What is password masking?

The safest passwords are those that you do not know. Password masking follows this approach. It prevents the password from being shown, while allowing the use of the automatic sign-on. You can apply it via the button of the same name in the ribbon.

Relevant rights

The following option is required to apply password masking.

User right

  • Can apply password masking

Required permissions

In the same way as for the seal configuration, the authorize right for the record is required to apply or remove the masking. Users use have the authorize right for a record can continue to use the record without limitations after applying password masking. Password masking thus only applies to users without the stated right.

Applying password masking

The icon in the ribbon allows users with the required permissions to apply password masking following a confirmation prompt. By default, the privacy is for all those who have at least reading permission, but not the right * entitled *.

Password masking via form field permissions

As an alternative, you can also apply password masking via the form field permissions. In the detailed view of a record, there is a separate button in the ribbon for that purpose. Ensure that the password field is highlighted.

The special feature when setting or editing masking via the form field permissions is that you can individually select users to whom masking will be applied. In the following example, masking has been specified only for the role of “trainees”, although the “IT” role does not have the Authorize right either. In addition to the name of the role or the user, the icon symbolizes the fact that visa protection applies to trainees.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was ist der Sichtschutz?

Die sichersten Passwörter sind diejenigen, die man nicht kennt. Genau diesen Ansatz verfolgt der Sichtschutz. Er verhindert, dass das Passwort aufgedeckt werden kann, ermöglicht jedoch trotzdem die Nutzung über automatische Eintragungen. Angebracht werden kann dieser über den gleichnamigen Button in der Ribbon.

Benötigte Berechtigungen

Analog zur Siegelkonfiguration ist das Recht Berechtigen auf den Datensatz Voraussetzung, um den Sichtschutz anbringen, bzw. wieder entfernen zu können. Benutzer, welche auf einen Datensatz das Recht Berechtigen besitzen, können nach Anbringen des Sichtschutzes den Datensatz weiterhin ohne Einschränkungen nutzen. Sichtschutz gilt demnach nur für Benutzer ohne genanntes Recht.

Anbringen des Sichtschutzes

Über das Icon in der Ribbon können Berechtigte den Sichtschutz nach einer Sicherheitsabfrage anbringen. Standardmäßig gilt der Sichtschutz für all diejenigen, welche mindestens Leseberechtigung besitzen, jedoch nicht das Recht Berechtigen.

Sichtschutz über Formularfeldberechtigungen

Alternativ ist das Anbringen des Sichtschutzes ebenso über die Formularfeldberechtigungen möglich. In der Detailansicht eines Datensatzes existiert hierfür ein separater Button in der Ribbon. Es ist zu beachten, dass das Passwortfeld markiert sein muss.

Die Besonderheit beim Setzen oder Bearbeiten des Sichtschutzes über die Formularfeldberechtigungen ist, dass man dort individuell entscheiden kann, für wen der Sichtschutz gelten soll. Im folgenden Beispiel wurde dementsprechend der Sichtschutz nur gegenüber der Rolle “Praktikanten* definiert, obwohl die Rolle “IT” das Recht Berechtigen ebenso nicht besitzt. Neben dem Namen der Rolle oder des Benutzers ist mit dem Icon symbolisiert, dass für Praktikanten der Sichtschutz gilt.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.