What are applications?

Applications can be used to configure automated logins to various systems. Especially when combined with various protective mechanisms, the company thus benefits in terms of security because complex passwords are automated and entered in the login masks in concealed form for the user. Various types are available, such as Remote Desktop (RDP), Secure Shell (SSH), general applications (SSO) and web applications. The Single Sign On Engine offers countless configuration options to enable automatic logon to almost any kind of software. The configuration of Masking is explained in a similar way to the other modules in one place.

The four types of applications

Password Safe varies between four different types of applications: RDP, SSH, SSO and web applications.

In terms of how they are handled, RDP and SSH applications can be covered together. Both types of application can be (optionally) “embedded” in Password Safe. The relevant session then opens in its own tab in the reading pane. All other forms of automatic logins are summarised in the SSO applications and web applications categories. How exactly these logins are created and used is covered in the next section and in the ‘web applications”:https://help.passwordsafe.de/v8/1/en/topic/anwendungen-erfassen chapter. They include all forms of Windows login masks and also applications for websites. In contrast to RDP and SSH applications, they cannot be started embedded in Password Safe but are instead opened as usual in their own window. These SSO applications need to be defined once in advance. In Password Safe, this is also described as learning the applications. In contrast, RDP and SSH can be both completely defined and also started within Password Safe.

RDP and SSH

A new RDP/SSH application can be created via the ribbon or also the context menu that is accessed using the right mouse button. A corresponding form opens in each case where the variables for a connection can be defined.

These variables also correspond precisely to those (using the example of RDP here) that can be configured when creating an RDP connection via “mstsc”. Whether the connections should be started in a tab, full screen mode or in a window can be defined in the field “window mode”.

Working with RDP and SSH applications

If you have created e.g. an RDP connection, this can now also be directly started via the ribbon. The connection to the desired session can be established via the icon Establish RDP connection.

Password Safe now attempts to log in to the target system with the information available. Data that are not saved in the form will be directly requested when opening the session. It is thus also possible to only enter the IP address and/or the password after starting the Password Safe application. If all data has been retrieved, the RDP session will open in a tab – if so defined (Window mode field in the application):

Logging in via SSH certificates

It is also possible to complete the authentication process using SSH certificates. For this purpose, the certificate is saved as a document in .ppk format. (It may be necessary to firstly approve this file ending in the settings). The document is then linked to the record via the footer. The record does not need to have a password. However, it is necessary for the record to be linked to a SSH application.

Linking records and applications

The application defines the requirements for the desired connection and also optionally for the target system. By linking records with applications, the complete login process can be automated. If the record now also supplies the user name and password, all of the information required for the login is available. Applications and records are linked via the “Start” tab in the ribbon. If this link to a record is established, a 1-click login to the target system is possible.

The following example illustrates this process using an RDP connection:

A record can also be linked to multiple target systems in this manner. The user name and record are supplied by the record, while all other information necessary for the login is supplied by the different applications. In the following example, a record (user name and password) is linked to multiple access points.

This is generally a very common scenario. Nevertheless, it should be noted that accessing multiple servers with one single password is questionable from a security standpoint. It is generally recommended that a unique password is issued for every server/access point.

Alternatively, it is possible to connect several records with one RDP connection.
In this way, you can combine different users with an RDP connection and register them straightforward.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was sind Anwendungen?

Mithilfe von Anwendungen kann die automatisierte Anmeldung an verschiedenen Systemen konfiguriert werden. Besonders in Kombination mit zusätzlichen Schutzmechanismen profitieren Unternehmen bezüglich ihrer Sicherheit: Komplexe Passwörter werden nun automatisiert und für den Benutzer verdeckt in Anmeldemasken eingefügt. Zur Verfügung stehen hier verschiedenen Typen wie Remote Desktop (RDP), Secure Shell (SSH), allgemeine Anwendungen (SSO) und Web (Web-Anwendungen). Die Single Sign-on Engine bietet unzählige Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten. So kann sich der Nutzer an nahezu jeder Software anmelden. Die Konfiguration der Sichtbarkeit wird an zentraler Stelle erläutert.

Die vier Anwendungsarten

Password Safe unterscheidet vier verschiedene Anwendungsarten: RDP, SSH, SSO & Web-Anwendungen.

