What are temporary permissions?

So far, we have covered permissions that were valid for an unlimited period. However, a release can also be granted in advance with a time restriction. Examples are users who stay in the company for a limited time, such as interns or student trainees.

Configuration

When configuring the permissions for records, you can specify a temporary release for each role. The start date as well as the end date is selected here. You can start the configuration using the Extras area in the ribbon.

In this example, the role “trainees” was granted to a data set for two weeks of reading permission.

Colour scheme

The colours in the “time period” column provide information on the current status of the granted permissions:

  • Brown: The temporary permission is configured but is still inactive. The selected time period is still in the future.
  • Green: The temporary permission is active
  • Red: The time period for the temporary permissions has already expired and is thus in the past

Special features of the authorization system

Due to their very nature, temporary permissions leave lots of potential for incorrect configurations. Conceivable constellations include a situation when the only user with all rights only has temporary permissions. When these permissions expire, there is no longer any user with full permissions. To prevent this happening, users with temporary permissions are handled differently.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was sind temporäre Berechtigungen?

Bis dato wurden nur Berechtigungen behandelt, die zeitlich unbefristet waren. Eine gewährte Freigabe kann jedoch auch im Vorfeld mit einer zeitlichen Einschränkung versehen werden. Im Unternehmen nur für begrenzte Zeit tätige Benutzer, wie z.B. Praktikanten oder Werksstudenten, sind hier adäquate Anwendungsfälle.

Konfiguration

Bei der Konfiguration der Berechtigungen auf Datensätze kann für jede Rolle eine temporäre Freigabe definiert werden. Hierbei wird das Startdatum wie auch das Enddatum gewählt. Gestartet wird die Konfiguration über den Bereich Extras in der Ribbon.

Im vorliegenden Beispiel wurde der Rolle “Praktikanten” für zwei Wochen Leseberechtigung auf einen Datensatz gewährt.

Farbgebung

Die in der Spalte “Zeitraum” hinterlegte Farbe gibt Aufschluss über den derzeitigen Status der gewährten Berechtigung:

  • Braun: Die temporäre Berechtigung ist konfiguriert, jedoch noch inaktiv. Der gewählte Zeitraum liegt demnach in der Zukunft.
  • Grün: Die temporäre Berechtigung ist aktiv
  • Rot: Der Zeitraum der temporären Berechtigung ist bereits abgelaufen, liegt demnach in der Vergangenheit

Besonderheiten beim Berechtigungssystem

Designbedingt besitzen temporäre Berechtigungen viel Potential für Fehlkonfigurationen. Denkbar sind Konstellationen, bei denen der einzige Benutzer mit allen Rechten lediglich temporär berechtigt ist. Wenn diese Berechtigung dann abläuft, existiert kein voll berechtigter Benutzer mehr. Um diesem vorzubeugen, werden temporär berechtigte Benutzer anders gehandhabt.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.