IT security is changing with the times

It is a declared goal that Germany’s digital infrastructures should be among the safest in the world. The IT Security Act, which came into force in July 2015, is intended to form a blueprint for this purpose, and to ensure the leading position of Germany in the fight against digital threats. The Federal Office for Information Security (BSI), which is also responsible for the ISO 27001 Certification based on the IT Baseline Protection Catalogues, has been setting the course for this. At the European level, too, the potential danger is taken into account by the * Directive on Network and Information Security (NIS) *, the counterpart to the German IT security law. Through the EU-wide strengthening of resistance to risks from the Internet, such criminal energies should be further restricted.

Hazards and risks

This is to be assessed as a reaction to a hazard, which could not be more concrete: The Federal Office of Criminal Investigation has estimated the number of digital attacks on German companies at 300,000 a day. According to the Federal Office for the Protection of the Constitution, the federal networks are targeted over a million times a year by hackers with financial interest, by politically motivated “hacktivists” and, of course, by secret services. The BKA has been warning on the internet for years, both in the private sector and in the company environment. Acquired thieves in the form of security-critical corporate interiors are regularly subject to blackmail.

Vulnerability of passwords

Due to the rapid digital revolution, more and more focus is being placed on the topic of password security in particular. Passwords, which were still relatively safe 5 years ago, have to be put to the test again due to technical progress. Only randomly selected passwords with a corresponding number of digits can really defuse this problem. It is also important to ensure that these passwords are changed at predefined intervals.

The solutions of the MATESO Password Safe

The safest passwords are still those that can be completely hidden from the users. Automatic entries allow users to work efficiently without knowing their passwords. By means of the most advanced methods of the Password Reset, these access codes can also be reset automatically at intervals that can be as short as required. There are also safety mechanisms which link access to systems to a release by those users with the required permissions, according to the double-check principle. All these routines are backed up by highly complex encryption methods. Regular penetration tests ensure that the software is specifically tested by independent experts for weaknesses in architecture as well as the correct use of state-of-the-art cryptographic technologies. Conclusion: Human misconduct in the handling of passwords must be reduced to a minimum by technically enforced specifications and workflows. Christian Strobel, COO of MATESO GmbH:

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

IT-Sicherheit im Wandel

Es ist ein erklärtes Ziel, dass die digitalen Infrastrukturen Deutschlands zu den sichersten weltweit gehören sollen. Das im Juli 2015 in Kraft getretene IT-Sicherheitsgesetz soll hierfür die Blaupause bilden und wegbereitend die deutsche Vorreiterstellung im Kampf gegen digitale Bedrohungen sichern. Das Bundesamt für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik (BSI), welches ebenso für die ISO 27001 Zertifizierung auf Basis der IT-Grundschutz-Kataloge Verantwortlichkeit zeichnet, stellt hierfür schon seit langem die Weichen. Auch auf europäischer Ebene wird durch die Richtlinie zur Netz- und Informationssicherheit (NIS), dem Pendant zum deutschen IT-Sicherheitsgesetz, der potentiellen Gefahrenlage Rechnung getragen. Durch die EU-weite Stärkung der Widerstandsfähigkeit gegenüber Risiken aus dem Internet sollen derlei kriminelle Energien weiter eingedämmt werden.

Gefahren und Risiken

Dies ist als Reaktion auf eine Gefahrenlage einzuschätzen, welche konkreter nicht sein könnte: Das Bundeskriminalamt schätzt die Anzahl digitaler Angriffe auf deutsche Unternehmen auf 300.000 – am Tag. Auch die Netze des Bundes geraten laut dem Bundesamt für Verfassungsschutz über eine Million Mal jährlich ins Visier von Hackern mit finanziellem Interesse, politisch motivierten „Hacktivisten“ und natürlich auch Geheimdiensten. Das BKA warnt schon seit Jahren vor Erpressungswellen im Internet, sowohl im privaten Sektor wie auch im Firmenumfeld. Erworbene Diebesgüter in Form von sicherheitskritischen Unternehmensinterna sind regelmäßig Gegenstand von Erpressungen.

Passwörter als Achillesferse

Aufgrund des raschen digitalen Wandels rückt besonders das Thema Passwortsicherheit immer mehr in den Fokus. Kennwörter, welche vor 5 Jahren noch als relativ sicher einzustufen waren, müssen aufgrund des technischen Fortschritts erneut auf den Prüfstand. Ausschließlich zufällig gewählte Passwörter mit einer entsprechenden Ziffernlänge können diese Problematik wirklich nachhaltig entschärfen. Darüber hinaus ist dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass diese Kennwörter in vordefinierten Intervallen geändert werden.

Der Lösungsansatz des MATESO Password Safe

Die sichersten Passwörter sind immer noch diejenigen, welche den Usern komplett vorenthalten werden können. Über automatische Eintragungen ermöglicht man den Benutzern effizientes Arbeiten, ohne das Wissen um das Passwort freigeben zu müssen. Mittels fortschrittlichster Methoden des Password Reset sind diese Zugangskennwörter zudem automatisiert in beliebig kurzen Intervallen zurücksetzbar. Hinzu kommen Sicherheitsmechanismen, welche Zugang zu Systemen gemäß dem Mehr-Augen-Prinzip an die Erteilung einer Freigabe durch Berechtigte koppeln. All diese Routinen werden durch hochkomplexe Verschlüsselungsverfahren gesichert. Regelmäßige Penetrationstests sorgen dafür, dass die Software gezielt von unabhängigen Experten auf Schwachstellen in der Architektur sowie korrekten Einsatz modernster kryptographischer Technologien geprüft wird. Zusammenfassend: menschliches Fehlverhalten im Umgang mit Passwörtern muss durch technisch erzwungene Vorgaben und Workflows auf ein Minimum reduziert werden. Christian Strobel, COO der MATESO GmbH:

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.