Multi-tier architecture

The structure of Password Safe v8 is based on the principle of multi-tier architecture. This multi-layered design of the individual software components provides the basis for a well thought-out and ground-breaking security concept. The three separately acting layers can each be scaled as needed. As a result, Password Safe v8 can also be used efficiently in companies with very large number of users and sites around the world. If the “end-to-end” encryption is used, data can be encrypted or decrypted also on the clients. This ensures that unencrypted passwords will never exist on the database server or the application server. The “private and public key method” ensures that the private key is always only available to the user. The application server only knows the value of the public key and is thus unable to see the value of the password.

Password Safe version 8 can be set up on small to global system landscapes. Any number of clients, application servers and database servers can be connected within the multi-tier architecture. The use of a fail-safe cluster is recommended for databases in a production system. Microsoft SQL Server can replicate the data to a different data centre, e.g. via WAN. We also recommend providing a separate Windows server in each case.

System landscape

The following overview presents a classic Password Safe system landscape. Version 8 allows use of several database servers across all sites. These are then synchronized with one another using Microsoft standard applications. Any number of application servers can be made available for the client connection. This ensures load distribution, and allows work without significant latency. This technology offers enormous performance advantages, particularly in the case of installations that are spread across worldwide locations.

Client (presentation layer)

The client layer handles the representation of all data and functions, which are provided by the application server.

Application server (business logic)

The application server is entirely responsible for the control of the business logic. This server only ever delivers the data for which the corresponding permissions are available. The multi-tier architecture described at the beginning allows the use of several application servers and ensures efficient load distribution.

Database server (data storage)

Password Safe version 8 uses Microsoft SQL Server to store data due to its widespread use, and its ability to ensure high-performance access even in large and geographically scattered environments. Smaller installations may also use the free SQL Express version.

At least three servers are thus recommended:

  • Database server (MSSQL)
  • Application server (Password Safe services)
  • Web server (IIS)

MSSQL:

  • Port 1433 TCP for communication with application server (incoming)

Server:

  • Port 443 HTTPS for connection to MATESO license server (outgoing)
  • Port 11011 TCP for communication with clients or web server IIS (incoming)
  • Port 11014 TCP for the backup service (usually does not need to be unlocked)
  • Port 11016 TCP for the Web services (incoming; only when using the WebClient)
  • Port 11018 TCP for real-time update (incoming)
  • Port 1433 TCP for communication with SQL Server (outgoing)

Client:

  • Port 11011 TCP for communication with the application server (outgoing)
  • Port 52120 TCP with the add-on (outgoing)

WebClient:

  • Port 443 HTTPS zum Ansprechen des Webservers vom Client (eingehend)
  • Port 11016 zur Kommunikation mit dem Anwendungsserver (ausgehend)
  • Port 11018 für die Echtzeitaktualisierung (ausgehend)

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Multi-Tier-Architektur

Die Struktur von Password Safe v8 basiert auf dem Prinzip der Multi-Tier-Architektur, bei dem die einzelnen Softwarekomponenten mehrschichtig aufgebaut sind. Diese drei separat agierenden Schichten sind beliebig skalierbar. Daher kann Password Safe v8 auf von Konzernen mit sehr vielen Benutzern sowie weltweit verteilten Standorten eingesetzt werden. Dank der “Ende-zu-Ende” Verschlüsselung werden die Daten direkt an den Clients verschlüsselt bzw. entschüsselt. Damit wird sichergestellt, dass am Datenbankserver wie auch am Applikationsserver niemals unverschlüsselte Passwörter vorliegen. Das Private- und Public-Key Verfahren sorgt dafür, dass der private Schlüssel nur dem Benutzer vorliegt. Der Anwendungsserver kennt nur den öffentlichen Schlüssel und kann daher ein Passwort nicht einsehen.

Password Safe in der Version 8 kann in kleinen als auch weltweiten Systemlandschaften betrieben werden: Innerhalb der Multi-Tier-Architektur können beliebig viele Clients, Anwendungsserver und Datenbankserver angebunden werden. Es ist empfehlenswert, die Datenbank im Produktivsystem auf einem ausfallsicheren Cluster zu betreiben. Der Microsoft SQL Server kann die Daten, z.B. via WAN an ein anderes Rechenzentrum replizieren. Ebenso empfehlen wir, jeweils einen separaten Windows Server bereitzustellen.

Systemlandschaft

Folgend sieht man die grafische Darstellung einer klassischen Password Safe Systemlandschaft. In der Version 8 können standortübergreifend mehrere Datenbankserver eingesetzt werden, die dann mit Microsoft Bordmitteln untereinander synchronisiert werden. Für die Client-Verbindung können beliebig viele Anwendungsserver verwendet werden. Dies ermöglicht aufgrund der Lastverteilung Arbeiten ohne Verzögerungen. Besonders bei global aufgespannten Installationen bringt diese Technik enorme Performanzvorteile.

Client (Präsentationsschicht)

Die Client-Schicht übernimmt die Darstellung aller Daten und Funktionen, die vom Applikationsserver bereitgestellt werden.

Applikationsserver (Business Logik)

Der Applikationsserver, auch Anwendungsserver genannt, ist für die gesamte Regulierung der Business-Logik zuständig. Dieser Server liefert stets nur diejenigen Daten aus, für die auch entsprechende Berechtigungen vorliegen. Die Multi-Tier-Architektur ermöglicht den Einsatz mehrerer Applikationsserver und sorgt für ein effiziente Lastverteilung.

Datenbankserver (Datenhaltung)

Aufgrund der weiten Verbreitung sowie der Möglichkeit, auch in großen und räumlich verteilten Umgebungen performanten Zugriff zu bieten, setzt Password Safe in der Version 8 im Hinblick auf die Datenhaltung komplett auf Microsoft SQL Server. Bei kleineren Installationen ist auch der Einsatz der kostenlosen Variante SQL Express möglich.

Empfohlen sind somit mindestens drei Server:

  • Datenbankserver (MSSQL)
  • Anwendungsserver (Password Safe Dienste)
  • Webserver (IIS)

Zusammenfassung aller Portfreigaben:

MSSQL:

  • Port 1433 TCP für die Kommunikation mit dem Anwendungsserver (eingehend)

Server:

  • Port 443 HTTPS zur Verbindung zum MATESO Lizenzserver (ausgehend)
  • Port 11011 TCP zur Kommunikation mit den Clients oder dem Webserver IIS (eingehend)
  • Port 11014 TCP für den Backupdienst (muss in der Regel nicht freigegeben werden)
  • Port 11016 TCP für die Webdienste (eingehend; nur bei Einsatz des WebClients)
  • Port 11018 TCP für die Echtzeitaktualisierung (eingehend)
  • Port 1433 TCP für die Kommunikation mit dem SQL Server (ausgehend)

Client:

  • Port 11011 TCP zur Kommunikation mit dem Anwendungsserver (ausgehend)
  • Port 52120 TCP mit der Browser-Erweiterung (ausgehend)
  • Port 11018 TCP für die Echtzeitaktualisierung (ausgehend)

WebClient:

  • Port 443 HTTPS zum Ansprechen des Webservers vom Client (eingehend)
  • Port 11016 zur Kommunikation mit dem Anwendungsserver (ausgehend)
  • Port 11018 für die Echtzeitaktualisierung (ausgehend)
  • Port 11019 für SAML

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.