Version history

The latest patch notes are always available via the following link:https://help.passwordsafe.de/v8/1/en/topic/changelogs.

One important reason why our products never stop evolving …

… is the constant feedback we receive from our customers. On the one hand, their compliments validate our approach; on the other, their wishes and suggestions motivate us daily to further develop our products. We would like to thank you for your feedback, and to provide you with the following features in Password Safe Version 8:

  • Completely revised, intuitive operating concept
  • Freely configurable dashboards for daily overview
  • Newly developed SSO engine for logging on to applications and websites
  • New modern add-ons for browsers
  • Native RDP and SSH integration
  • Advanced tag system for the optimal classification of your data
  • Customizable search filters including full-text search
  • Significant performance improvement thanks to the newly developed stateless multi-tier architecture
  • End-to-end encryption (E2EE)
  • Administration of privileged accounts including password reset and password discovery
  • Maximum encryption via synchronous and asynchronous procedures
  • Two-factor authentication
  • Rights down to the record level, including temporary releases
  • Extensive reporting for audits
  • And much more

Authorization administration as the basis

Authorization administration based on roles and organisational structures is one of the central topics in Password Safe Version 8. The aim is to have a role concept that would reproduce the hierarchies within a company properly and completely. By means of synchronization with the Active Directory, the existing structures can be imported and adapted as required. Both user information and group membership are thus imported directly from the Microsoft directory service. Optionally, end-to-end encryption (E2EE) can prevent private user keys from being transmitted to the server, which could be a weak point, at least in theory.

The sophisticated authorization concept ensures that each user group or department always has access to the passwords to which they are also entitled. The requirements of hierarchically nested user structures in large companies and corporations are taken into account. This is ensured by wizards, permission pre-sets, and intuitively designed methods of inheritance.

Privileged password management

Service accounts and administrative access with far-reaching authorizations are always the key vulnerability points within companies, and have often been a gateway for attackers and manipulations. Maintenance and administration of existing, historical accounts are difficult due to their number. With Password Discovery & Reset, MATESO now provides two tools to protect these usual attack targets. Password Discovery creates a list of accounts, which are registered directly within Password Safe, by scanning the existing network structures. These accesses can then be automatically reset by means of password reset for service accounts, Active Directory access points, or Windows and MSSQL users at freely definable time periods.

SSO, logging and reporting

Single Sign On (SSO) is an integral part of corporate software configurations. With the help of the newly designed SSO agent, automatic login to websites is intuitive and easy to perform. Connections via RDP or SSH can also be automated without any problems. A special feature of Password Safe is that passwords for these access points can always be hidden from users by means of password masking. Security-critical applications, in particular, can be additionally secured by the double-check principle of the sealing system. Obviously, traceability of changes through logs and history is always possible. Documents can also be maintained in the database and archived by the integrated version management for logging and eventual restoration. Password Safe v8 also provides a granularly definable tool for security audits with the fully automated reporting system.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Versionshistorie

Die aktuellen Patchnotes sind stets unter folgendem Link abrufbar.

Ein wesentlicher Grundpfeiler…

…des nie aufkommenden Stillstandes sind die stetigen Rückmeldungen unserer Kunden, welche uns durch Lob einerseits unseren richtigen Kurs bestätigt haben und uns anderseits durch die Äußerung von Wünschen und Anregungen tagtäglich zur kundenorientierten Weiterentwicklung unserer Produkte motivieren. Wir möchten uns hiermit für Ihr Feedback bedanken und Ihnen in Form von Password Safe Version 8 die folgenden Features ankündigen:

