What are active directory profiles?

The connection to Active Directory (AD) is established via so-called AD profiles. These profiles contain all of the information relevant for establishing a connection to AD and enable imports/synchronization of users, organisational units or roles. To connect to various different ADs, it is naturally also possible to create multiple AD profiles.

Two import modes in comparison

When importing from Active Directory, Password Safe distinguishes between two modes, which differ significantly and are explained in separate sections.

In principle, the two variants differ by the presence of the encryption mentioned above. In the solution with active end-to-end encryption (E2EE), the process may be less convenient (see table) but there is a huge benefit in terms of security. In Master Key mode, a master key is created on the server that has full permissions for all users, organisational units and roles. This represents an additional attack vector, which does not exist in end-to-end mode. In return, however, in Master Key mode, users can be updated via synchronization with the Active Directory. Memberships of organisational units and roles are also imported. In the more secure end-to-end mode, this synchronization of the changes must be carried out manually.

Comparison of the modes End-to-end mode Master key mode
End-to-end encryption* + -
Importing user information + +
Importing assigned roles - +
Importing roles to organisational units - +
Synchronizing user information - +
Synchronizing assigned roles - +
Synchronizing roles with organisational units - +
User can be edited in Password Safe + -
Organization unit can be edited in Password Safe + -
Roles can be edited in Password Safe + -
Password can be edited in Password Safe + -
Login with domain password - +
Password Safe is the leading system + -
Active Directory is the leading system - +
Autologin + +

As can be seen E2EE offers the highest level of security. The aim is merely to import users, organisational units and roles. Those must be administered and configured in Password Safe. In contrast, a connection in Master Key mode offers the highest level of convenience. It imports not only users, organisational units and roles but also their links and assignments. Synchronization with Active Directory is possible – The AD is used as the leading system.

Users, groups and roles

When importing or synchronizing from Active Directory, users are also added as users in Password Safe. Password Safe also uses the organisational units as such.

In order for Password Safe to be quickly integrated into the given infrastructure, roles can also be directly imported from the Active Directory. Namely Active Directory Groups are used to password-safe roles.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was sind Active Directory Profile?

Die Anbindung an das Active Directory (AD) wird über sogenannte AD-Profile gewährleistet. Diese enthalten alle notwendigen Informationen für den Verbindungsaufbau und ermöglichen den Import sowie die Synchronisation von Benutzern, Organisationseinheiten und Rollen. Um unterschiedliche ADs anzusprechen, können selbstverständlich auch mehrere AD-Profile erstellt werden.

Zwei Import Modi im Vergleich

Password Safe unterscheidet beim Import aus dem Active Directory zwischen zwei Modi, die sich signifikant unterscheiden.

In der Lösung mit aktiver Ende zu Ende Verschlüsselung (E2EE) muss zwar auf Komfort verzichtet werden (s. Tabelle), der Gewinn an Sicherheit ist jedoch immens. Im Master Key Modus wird am Server ein Master Key (hierbei handelt es sich um ein Zertifikat, siehe auch Master Key Zertifikate) erstellt. Dieser Schlüssel wird auf alle Benutzer, Organisationseinheiten und Rollen voll berechtigt. Dies stellt einen zusätzlichen Angriffsvektor dar, der im Ende zu Ende Modus nicht gegeben ist. Im Gegenzug können Sie jedoch im Master Key Modus die Benutzer über die Synchronisation mit dem Active Directory aktualisieren. Ebenso werden Zugehörigkeiten zu Organisationseinheiten und Rollen importiert. Im sichereren Ende zu Ende Modus müssen Sie den Abgleich solcher Änderungen manuell durchführen.

Vergleich der Modi Ende zu Ende Modus Master Key Modus
Ende zu Ende Verschlüsselung* + -
Import von Benutzerinformationn + +
Import von Rollenzugehörigkeiten - +
Import von Zugehörigkeiten zu Organisationseinheiten - +
Synchronisation von Benutzerinformationen - +
Synchronisation von Rollenzugehörigkeiten - +
Synchronisation von Zugehörigkeiten zu Organisationseinheiten - +
Benutzer kann in Password Safe bearbeitet werden + -
Organisationseinheit kann in Password Safe bearbeitet werden + -
Rollen können in Password Safe bearbeitet werden + -
Passwort kann in Password Safe geändert werden + -
Anmeldung mit dem Domänenkennwort - +
Password Safe ist das führende System + -
Active Directory ist das führende System - +
Autologin + +

Wie man sieht, bietet E2EE die höchstmögliche Sicherheit. Das Ziel ist der Import von Benutzern, Organisationseinheiten und Rollen. Deren Verwaltung und Konfiguration erfolgt komplett im Password Safe. Im Gegensatz hierzu ermöglicht Ihnen die Anbindung im Master Key Modus den größtmöglichen Komfort. Sie können darüber nicht nur Benutzer, Organisationseinheiten und Rollen, sondern auch deren Verknüpfungen bzw. Zugehörigkeiten importieren. Eine Synchronisation mit dem Active Directory ist möglich – Das AD wird als führendes System verwendet.

Benutzer, Gruppen und Rollen

Beim Import bzw. der Synchronisation aus dem Active Directory werden die Benutzer ebenso als Benutzer in Password Safe angelegt. Auch die Organisationseinheiten werden in Password Safe als solche verwendet.

Um Password Safe schnell in eine bestehende Struktur zu integrieren, können Sie auch Rollen aus dem Active Directory importieren. Hier gilt, dass Active Directory Gruppen zu Password Safe Rollen werden.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.