What are tags?

The tag system is ubiquitous in Password Safe. It can be used to classify and describe almost every object. An object can have several such tags. These are always displayed in the header area of ​​the data record. Optionally, tags can be provided with colours or a description. They determine the aesthetics of Password Safe, and are optically a great help, in order not to loose the overview even in case of large amounts of data.

Relevant rights

The following option is required for creating new tags.

User rights

  • Can add new tags

Adding tags to records

Tags can be directly added when creating new records and also when editing records. The procedure is the same. In Edit mode, the tags are always at the bottom.

The operation is intuitive. From the third entered letter, existing tags are searched for full text. If the desired tag has been found, it can be added. Both the navigation with mouse, thus also with keyboard, is possible. If a new tag is to be created, this can be done directly with “Return”.

Tags in the ribbon

If you edit a record and mark an existing or new tag, a corresponding content tab appears in the ribbon. Here, the tag manager can be opened as well as the colour and description of the tag can be adapted directly.

Management of tags

A separate section is available under Extras in the client for the tag manager. This is explained in a special section.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was sind Tags?

Das Tag-System ist im Password Safe allgegenwärtig. Fast jedes Objekt kann mit deren Hilfe klassifiziert und auch beschrieben werden. Ein Objekt kann mehrere solcher Tags besitzen. Diese werden immer im Kopfbereich des Datensatzes angezeigt. Optional können Tags mit Farben oder einem Beschreibungstext versehen werden. Sie prägen das Erscheinungsbild des Password Safe entscheidend und sind optisch eine große Hilfe, um auch in großen Datenmengen nicht den Überblick zu verlieren.

Hinzufügen von Tags zu Datensätzen

Tags können einerseits direkt bei der Erstellung neuer Datensätze, andererseits durch das Bearbeiten von Datensätzen hinzugefügt werden. Das Vorgehen ist hierbei identisch. Im Bearbeiten Modus finden sich die Tags stets an unterster Stelle.

Die Bedienung ist hierbei intuitiv. Ab dem dritten eingegebenen Buchstaben werden bereits vorhandene Tags nach Volltext durchsucht. Falls der gewünschte Tag gefunden wurde, kann dieser hinzugefügt werden. Sowohl die Navigation mit Maus, also auch mit Tastatur, ist möglich. Falls ein neuer Tag angelegt werden soll, kann dies direkt mit “Return” durchgeführt werden.

Tags in der Ribbon

Bearbeitet man einen Datensatz und markiert hierbei einen vorhandenen oder auch neuen Tag, erscheint in der Ribbon ein dementsprechendes Content Tab. Hier kann sowohl die Tagverwaltung geöffnet, als auch Farbe und Beschreibung des Tags direkt angepasst werden.

Verwaltung von Tags

Für die Tagverwaltung steht in den Extras im Client ein separater Bereich zur Verfügung. Erläutert ist dieser in einem gesonderten Kapitel.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.