What are protective mechanisms?

The primary goal of Password Safe is to ensure data security at all times. The authorization concept is naturally the most important component when it comes to granting users the intended level of permissions for accessing data. Specifically, this makes it possible to make certain information only available to selected employees. Nevertheless, it is still necessary to have protective mechanisms above and beyond the authorization concept in order to handle complex requirements.

  • Visibility is not separately configured but is instead directly controlled via the authorization concept (read right). Nevertheless, it represents an important component within the existing protective mechanisms and is why a separate section has been dedicated to this subject.
  • By configuring temporary permissions, it is possible to grant users or roles temporary access to data.
  • Password masking enables access to the system without having to reveal the passwords of users. The value of the password remains constantly hidden.
  • To link the release of highly sensitive access data to a double-check principle, it is possible to use “seals”:https://help.passwordsafe.de/v8/1/en/topic/siegel. The configuration of users or roles with the permissions to issue a release is possible down to a granular level and is always adaptable to individual requirements.

The following diagram shows a summary of how the existing protective mechanisms are integrated into the authorization concept.

In the interplay of the authorization concept with the protective mechanisms, almost all conceivable scenarios can be depicted. It is worth mentioning again that the authorization concept is already a very effective tool, with limited visibility of passwords and data records. This concept is present everywhere in Password Safe, and will be explained in more detail below.

Visibility as a basic requirement

It should always be noted that visibility is always a basic requirement for applying further protective mechanisms. A record that is completely hidden from a user (= no read right) can naturally not be given any further protective mechanisms.

Combining multiple protective mechanisms

In principle, there are a diverse range of possibilities for combining the above-mentioned protective mechanisms. Temporary access to a “masked” record is possible just as having a “masked” record which is additionally secured by a double-check principle is also possible. Nevertheless, it should be noted that temporary permissions in combination with seals always pose a risk. If releasing a seal requires approval from a person who only possesses or possessed temporary permissions or will only possess them in future, this could naturally conflict with the configured release criteria.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was sind Schutzmechanismen?

Password Safe verfolgt als oberstes Ziel stets die Wahrung von Datensicherheit. Das Berechtigungskonzept stellt hierbei natürlich die wichtigste Komponente dar wenn es darum geht, Benutzer auf Daten im angedachten Ausmaß zu berechtigen. Konkret geht es hierbei um die Möglichkeit, bestimmte Informationen lediglich selektiv Mitarbeitern zur Verfügung zu stellen. Nichtsdestotrotz benötigt man über das Berechtigungskonzept hinaus noch weitere Schutzmechanismen, um komplexen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden.

  • Die Sichtbarkeit wird nicht separat konfiguriert, sondern erfolgt direkt aus dem Berechtigungskonzept (Leserecht). Dennoch stellt diese einen wichtigen Baustein innerhalb der vorhandenen Schutzmechanismen dar, weshalb ihr ein separates Kapitel gewidmet wird.
  • Durch die Konfiguration von temporären Berechtigungen gewährt man Benutzern oder Rollen zeitlich befristeten Zugriff auf Daten.
  • Der Sichtschutz ermöglicht die Nutzung von Systemzugängen, ohne das Passwort Benutzern freigeben zu müssen. Der Wert des Passwortes bleibt stets verborgen.
  • Um die Freigabe hochsensibler Zugangsdaten an ein Mehr-Augen-Prinzips zu binden, ist das Anbringen von Siegeln möglich. Die Konfiguration freigabeberechtigter Benutzer oder Rollen ist beliebig granular und stets an individuelle Anforderungen anpassbar.

In nachfolgender Grafik ist zusammenfassend die Eingliederung der vorhandenen Schutzmechanismen in das Berechtigungskonzept aufgeführt.

Im Zusammenspiel des Berechtigungskonzepts mit den Schutzmechanismen lassen sich quasi alle erdenklichen Szenarien abbilden. Es sei hierbei noch einmal erwähnt, dass das Berechtigungskonzept durch die Einschränkung der Sichtbarkeit auf Passwörter und Datensätze bereits ein sehr effektives Mittel ist. Dieses Konzept ist im Password Safe allgegenwärtig und soll nachfolgend in angemessenem Detail erläutert werden.

Sichtbarkeit als Grundvoraussetzung

Es ist stets zu beachten, dass die Sichtbarkeit immer eine Grundvoraussetzung für das Anbringen weiterer Schutzmechanismen darstellt. Ein Datensatz, der einem Benutzer komplett vorenthalten wird (= kein Leserecht), kann selbstredend nicht mit weiteren Schutzmechanismen versehen werden.

Kombination mehrerer Schutzmechanismen

Grundsätzlich existieren diverse Möglichkeiten bei der Verknüpfung der genannten Schutzmechanismen. Ein temporär gewährter Zugriff auf einen “sichtgeschützten” Datensatz ist genauso möglich, wie ein “sichtgeschützter” Datensatz, welcher zusätzlich durch ein Mehr-Augen-Prinzip gesichert wird. Dennoch ist bei der Konfiguration zu beachten, dass temporäre Freigaben in Kombination mit Siegeln stets eine Gefahr darstellen. Wenn für die Freigabe von Siegeln eine Zustimmung einer Person notwendig ist, welche nur temporäre Berechtigungen besitzt, besessen hat oder aber zukünftig besitzen wird, kann dies selbstverständlich mit konfigurierten Freigabekriterien kollidieren.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.