  • Komplett überarbeitetes, intuitives Bedienkonzept
  • Frei konfigurierbare Dashboards für den täglichen Überblick
  • Neu entwickelte SSO-Engine für die Anmeldung an Anwendungen und Webseiten
  • Neue moderne Addons für Browser
  • Native RDP und SSH Integration
  • Fortschrittliches Tag-System zur optimalen Klassifizierung Ihrer Daten
  • Individuell anpassbare Suchfilter inkl. Volltextsuche
  • Signifikante Leistungssteigerung durch die neu entwickelte Stateless Multi-Tier-Architektur
  • Ende-zu-Ende Verschlüsselung (E2EE)
  • Verwaltung privilegierter Accounts inkl. Password Reset und Password Discovery
  • Maximale Verschlüsselung durch synchrone und asynchrone Verfahren
  • Mehr-Faktor-Authentifizierung
  • Rechte bis auf Datensatzebene inkl. temporärer Freigaben
  • Umfangreiches Reporting für Audits
  • U.v.m

Berechtigungsadministration als Basis

Berechtigungsadministration auf Basis von Rollen und Organisationsstrukturen ist eines der zentralen Themen in Password Safe Version 8. Ziel ist es, die in einem Unternehmen existierenden Hierarchien innerhalb des Rollenkonzepts einwandfrei und lückenlos abzubilden. Durch einen Abgleich mit dem Active Directory können bereits bestehende Strukturen importiert und bei Bedarf angepasst werden. Sowohl Benutzerinformationen als auch Gruppenzugehörigkeiten werden somit direkt aus dem Microsoft Verzeichnisdienst übernommen. Optional unterbindet Ende-zu-Ende Verschlüsselung (E2EE), dass private Benutzerschlüssel zum Server übermittelt werden, was zumindest theoretisch einen Angriffspunkt darstellen kann.

Mit Hilfe des ausgeklügelten Berechtigungskonzepts ist sichergestellt, dass jede Benutzergruppe, bzw. Abteilung, stets nur Zugang zu denjenigen Passwörtern erhält, auf die diese auch berechtigt sein sollen. Gestützt durch Assistenten, Rechtepresets sowie intuitiv gestaltete Vererbungsmethoden trägt man den Anforderungen hierarchisch verschachtelter Benutzerstrukturen in Großunternehmen und Konzernen Rechnung.

Privilegiertes Passwortmanagement

Service Accounts und administrative Zugänge mit weitreichenden Berechtigungen sind stets die zentralen Schwachstellen in Unternehmen und waren in der Vergangenheit vermehrt Einfallstor für Angreifer und Manipulationen. Aufgrund der Masse an existierenden, historisch gewachsenen Accounts, gestaltet sich deren Wartung und Verwaltung als durchwegs schwierig. Mit Password Discovery & Reset liefert MATESO nun zwei Werkzeuge zum Schutz dieser beliebten Angriffsziele. Password Discovery erstellt mittels Scan der vorhandenen Netzwerkstrukturen eine Liste an Accounts, welche direkt innerhalb des Password Safe erfasst werden. Diese Zugänge können daraufhin mit Hilfe von Password Reset bei Dienstkonten, Active Directory Zugängen oder auch Windows- und MSSQL-Benutzern nach frei definierbaren Zeiträumen automatisch neu gesetzt werden.

SSO, Protokollierung und Reporting

Single Sign On (SSO) ist aus Firmenlandschaften nicht mehr wegzudenken. Mit Hilfe des neu konzipierten SSO-Agents ist die automatische Anmeldung an Websites intuitiv und einfach durchführbar. Auch Verbindungen über RDP oder SSH können problemlos automatisiert werden. Eine Besonderheit des Password Safe ist es, dass Passwörter für diese Zugänge stets durch eine Sichtsperre den Benutzern vorenthalten werden können. Besonders sicherheitskritische Anmeldungen können durch das Mehr-Augen-Prinzip des Siegelsystems zusätzlich abgesichert werden. Selbstverständlich ist Nachvollziehbarkeit von Änderungen durch Logs und Historie jederzeit gegeben. Auch Dokumente können in der Datenbank gepflegt und durch die integrierte Versionsverwaltung zwecks Protokollierung und eventueller Wiederherstellung archiviert werden. Password Safe v8 liefert mit dem vollkommen automatisierbaren Reporting-System zudem ein granular definierbares Werkzeug für Sicherheitsaudits.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.