In Bezug auf die Handhabung lassen sich RDP- und SSH- Anwendungen gut zusammenfassen. Beide Anwendungstypen können (optional) im Password Safe “embedded” dargestellt werden. Die jeweilige Sitzung öffnet sich demnach in einem eigenen Tab im Lesebereich. Die Kategorien SSO-Anwendungen und Web-Anwendungen fassen alle weiteren Formen der automatisierten Anmeldung zusammen. Wie genau diese erstellt und genutzt werden, behandelt das folgende und das Webanwendungen Kapitel. Hierzu zählen alle Formen von Windows-Anmeldemasken sowie Anwendungen für Websites. Diese werden – im Gegensatz zu RDP und SSH – nicht embedded gestartet, sondern öffnen sich wie gewohnt im eigenen Fenster. Diese SSO-Anwendungen müssen im Vorfeld einmalig definiert werden. Innerhalb von Password Safe spricht man auch vom Anlernen von Anwendungen. Im Gegensatz hierzu können RDP und SSH komplett innerhalb von Password Safe definiert und gestartet werden.

RDP und SSH

Über die Ribbon und über das Kontextmenü der rechten Maustaste wird eine neue RDP-/SSH-Anwendung erstellt. Es erscheint das entsprechende Formular, in dem man die Variablen für eine Verbindung definieren kann.

Diese Variablen entsprechen genau denjenigen, die man (hier am Beispiel RDP) bei der Erstellung einer RDP-Verbindung über “mstsc” konfigurieren kann. Im Fenstermodus wird definiert, ob die Verbindung in einem Tab, im Vollbildmodus oder in einem Fenster gestartet werden soll.

Arbeiten mit RDP- und SSH-Anwendungen

Hat man z.B. eine RDP-Anwendung erstellt, kann diese direkt über die Ribbon gestartet werden. Mit dem Icon RDP-Verbindung herstellen wird die Verbindung zur gewünschten Session aufgebaut.

Password Safe versucht nun, sich mit den verfügbaren Informationen am Zielsystem anzumelden. Nicht im Formular hinterlegte Daten werden direkt beim Öffnen der Session abgefragt. Es ist demnach auch möglich, erst nach dem Starten der Password Safe Anwendung die IP-Adresse und/oder das Passwort anzugeben. Sind alle Daten abgefragt, öffnet sich die RDP-Sitzung in einem Tab – falls definiert (Feld Fenstermodus in der Anwendung):

Anmeldung über SSH-Zertifikate

Es ist ebenfalls möglich, die Authentifizierung über SSH-Zertifikate zu realisieren. Hierfür wird das Zertifikat im Format .ppk als Dokument abgelegt (Eventuell muss die Dateiendung zunächst über die Einstellungen freigegeben werden). Über den Footer wird dann das Dokument mit dem Datensatz verknüpft. Der Datensatz muss kein Passwort enthalten, aber dafür mit einer SSH-Anwendung verknüpft sein.

Verbindung von Datensätzen und Anwendungen

Die Anwendung definiert demnach die Rahmenbedingungen für die angestrebte Verbindung und optional auch das Zielsystem. Durch das Verbinden von Datensätzen mit Anwendungen kann die komplette Anmeldung automatisiert abgebildet werden. Wenn der Datensatz nun auch Benutzername und Passwort liefert, liegen alle für eine Anmeldung erforderlichen Informationen vor. Verknüpft werden Anwendungen und Datensätze über den Reiter “Starten” in der Ribbon. Ist diese Verknüpfung für einen Datensatz hergestellt, ist die 1-Click-Anmeldung am Zielsystem möglich.

Das nachfolgende Beispiel soll dies anhand einer RDP-Verbindung veranschaulichen:

Auf diese Art kann auch ein Datensatz mit mehreren Zielsystemen verknüpft werden. Benutzername und Datensatz werden aus dem Datensatz gespeist. Alle verbleibenden, für die Anmeldung erforderlichen Informationen kommen aus den unterschiedlichen Anwendungen. Im nachfolgenden Beispiel wäre ein Datensatz (Benutzername und Passwort) mit mehreren Zugängen verknüpft.

Dies ist ein in der Regel durchaus verbreitetes Szenario. Dennoch soll darauf hingewiesen werden, dass das Ansprechen mehrere Server mit einem einzigen Passwort sicherheitstechnisch bedenklich ist. Es wird in der Regel empfohlen, für jeden Server/Zugang ein eigenes Passwort zu vergeben.

Alternativ ist es auch möglich, mehrere Datensätze mit einer RDP-Anwendung zu verbinden.
Auf die Art und Weise kann man verschiedene Benutzer mit einer RDP-Verbindung verknüpfen und unkompliziert anmelden.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.