What is the SSO agent?

The SSO Agent is responsible for the automatic entry of login data in applications. This enables logins without knowledge of the password, which can be a particularly valuable tool in combination with password masking. The authorization concept is used to define which users should receive access. However, the password remains hidden because it is entered by Password Safe.

Requirements

The SSO agent is installed together with the Password Safe client and can then be used by users (assuming they have sufficient permissions). A separate installation is thus not necessary. A desktop link is created for both the client and also for the SSO agent.

User rights

The right Can create web applications is required for creating new web applications

Functionality

The functionality of the SSO agent is illustrated in the following diagram.

RDP and SSH sessions() are not automatically started via the SSO agent. Applications are created for this purpose in the Password Safe client. The creation and use of these connections is explained in detail in the corresponding section.

Automatically starting all other types of connection is the task of the SSO agent. The following types of connections exist:

  • Entering login data in Windows applications: Alongside the above-mentioned RDP and SSH sessions, other Windows applications can also be automated (). A major difference is that the two above-mentioned connections are set up and “embedded” in a separate tab. Other applications, such as e.g. VMware, are directly started as usual (more…). In these cases, the SSO agent takes over the communication between the application server and the Windows applications.
  • Entering login data on websites: Password Safe can automate the login process on websites. This means that the desired login is configured once via the add-on and can be efficiently used in future (in the same way that favourites are used). The SSO agent acts as an interface () here between the applications server and the available browser add-on (Google Chrome, Internet Explorer and Mozilla Firefox).

Conclusion

As the SSO agent is directly connected to the application server, login data can also be entered without the main client. Exceptions are the RDP and SSH connections. These are forced to remain part of the client. The SSO agent thus acts as a lean alternative for the use of the client with the two limitations mentioned. Naturally, all of the steps completed are still entered in the logbook and are always traceable.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was ist der SSO Agent?

Der SSO Agent ist für die automatische Eintragung von Anmeldedaten in Anwendungen zuständig. Auf diese Art und Weise können Anmeldungen ohne die Kenntnis um das Passwort durchgeführt werden, was besonders im Zusammenspiel mit dem Sichtschutz ein wertvolles Werkzeug sein kann. Es wird über das Berechtigungskonzept festgelegt, welche Benutzer einen Zugang nutzen sollen. Das Passwort bleibt dennoch verborgen, da die Eintragung durch den Password Safe durchgeführt wird.

Voraussetzungen

Der SSO Agent wird zusammen mit dem Password Safe Client installiert und kann von Usern dann (ausreichend Berechtigungen vorausgesetzt) benutzt werden. Eine separate Installation ist demnach nicht nötig. Es wird sowohl für den Client wie auch für den SSO Agent eine eigene Desktop Verknüpfung erstellt.

Funktionsweise

Die Funktionsweise des SSO Agents wird in nachfolgendem Schaubild erläutert.

Das automatisierte Starten von RDP- und SSH-Sessions () wird nicht über den SSO Agent gestartet. Hierfür werden Anwendungen im Password Safe Client erstellt und genutzt. Die Erstellung und Nutzung dieser Verbindungen sind im dementsprechenden Kapitel ausführlich erläutert.

Das automatische Starten von allen verbleibenden Verbindungsarten ist Aufgabe des SSO Agents. Es existieren die nachfolgend genannten Arten:

  • Eintragungen in Windows Anwendungen: Neben den genannten RDP- und SSH-Sitzungen können auch andere Windows Anwendungen automatisiert werden (). Ein wesentlicher Unterschied ist, dass die beiden genannten Verbindungen innerhalb eines separaten Tabs “embedded” errichtet werden können. Andere Anwendungen, wie z.B. VMware, werden wie gewohnt direkt gestartet (mehr…). Der SSO Agent übernimmt in diesem Fall die Kommunikation zwischen dem Anwendungsserver und den Windows Anwendungen.
  • Eintragungen an Websites: Password Safe kann die Anmeldung an Websites automatisieren. Das bedeutet, dass man über die Add-ons die gewünschte Anmeldung einmal konfiguriert und zukünftig (analog zum Vorgehen bei der Nutzung von Favoriten) effizient nutzen kann. Der SSO Agent bildet hierbei die Schnittstelle () zwischen dem Anwendungsserver und den verfügbaren Browser Add-ons (Google Chrome, Internet Explorer und Mozilla Firefox).

Fazit

Da der SSO Agent direkt mit dem Anwendungsserver verbunden ist, können Eintragungen auch ohne den Hauptclient durchgeführt werden. Ausnahmen hierzu bilden RDP- und SSH-Verbindungen. Diese bleiben zwingend Teil des Clients. Der SSO Agent bildet somit eine schlanke Alternative für die Nutzung des Clients mit den beiden angesprochenen Einschränkungen. Selbstverständlich werden dennoch alle durchgeführten Arbeitsschritte Teil des Logbuch und sind stets nachvollziehbar.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.