What are dashboards and widgets?

In case of large installations, the amount of information provided by Password Safe may seem overwhelming. Dashboards expand the existing filter possibilities by an arbitrarily customizable info area, which visually prepares important events or facts.

Dashboards are available in almost all client modules. A separate dashboard can be set for each individual module. Widgets correspond to the individual modules of the dashboard. There are various widgets, which can be individually defined and can be configured separately. In the above example, three widgets are enabled and provide information about current notifications, password quality, and user activity. The * maximum number of possible widgets * is managed in the user settings.

Relevant settings

The following options are available in combination with the dashboard and widgets.

Settings

  • Display dashboard on startup
  • Display module names on dashboard
  • Number of allowed widgets
  • Display remaining amount of data in the widget

Adding and removing widgets

If the dashboard tab is enabled, you can enable the dashboard editing mode via the ribbon. Adding and editing widgets is only possible in this mode.

Use the drop-down menu to select the widget to be added * (1) . Then add the widget to the dashboard using the corresponding button in the ribbon *(2). The maximum number of widgets that can be added can be configured in the user settings. In editing mode, any widget can be directly removed from the dashboard via the button on the upper right edge. The processing mode is ended by saving via the ribbon.

Customizing widgets

In the editing mode, you can customize each widget separately. To do this, select the widget and switch to the * widget content tab * in the ribbon.

Separate variables can be customized for each widget. This example shows how often users have had passwords displayed. Naturally, the variables are distinct for each widget since other information could be relevant.

Widget event

You can select the Widget Event option in the ribbon. This activates the interaction of the widgets. In the following example, this feature was enabled for the Activity widget. As a result, the dashboard not only displays all activities, but also filters them according to the user selected in the Team List widget. It therefore concerns all activities of the user “Moore”. These are filtered “live” and displayed in real-time.

Arranging widgets

In the edit mode, the layout of the widgets is user-defined. Drag & drop allows you to place a widget in the corresponding position on the dashboard (left, right, top, or bottom).

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was sind Dashboard und Widgets?

Dashboards erweitern die vorhandenen Filtermöglichkeiten um einen beliebig anpassbaren Info-Bereich, der visuell wichtige Ereignisse oder Fakten aufbereitet.

Dashboards sind in fast allen Client Modulen verfügbar. Für jedes einzelne Modul können Sie ein eigenes Dashboard festlegen. Widgets entsprechen den einzelnen Modulen des Dashboards. Es existieren diverse Widgets, die komplett individuell definierbar und auch separat konfigurierbar sind. Im obigen Beispiel sind drei Widgets aktiviert und stellen Informationen über aktuelle Benachrichtigungen, Passwortqualität sowie Benutzeraktivität grafisch dar. Die maximale Anzahl der möglichen Widgets wird in den Benutzereinstellungen verwaltet.

Relevante Einstellungen

Folgende Optionen stehen im Zusammenhang mit Dashboard und Widgets zur Verfügung.

Einstellungen

  • Dashboard beim Start anzeigen
  • Modulnamen in Dashboard anzeigen
  • Anzahl der erlaubten Widgets
  • Restanzahl der Daten im Widget anzeigen

Hinzufügen und Entfernen von Widgets

Bei aktiviertem Dashboard-Tab können Sie über die Ribbon den Bearbeitungsmodus für Dashboards aktivieren. Hier können Sie Widgets hinzufügen sowie bearbeiten.

Über das Dropdown Menü wählen Sie ein Widget aus. (1). Über den entsprechenden Button in der Ribbon (2) wird daraufhin das Widget dem Dashboard hinzugefügt. Die maximale Anzahl an Widgets, die hinzugefügt werden können, können Sie in den Benutzereinstellungen konfigurieren. Im Bearbeitungsmodus können Sie jedes Widget auch wieder über die Schaltfläche am rechten oberen Rand entfernen. Beendet wird der Bearbeitungsmodus durch Speichern über die Ribbon.

Anpassen von Widgets

Im Bearbeitungsmodus können Sie jedes Widget separat anpassen. Markieren Sie hierfür das Widget und wechseln Sie in der Ribbon in das sich öffnende Widget-Content-Tab.

Für jedes Widget sind hier separate Variablen anpassbar. Im vorliegenden Beispiel wird angezeigt, wie oft sich Benutzer Passwörter angezeigt haben. Die Variablen sind natürlich je Widget individuell, da jeweils andere Informationen relevant sein können.

Widget Event

In der Ribbon können Sie die Option Widget Event auswählen. Hierdurch aktivieren Sie die Interaktion der Widgets untereinander. In nachfolgendem Beispiel wurde dieses Feature für das Widget “Aktivität” aktiviert. Dies hat zur Folge, dass das Dashboard nicht nur alle Aktivitäten anzeigt, sondern diese auch nach dem im Widget Teamliste ausgewählten Benutzer filtert. Es handelt sich demnach um alle Aktivitäten des Benutzers “Moore”. Diese werden “live” gefiltert und in Echtzeit angezeigt.

Anordnung der Widgets

Im Bearbeitungsmodus ist die Anordnung der Widgets frei definierbar. Durch Drag & Drop können Sie ein Widget an den dementsprechenden Positionen (links, rechts, oben, unten) innerhalb des Dashboards positionieren.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.