What are roles?

Each employee in a company is ultimately a member of a department and / or part of a particular function level. These departments or groups are mapped within Password Safe using the role concept. The authorizations can therefore be configured and inherited in a role-based manner. The “Roles” module should only be made available to administrators. Accordingly, it is recommended to limit the visibility of the role management. It is also possible to delegate the management of departments or separate areas completely to third parties via the role concept. The authorization concept ensures that users are only granted access to those roles to which they are entitled. The configuration of Masking is explained in a similar way to the other modules in one place.

Relevant rights

The following options are required.

User right

  • Can add new roles
  • Display role module

Roles in focus

The configuration of roles is the basis for the authorization concept. Of course, the permissions for data could also be set at a user level. However, the use of roles can dramatically reduce the administrative burden, and it helps to keep an overview. In addition to the authorizations for data, user rights are also mapped in the best case via roles.

As you can see, roles are the central objects within Password Safe. They form the indispensable bridge between users and authorizations of any kind.

Creating and granting permissions for new roles

If you are in the “roles” module, the process for creating new roles is the same as for creating new records. Roles can be created via the ribbon and also via the context menu that is accessed using the right mouse button.

All information connected with the roles and the authorization concept is explained in a separate section.

Planning phase

Just like with the organisational structures, you should also familiarize yourself with the intended role concepts in advance. The mapping of the structures present in a company is the starting point for the success of Password Safe. You should design the roles in Password Safe only once a detailed design has been drawn up, and all the requirements of all project participants have been met.

Why are there no groups?

Password Safe enforces the avoidance of unnecessary structures through the role concept. A group-in-group nesting is not supported – and is not necessary at all. The resultant increase in performance as well as increased overview promotes efficiency and effectiveness. The elegant interplay of organisational structures, roles, and granular filter options can cover all customer-specific scenarios.

Overview of members for a role

As well as being able to view the members in the permissions dialogue, a list of all members for a role is already made available in the reading pane. All of the other users with permissions but without membership of the role are not taken into account.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was sind Rollen?

Jeder Mitarbeiter in einem Unternehmen ist letztendlich Mitglied einer Abteilung und/oder Teil einer bestimmten Funktionsebene. Diese Abteilungen oder Gruppierungen werden innerhalb von Password Safe durch das Rollenkonzept abgebildet. Die Berechtigungen können somit rollenbasiert konfiguriert und vererbt werden. Das Modul „Rollen“ sollte nur administrativ tätigen Benutzern zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Es bietet sich demnach an die Sichtbarkeit der Rollenverwaltung stark einzuschränken. Über das Rollenkonzept ist es ebenso möglich, die Verwaltung von Abteilungen oder separaten Bereichen komplett an Dritte zu delegieren. Das Berechtigungskonzept gewährleistet, dass Benutzern lediglich Zugriff auf diejenigen Rollen gewährt wird, auf welche diese auch berechtigt sind. Die Konfiguration der Sichtbarkeit ist analog zu den anderen Modulen an zentraler Stelle erläutert.

Rollen im Fokus

Die Konfiguration von Rollen ist die Basis für das Berechtigungskonzept. Natürlich wäre die Berechtigung auf Daten auch auf Benutzerebene möglich. Durch die Nutzung von Rollenzugehörigkeiten lässt sich jedoch der administrative Aufwand drastisch reduzieren und die Übersicht wahren. Zusätzlich zu den Berechtigungen auf Daten werden ebenso Benutzerrechte im günstigsten Fall über Rollen abgebildet.

Wie man sieht sind Rollen die zentralen Objekte innerhalb des Password Safe. Sie bilden die unverzichtbare Brücke zwischen Benutzern und Berechtigungen jedweder Art.

Erstellung und Berechtigen neuer Rollen

Befindet man sich im Modul “Rollen”, entspricht das Erstellen neuer Rollen funktionell dem Erstellen neuer Datensätze. Sowohl über die Ribbon als auch über das Kontextmenü der rechten Maustaste können Rollen angelegt werden.

Alle mit Rollen und dem Berechtigungskonzept in Verbindung stehenden Informationen werden in einem eigenen Kapitel erläutert.

Konzeptphase

Analog zur Handhabung der Organisationsstrukturen, sollte man sich auch im Vorfeld mit den angedachten Rollenkonzepten genauestens beschäftigen. Das Abbilden der in einem Unternehmen vorhandenen Strukturen stellt die Weichen für den Erfolg des Password Safe. Erst nachdem ein detaillierter Entwurf erstellt wurde, und sämtliche von allen Projektbeteiligten gewünschten Anforderungen erfüllt sind, sollte man sich mit der Gestaltung der Rollen in Password Safe beschäftigen.

Warum gibt es keine Gruppen?

Password Safe erzwingt durch das Rollenkonzept die Vermeidung unnötiger Strukturen. Eine Gruppe-in-Gruppen Verschachtelung wird nicht unterstützt – und ist gar nicht nötig. Die sich dadurch ergebende Performanzsteigerung sowie gesteigerte Übersicht fördert Effizienz und Effektivität. Durch das elegante Zusammenspiel von Organisationsstrukturen, Rollen und granularen Filtermöglichkeiten können sämtliche kundenspezifischen Szenarien abgedeckt werden.

Übersicht auf Rollenmitglieder

Zusätzlich zur Ansicht im Berechtigungsdialog ist auch schon im Lesebereich eine Auflistung aller Mitglieder einer Rolle vorhanden. Alle des Weiteren Berechtigten ohne die Rollenmitgliedschaft werden nicht berücksichtigt.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.