What are user settings?

There are many functions within Password Safe that can be adapted to the needs of users. It is also possible to define various parameters for optical representations. This can be inherited both at * user level *, * global * and * organisational units *. In addition, there is a security level concept, which categorizes the users into five layers. The administration of settings can thus be linked to the presence of the required security level.

Managing user settings

You can configure user settings similarly to user rights. Here too, there are a total of three possibilities with which a user can define his settings or be configured from another location. For the sake of easy manageability, it is again a good idea to configure the users not individually, but to provide several equal users with settings.

The focus is always on the user, also when it comes to user rights. It can obtain its settings in one of the following three ways:

  1. Personal settings only apply to a specific user. These are always configured via the organisational structure module.
  2. Settings for organisational structures apply to all members of a role, and are specified in the organisational structure module
  3. Global settings apply to all users of a database without exception. You can configure them in the client settings.

Inheritance of user settings

If you leave the personal settings on the outside, there are two ways to inherit settings:

  1. Global inheritance
  2. Inheritance on the basis of membership in organisational units (OU)

Global settings are configured as usual in the client settings. The organisational units are inherited via the organisational structure module. All users who are assigned to an organisational unit inherit all user settings for this OU. In the present case, the users “Jones” and “Moore” inherit all settings from the “IT” organisational unit:

The “Settings” button in the ribbon allows you to see the settings for both organisational units and users. The many setting options can be restricted by the known search mechanisms.

The diagram shows the settings for the user “Jones”. The search has been filtered by the term “Detail”. The column “Inherited from” shows that some settings have been inherited globally, or by the organisational unit “IT”. The top two options have no value in the column. This is because this parameter has been defined at user level.

Security levels

Option groups were created in the global settings to ensure that users can control only those settings for which they hold permissions. Categorising security levels from 1 to 5 allows you to combine similar options and thus make them available to the users.

The user rights define who has the required permissions to change which security levels. As with all rights, this is achieved either through global inheritance, the role, or as a right granted directly to the user.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was sind Benutzereinstellungen

Sie können in Password Safe zahlreiche Funktionen an die Bedürfnisse von Benutzern anpassen. Auch die Darstellungen der Software kann konfiguriert werden. Diese Einstellungen können in mehreren Stufen vererbt werden. Darüber hinaus gibt es das Konzept von Sicherheitsstufen, über welches Sie Benutzer in fünf verschiedene Kategorien einordnen können. Die Verwaltung von Einstellungen kann somit granular definiert werden.

Verwaltung von Benutzereinstellungen

Die Konfiguration der Benutzereinstellungen ähnelt dem Vorgehen bei den Benutzerrechten. Auch hier gibt es drei Möglichkeiten, mit denen ein Benutzer seine Einstellungen definieren kann, bzw. von anderer Stelle konfiguriert bekommt. Es bietet sich an die User nicht einzeln zu konfigurieren, sondern mehrere gleichberechtigte Benutzer zusammenfassend mit Einstellungen zu versehen.

Der Benutzer erhält seine Einstellungen über einen der drei folgenden Wege:

  1. Persönliche Einstellungen gelten immer nur für einen bestimmten Benutzer. Sie konfigurieren diese über das Modul Organisationsstruktur.
  2. Einstellungen über Organisationseinheiten gelten für alle Mitglieder einer Organisationseinheit und werden im Modul Organisationsstruktur definiert.
  3. Globale Einstellungen gelten für alle Benutzer einer Datenbank. Die Konfiguration hierfür wird in den * Einstellungen* vorgenommen.

Vererbung von Benutzereinstellungen

Lässt man die personenbezogenen Einstellungen außen vor, bleiben zwei Möglichkeiten zur Vererbung von Einstellungen:

  1. globale Vererbung
  2. Vererbung auf Basis von Mitgliedschaft in Organisationseinheiten (OU)

Globale Einstellungen konfigurieren Sie in den Client Einstellungen. Die Vererbung über Organisationseinheiten erfolgt im Modul Organisationsstruktur. Alle Benutzer, welche einer Organisationseinheit zugeordnet sind, erben alle Benutzereinstellungen dieser OU. Im vorliegenden Fall erben die Benutzer Jones und Moore die Einstellungen aus der Organisationseinheit IT:

Über den Button Einstellungen in der Ribbon können Sie sowohl für Organisationseinheiten, als auch für Benutzer die Einstellungen einsehen. Die Vielzahl der Einstellungsmöglichkeiten können Sie durch die bekannten Suchmechanismen einschränken.

Hier sind die Benutzereinstellung des Users Jones zu sehen. Es wurde nach dem Suchbegriff Detail gefiltert. In der Spalte Vererbt von ist ersichtlich, dass einige Einstellungen global, bzw. von der Organisationseinheit IT, geerbt wurden. Die beiden obersten Optionen weisen keinen Wert in der Spalte auf. Diese Parameter wurden also nicht vererbt, sondern direkt auf Benutzerebene definiert.

Sicherheitsstufen

Über die Sicherheitsstufen können Sie festlegen, dass Benutzer nur bestimmte Einstellungen selbst beeinflussen können. Hierfür wird in den globalen Einstellungen eine Einteilung in Optionsgruppen vorgenommen. Den einzelnen Einstellungen weißen Sie hierfür eine Sicherheitsstufe von 1 bis 5 zu.

Welcher Benutzer Einstellungen aus welchen Sicherheitsstufen ändern darf, legen Sie in den Benutzerrechten fest. Dieses Recht definieren Sie wiederum über die globale Vererbung, über eine Rolle oder direkt beim Benutzer.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.