What does creating new passwords/records mean?

Saving a record/password stores information in the MSSQL database. This process is started in the Passwords module for the client. It is accessed either via the icon in the ribbon, using the keyboard shortcut “CTRL + N” or via the context menu that is accessed using the right mouse button in list view. The next step is to select a suitable form that will open in a modal window.

Requirements

The following 2 user rights are required:

  • Can add new passwords
  • Display password module

Selecting a form

When creating a new record, it is possible to select from all the forms for which the logged-in user has the required permissions. To make the selection process as easy as possible, a preview of the form fields included in the form is shown on the right hand side.

In this example, you can see that the “Password” form marked on the left contains three form fields “Name”, “User name” and “Password”. Forms thus act as templates according to which their information is saved. (Management of the forms including issuing permissions and editing existing forms is covered in a separate section)

Entering data

The window for creating a new record always open in a separate tab. As can be seen below, the corresponding form fields for the previously selected form can now be filled. Password fields deserve special mention here because they can be handled differently based on password rules. The record can be saved via the ribbon when all fields have been filled.

Validity and tags

Irrespective of the selected form, it is always possible to define the validity and tags for a record. Both values are optional.

  • The validity defines an end date until which the record is valid. This information can be evaluated e.g. in the logbook or in reports. It is thus possible to create a list of all expired passwords for a user or an authorized entity. However, it is not possible to limit the usability of expired passwords for security reasons.
  • Tags are freely definable properties of records that can be used as search criteria. This also allows thematically linked information to be grouped together. More…

Setting permissions for new records

In principle, there are various approaches for setting permissions for newly created records. All of them have already been described in the Authorization concept section. It is important to note here that manual setting of permissions is only possible after saving a record. Automatic permissions are set before the record is saved. In this context, the selection of the organisational structure and the permissions for a record are important aspects.

  • Manual setting of permissions: If you want to manually set permissions for the record, select the organisational structure in which the record should be saved. After saving the record, the permissions can be manually amended via the permissions tab in the ribbon. If you only want to create a personal record for which no other user will receive permissions, simply select your own organisational structure and conclude the process with “save” via the ribbon.
  • Automatic setting of permissions: Automatic setting of permissions is carried out before the record is saved. Irrespective of whether predefined rights or rights inheritance is being used, the configuration is always carried out in the organisational structure or permissions area. Saving the record thus completes the process for creating the password including the issuing of permissions.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was versteht man unter dem Erstellen neuer Passwörter/Datensätze?

Das Speichern eines Datensatzes/Passwortes hat zum Ziel, Informationen in der MSSQL-Datenbank abzulegen. Gestartet wird dieser Vorgang im Client Modul Passwörter. Entweder nutzen Sie das Icon in der Ribbon, das Tastenkürzel “STRG + N” oder das Kontextmenü der rechten Maustaste in der Listenansicht. Der nächste Schritt ist die Auswahl eines geeigneten Formulars, welches sich in einem neuen Fenster öffnet.

Voraussetzungen

Sie benötigen folgende 2 Benutzerrechte:

  • Kann neue Passwörter anlegen
  • Passwortmodul anzeigen

Formularauswahl

Bei der Erstellung eines neuen Datensatzes können Sie unter all denjenigen Formularen auswählen, auf welche der angemeldete Benutzer berechtigt ist. Um die Auswahl so einfach wie möglich zu gestalten, ist auf der rechten Seite eine Vorschau zu sehen.

Im vorliegenden Beispiel sieht man, dass das links markierte Formular “Passwort” die drei Formularfelder “Name”, “Benutzername” sowie “Passwort” enthält. Formulare stellen somit die Schablonen dar, gemäß derer Informationen abgespeichert werden sollen. (Die Verwaltung inkl. Berechtigung und Bearbeitung der vorhandenen Formulare ist in einem separaten Kapitel erläutert).

Eintragen der Daten

Das Fenster für die Erstellung eines neuen Datensatzes öffnet sich stets in einem separaten Tab. Wie nachfolgend zu sehen ist, können Sie nun gemäß des zuvor ausgewählten Formulars die dementsprechenden Formularfelder befüllen. Besonders zu erwähnen sind hier Passwortfelder, welche Sie im Zuge von Passwortrichtlinien unterschiedlich handhaben. Speichern Sie nach dem Befüllen aller Felder über die Ribbon.

Gültigkeit und Tags

Unabhängig vom ausgewählten Formular definieren Sie für jeden Datensatz stets eine Gültigkeit und Tags. Beide Werte sind optional.

  • Die Gültigkeit legt ein Enddatum fest, bis zu welchem der Datensatz gültig sein soll. Diese Informationen können zum Beispiel im Logbuch, bzw. in Berichten ausgewertet werden. Eine Auflistung aller abgelaufenen Passwörter an einen Benutzer, oder an weisungsbefugte Instanzen, ist somit gegeben. Dennoch können Sie die Nutzbarkeit abgelaufener Passwörter aus Sicherheitsgründen nicht eingeschränken.
  • Tags sind frei definierbare Merkmale von Datensätzen, welche als Suchkriterium genutzt werden können. Auf diese Art und Weise können thematisch zusammenhängende Informationen auch gruppiert werden. Mehr…

Festlegen von Berechtigungen bei neuen Datensätzen

Es gibt grundsätzlich mehrere Ansätze, welche man beim Berechtigen neu erstellter Datensätze verfolgen kann. Alle sind bereits im Kapitel Berechtigungskonzept beschrieben. Wichtig hierbei ist, dass das manuelle Berechtigen erst nach dem Speichern eines Datensatzes möglich ist. Die automatisch festzulegenden Berechtigungen definieren Sie vor dem Speichern. Wichtig ist in diesem Zusammenhang die Auswahl der Organisationsstruktur sowie die Berechtigungen eines Datensatzes.

  • Manuelles Berechtigen: Wählen Sie beim manuellen Berechtigen die Organisationsstruktur aus, in die der Datensatz abgelegt werden soll. Nach dem Speichern können Sie über den Reiter Berechtigungen in der Ribbon manuell die Berechtigungen anpassen. Falls Sie einen persönlichen Datensatz erstellen, auf den kein weiterer Benutzer berechtigt sein soll, wählen Sie die eigene Organisationsstruktur aus.
  • Automatisches Berechtigen: Das automatische Berechtigen von Datensätzen geschieht vor dem Speichern. Egal ob Sie vordefinierte Rechte oder Rechtevererbung nutzen: Die Konfiguration erfolgt stets im Bereich Organisationsstruktur, bzw. Berechtigungen. Das Speichern des Datensatzes schließt somit die Erstellung des Passwortes inkl. der Vergabe von Berechtigungen ab.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.