What is the offline client?

The offline client enables you to work without an active connection to the Password Safe server. If the corresponding setting has been configured, the local copy of the server database will be automatically synchronized according to freely definable cycles. This ensures that you can always use a (relatively) up-to-date version of the database offline.

Facts

  • “Microsoft SqlServer Compact 4.0.8876.1” is used for creating offline databases
  • The database is encrypted using AES-128 or SHA-256. A so-called “platform default” is used for this purpose
  • In addition, RSA encryption processes are used
  • More on this subject…::https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/gg592949(v=sql.110).aspx

Installation

The offline client is automatically installed together with the main client. No database profiles need to be created – this task is performed by the client during the initial synchronization, together with the creation of the offline database.

Operation

Operation of the offline client is generally based on the operation of the main client. Since the offline client only has a limited range of functions, the following must be taken into account with regards to its operation:

  • There is no dashboard
  • Only the password module is available
  • The filter is not available. Records are found using the quick search
  • The automatic login data entry can be performed via the SSO agent, independently of the offline client

What data is synchronised?

Seals enhance the security concept in Password Safe to include a double-check principle that can be defined in fine detail. This means that releases for protected information are linked to the positive authentication of one or more users. Naturally, it is not possible to issue these releases when the server is not connected. For this reason, sealed records are not synchronized and thus do not form part of offline databases.

Otherwise, all records for which the user has the export right are synchronised.

Records with password masking are adopted into the offline database and can be used as normal.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was ist der Offline Client?

Der Offline Client ermöglicht das Arbeiten ohne aktive Verbindung zum Password Safe Server. Sollten Sie es an entsprechender Stelle konfiguriert haben, synchronisiert sich die lokale Replikation der Serverdatenbank in frei definierbaren Zyklen selbstständig. Damit wird sichergestellt, dass die Stände nahezu aktuell sind.
h4. Fakten

  • Bei der Erstellung von Offline-Datenbanken kommt “Microsoft SqlServer Compact 4.0.8876.1” zum Einsatz.
  • Verschlüsselung der Datenbank mittels AES 128 bzw. SHA 256. Hierbei wird auf den sogenannte “Platform Default” gesetzt.
  • Zusätzliche werden RSA Verschlüsselungsverfahren genutzt.
  • Hier erfahren Sie mehr zu diesem Thema.

Installation

Der Offline Client wird automatisch zusammen mit dem Haupt Client installiert. Sie müssen keine Datenbankprofile erstellten. Diese Aufgabe übernimmt der Client bei der ersten Synchronisation zusammen mit der Erstellung der Offline Datenbank.

Bedienung

Die Bedienung des Offline Clients ist grundsätzlich an die Handhabung des Hauptclients angelehnt. Da der Offline Client dennoch nur eingeschränkten Funktionsumfang besitzt, gilt bezüglich der Bedienung folgendes zu beachten:

  • Es existiert kein Dashboard.
  • Es ist ausschließlich das Passwort Modul verfügbar.
  • Der Filter ist nicht verfügbar. Das Auffinden der Datensätze erfolgt über die Schnellsuche.
  • Die automatische Eintragung ist über den SSO Agent unabhängig vom Offline Client möglich.

Welche Daten werden synchronisiert?

Siegel erweitern das Sicherheitskonzept des Password Safe um ein definierbares Mehr-Augen-Prinzip. Dies bedeutet, dass Freigaben auf geschützte Informationen an eine positive Rückmeldung aus der Authentifizierung durch einen oder mehrere Benutzer gekoppelt sind. Diese Freigaben sind nicht einholbar, wenn keine Server-Verbindung besteht. Aus diesem Grund werden versiegelte Datensätze nicht synchronisiert und sind demnach auch nicht Bestandteil der Offline Datenbanken.

Ansonsten werden alle Datensätze synchronisiert, auf welche der Benutzer das Export Recht hat.

Datensätze mit Sichtschutz werden in die Offline Datenbank übernommen und Sie können diese wie gewohnt verwenden.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.