Visibility of data

The use of a filter is generally the gateway to displaying existing records. Nevertheless, this aspect of the visibility of the records is closely interwoven with the existing permissions structure. Naturally, a user can always only see those records for which they have at least a read right. This doctrine should always be taken into consideration when handling records. Tags are not subject to any permissions and can thus always be used as filter criteria. Nevertheless, the delivered results will only contain those records for which the user themselves actually has permissions. A good example here is the tag “personal record”. Every user can mark their own record as personal – yet each user will naturally only be able to find their own personal records.

Creating independently working environments

The possibility of separately defining the visibility of individual objects is one of the special features within the Password Safe authorization concept. Irrespective of whether handling records, documents, organisational structures, roles or forms: it is always possible to define whether a user or a role possesses a read right to the object or not. The permissions for each of these objects can be defined separately via the ribbon in the permissions dialogue. This approach enables the creation of independently existing departments within a database. The permissions structure for the SAP form can be seen below. It shows that only the sales manager and the administrators are currently permitted to create new records of type SAP.

In general, each department can independently use forms, create passwords and manage hierarchies in this way. Especially in very sensitive areas of a company, this type of compartmentalisation is often required and also desired.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Sichtbarkeit von Daten

Die Nutzung des Filters stellt im Regelfall das Tor zur Anzeige der vorhandenen Datensätze dar. Dennoch ist der Aspekt deren Sichtbarkeit eng mit vorhandenen Berechtigungsstrukturen verwoben. Selbstverständlich sieht man nur stets jene Datensätze, auf die man auch mindestens lesend berechtigt ist. Dieses Dogma muss stets im Umgang bedacht werden. Tags unterliegen keinen Berechtigungen und können demnach stets als Filterkriterium herangezogen werden. Nichtsdestotrotz beinhaltet das gelieferte Ergebnis nur diejenigen Datensätze, auf die man selbst auch wirklich berechtigt ist. Ein schönes Beispiel hierfür ist das Tag “persönlicher Datensatz”. Jeder Benutzer kann seine eigenen Datensätze als persönlich markieren – dennoch wird jeder Benutzer natürlich nur seine eigenen persönlichen Datensätze finden können.

Erschaffung autark arbeitender Arbeitsumgebungen

Die Möglichkeit, Sichtbarkeiten einzelner Objekte separat zu definieren, ist eine der der Besonderheiten innerhalb des Password Safe Berechtigungskonzeptes. Egal ob Datensätze, Dokumente, Organisationsstrukturen oder Rollen und Formulare: es kann stets definiert werden, ob ein Benutzer oder eine Rolle auf das Objekt Leserecht besitzt oder nicht. Jedes dieser Objekte kann über den Berechtigungsdialog in der Ribbon separat berechtigt werden. Dieser Ansatz ermöglicht die Erstellung von autark existierenden Abteilungen innerhalb einer Datenbank. Nachfolgend ist die Berechtigungsstruktur des Formulars SAP einsehbar. Demnach können aktuell lediglich die Vertriebsleitung und Administratoren neue Datensätze vom Typ SAP erstellen.

Grundsätzlich kann auf diese Art und Weise jede Abteilung eigenständig Formulare nutzen, Passwörter erstellen und Hierarchien verwalten. Besonders in sehr sensiblen Unternehmensbereichen ist eine derartige Abschottung oftmals erforderlich und auch erwünscht.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.