What is involved in revealing passwords?

Not all information is encrypted by the MSSQL database in Password Safe for performance reasons. Only the password itself (=secret) is encrypted with the help of the used encryption algorithms and is then saved in the MSSQL database. As access to the MSSQL server is otherwise secured via access permissions, this process enables the maximum possible working speed with a unchanged high level of security through the use of sophisticated, cryptographic methods. Revealing passwords describes the mechanism by which a password is made visible to the user in the client. This process for dealing with passwords very precisely reflects the importance of data security in Password Safe – and this process will thus be described in detail below.

Example case

The record “Blogger” has been saved in the database and is visible to the logged-in user. It can thus be deduced that the user has at least a read right for the record. As can be gathered from the authorization concept, the user thus also generally has a read right to the password itself. This means the user can view the value of the password using the “reveal” function.

Revealing passwords – diagram

In this context, it is important to note that the word “reveal” does not really accurately describe this process. It creates the incorrect impression that the client already has the password and only needs to reveal it. However, the processes running in the background until the password are revealed are much more complex and will thus be described below.

1. Saving the password on the server

Even though you would assume the opposite, at the start a masked password (******) is neither available on the client nor the server in plain text! The password is stored as part of the MSSQL database in a hybrid encrypted state via the two methods AES 256 and RSA 4096. Accordingly, it is not currently possible either on the server or the client to view the password. If you mark a record, the password is not available at all on the client and is encrypted on the server before it is revealed.

2. The encrypted password is requested

Pressing the “reveal”- button triggers the process for requesting the password. A request is sent to the server to apply for the encrypted password to be released. The server itself does not possess the required key (private key) to decrypt the password. Therefore, it can only deliver the encrypted value.

3. Checking the permissions

Whether the request sent in step 2 is approved is defined in the authorization concept. Once the request has been received, the server checks whether the user possess the required rights. It also checks the possible existence of other security mechanisms such as a seal or password masking. If the necessary requirements for releasing the password have been met, the server now sends the encrypted password. In the same step, a log file entry is saved that documents the user’s access to the password.

4. Decrypting the password on the client

The user now has the encrypted password which has been delivered by the server. The user himself possesses the private key required for decrypting the password and can now view the actual password.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Worum geht es beim Aufdecken von Passwörtern?

Das Aufdecken von Passwörtern beschreibt den Mechanismus, bei dem ein Passwort im Client dem Benutzer sichtbar gemacht wird. Aus Performanzgründen wird lediglich das Passwort selbst (=secret) mit Hilfe der genutzten Verschlüsselungsalgorithmen im Client verschlüsselt und schlussendlich in der MSSQL-Datenbank abgelegt. Da der Zugang zum MSSQL-Server selbst auch anderweitig über Zugriffsberechtigungen abgesichert ist, ermöglicht dieses Vorgehen maximales Arbeitstempo. Nachfolgend wird die Funktionsweise detailliert beschrieben.

Fallbeispiel

Der Datensatz “Blogger” ist in der Datenbank gespeichert und vom angemeldeten Benutzer einsehbar. Der Benutzer ist somit zumindest lesend auf den Datensatz berechtigt. Gemäß Berechtigungskonzept hat der Benutzer somit auch Leserecht auf das Passwort selbst. Dies bedeutet, er kann über die Funktion “Aufdecken” das Passwort im Klartext sehen.

Aufdecken von Passwörtern – Schaubild

Wichtig ist in diesem Zusammenhang, dass das Wort “Aufdecken” dem Prozess nicht wirklich gerecht wird. Dies assoziiert fälschlicherweise, dass das Passwort dem Client bereits vorliegt und es nur noch angezeigt werden muss. Der im Hintergrund ablaufende Prozess bis zum Anzeigen des Passwortes ist jedoch bei weitem komplexer.

1. Aufbewahrung des Passwortes am Server

Auch wenn Sie es vermuten…ein verdecktes Passwort (******) liegt in der Ausgangssituation weder dem Client noch dem Server im Klartext vor! Durch den Einsatz der beiden Verfahren AES 256 sowie RSA 4096 wird das Passwort hybridverschlüsselt in der MSSQL-Datenbank aufbewahrt. Markiert man also einen Datensatz, ist das Passwort vor dem Aufdecken am Client noch gar nicht vorhanden, serverseitig ist es verschlüsselt gespeichert.

2. Verschlüsseltes Passwort wird angefragt

Der Auslöser für die Anfrage des Passwortes ist das Betätigen des “Aufdecken”-Buttons. Es wird eine Anfrage an den Server gesendet, indem die Freigabe des verschlüsselten Passwortes beantragt wird. Der Server selbst besitzt den nötigen Schlüssel (private Key) zum Entschlüsseln nicht. Er kann demnach nur den verschlüsselten Wert liefern.

3. Prüfung der Berechtigungen

Ob eine wie unter 2. gestellte Anfrage eine Freigabe erhält, wird im Berechtigungskonzept definiert. Nach dem Eingang der Anfrage prüft der Server, ob der Benutzer die nötigen Rechte besitzt. Auch das Vorhandensein eventuell angebrachter Sicherheitsmechanismen, wie zum Beispiel eines Siegels oder dem Sichtschutz, werden geprüft. Erfüllt der Benutzer die für eine Freigabe nötigen Anforderungen, versendet der Server nun das verschlüsselte Passwort. Im gleichen Arbeitsschritt erfolgt ein Logfile-Eintrag, der den Zugriff des Benutzers auf das Passwort dokumentiert.

4. Entschlüsseln des Passwortes am Client

Der Benutzer besitzt nun das verschlüsselte Passwort, welches vom Server geliefert wurde. Der Benutzer selbst ist im Besitz des zur Entschlüsselung notwendigen privaten Schlüssels und kann nun den tatsächlichen Wert des Passwortes einsehen.

Abtipphilfe

Um ein Passwortfeld besser einsehen bzw. abtippen zu können, müssen Sie den Pfeil hinten am Passwortfeld aufklappen. Daraufhin können Sie die Abtipphilfe öffnen:

Dadurch werden Passwörter groß und gut lesbar dargestellt:

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.