The problem

Service accounts are used on most networks. These accounts are used, for example, to carry out certain services. It is not uncommon for one and the same password to be used here for multiple accounts. Manually changing these passwords is extremely time consuming. Therefore, this process is often ignored for reasons of convenience.

The result is that the same outdated passwords are often used for many security-critical access points. This naturally represents a severe security risk. and leaves the door wide open for any attacker who gains access to just one of the passwords!

The solution

Password Safe offers the solution to this problem: The security of the network can be significantly increased using a combination of Discovery Service and Password Reset. The complete network can be scanned with the aid of Discovery Service. This process searches for both local user accounts and also Active Directory users. In addition, Password Resets are also established via which the passwords for the accounts discovered during the search can be reset.

Functionality

The Discovery Service process can be split into three logical steps:

  1. A Discovery Service Task is added that searches for data on the network. This can be executed once or cyclically and runs in the background.
  2. After the task has been executed successfully, the data discovered during the search is displayed in the Discovery Service module (e.g. Windows users, services, etc.).
  3. Passwords or Password Resets can then be generated from the data discovered during the search.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Das Problem

In den meisten Netzwerken kommen sogenannte Service Accounts zum Einsatz. Diese werden beispielsweise verwendet, um Dienste auszuführen. Nicht selten wird hierbei für mehrere Accounts ein und dasselbe Passwort eingesetzt. Das manuelle Ändern dieser Passwörter gestaltet sich als extrem aufwendig. Deswegen wird aus Bequemlichkeit oft darauf verzichtet.

Das Resultat ist, dass oftmals für viele sicherheitskritische Zugänge die gleichen veralteten Passwörter verwendet werden. Dies stellt natürlich ein extremes Sicherheitsrisiko dar. Einem Angreifer sind Tür und Tor geöffnet, wenn er an nur eines der Passwörter gelangt!

Die Lösung

Password Safe bietet die Lösung dieses Problems: Denn durch die Kombination aus Discovery Service und Password Reset wird die Sicherheit im Netzwerk signifikant erhöht. Mit Hilfe des Discovery Service kann das komplette Netzwerk gescannt werden. Dabei wird sowohl nach lokalen Benutzerkonten als auch nach Active Directory Benutzern gesucht. Zudem werden auch Password Resets ermittelt, über die Passwörter der gefundenen Accounts zurückgesetzt werden können.

Funktionsweise

Der Ablauf des Discovery Service kann in drei logische Schritte aufgeteilt werden:

  1. Es wird ein Discovery Service Task angelegt, der die Daten im Netzwerk ermittelt. Dieser kann einmalig oder auch zyklisch ausgeführt werden und läuft im Hintergrund.
  2. Die gefundenen Daten werden nach erfolgreichem Lauf im Discovery Service Modul angezeigt (z.B. Windows Benutzer, Dienste, etc.).
  3. Aus den gefundenen Daten können schlussendlich Passwörter oder Password Resets erzeugt werden.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.