezogen werden

Multi-Generator

Der Multigenerator ermöglicht das automatische Erstellen von bis zu 200 Passwörtern. Die Konvention, nach der diese Passwörter erzeugt werden, entspricht stets den vorher definierten Vorgaben. Diese können sein

  • Benutzerdefiniert
  • Phonetische Passwörter
  • Passwortrichtlinien

Die erzeugten Passwörter werden im lokalen Benutzerverzeichnis in einer Textdatei gespeichert und können auf Wunsch sofort geöffnet werden.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.