What is a logbook?

Password Safe logs all user interactions. These entries can be viewed and filtered via the logbook. The logbook thus records which user has made exactly what changes. This module is (theoretically) classified as uncritical. This is because the employee only has access to those logbook entries to which he is actually entitled. The configuration of Masking is explained in a similar way to the other modules in one place.

Relevant rights

The following options are required:

User right

  • Display logbook module

Use of the filter in the logbook

As is the case in all other modules, you can also use the filter in the logbook. This enables you to limit the number of displayed elements based on the defined criteria. In the following example, the user is searching for logbook entries relating to the object type “Password” that also match the event criteria “Change”. In short: The entries are being filtered based on changes to passwords.

Grouping in the logbook

This list can also be grouped together by dragging and dropping column headers – see the following grouping of the columns for computer user. The filtered results now show all changes to passwords carried out by the computer user “administrator”.

Revision-safe archiving

In Password Safe, an uncompromising method is used when handling the logbook: Every change of state is recorded and saved in the MSSQL database. There are no plans to allow triggers for logbook entries to be selectively defined. It is only by using this process that changes are completed in a traceable and audit-proof manner to prevent falsification.

Transferring to a Syslog server

The logbook can also be completely transferred to a Syslog server. Further information on this subject can be found in the section Syslog

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Revisionssicherheit durch das Logbuch

Password Safe protokolliert alle Aktionen aller Benutzer im sogenannten Logbuch. Dabei wird gespeichert, welcher Benutzer wann welche Änderungen vorgenommen hat. Dabei kann jeder Benutzer nur auf die Logbucheinträge der Objekte zugreifen, auf die er auch tatsächliche berechtigt ist. Zudem muss der Benutzer die Berechtigung haben, das Modul “Logbuch” sehen zu können, was hier konfiguriert werden kann.

Relevante Rechte

Folgende Optionen werden benötigt:

Benutzerrecht

  • Logbuch-Modul anzeigen

Einsatz des Filters im Logbuch

Wie in allen anderen Modulen können Sie auch im Logbuch den Filter nutzen um die Anzahl der angezeigten Elemente einzugrenzen. Im nachfolgenden Beispiel wird nach Logbucheinträgen gesucht, die den Objekttyp Passwort betreffen und dem Ereignis “Ändern” entsprechen. Kurz gesagt: Es wird nach Änderungen an Passwörtern gefiltert.

Gruppierungen im Logbuch

Durch Drag & Drop der Spaltenüberschriften können Sie diese Auflistung gruppieren. Die gefilterten Informationen zeigen nun alle Ergebnisse, die Änderungen an Passwörtern durch den Computerbenutzer Administrator entsprechen.

Automatische Bereinigung

Falls gewünscht, kann das Logbuch automatisch bereinigt werden. Diese Option wird am AdminClient konfiguriert. Weitere Informationen finden Sie im Kapitel Verwaltung von Datenbanken.

Übertragen an einen Syslog-Server

Falls gewünscht, können Sie das Logbuch komplett an einen Syslog-Server übertragen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie dazu im Kapitel Syslog.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.