What are organisational structures?

The storage of passwords or documents ultimately always takes place according to defined organisational structures. The module enables arbitrarily complex structures to be defined, which later form the basis for the systematic storage of data. It is often possible to define them on the basis of already existing organigrams for the company or the department. Of course, it is also possible to use other criteria, such as the function / activity performed, as the basis for creating hierarchies. It is always up to the customer themselves to decide which structure is most useful for the purpose of the application. The configuration of Masking is explained in a similar way to the other modules in one place.

Relevant rights

The following options are required for adding new organisational structures.

User rights

  • Can add new organisational units
  • Display organisational structure module

Module-specific ribbon functions

The operation of the ribbon differs fundamentally in a couple of aspects to how it works in other modules. The following section will focus on only those elements of the ribbon that differ. The remaining actions have already be explained for the password module.

  • New organisational unit/user: New organisational units or new users can be added via the ribbon, the keyboard shortcut “CTRL + N” or also the context menu that is accessed using the right mouse button. Due to its complexity, there is a separate section for this function: New organisational structures / new users
  • Drag & Drop: If this option has been activated, it is possible to move users or organisational units in list view via drag & drop
  • Permissions: The configuration of permissions within the organisational structure is important both for the administration of the structure and also as the basis for the permissions in accordance with inheritance from organisational structures. The benefits of ”predefining rights” are explained in a separate section.
  • Settings: The settings can be configured for both users and also organisational units. More information on user settings…
  • Active Directory: The connection to Active Directory (available from the Enterprise Edition upwards) is explained in a dedicated section
  • Multifactor authentication: Additional security during login is provided through positive authentication based on another factor. More on this subject…
  • Reset password: Administrators can reset the passwords with which users log in to Password Safe to a defined value. Naturally, this is only possible if the connection to Active Directory is configured via end-to-end encryption. In the alternative Master Key mode, the authentication is linked to the correct entry of the AD password.

The example below shows the configuration of a user where only the user themselves is a member.

This configuration means that the user password cannot be reset by administrators. The disadvantage is that if the password is lost there is no technical solution for “resetting” the password in the system.

Adding local organisational units

Both users and also organisational units themselves can be added as usual via the ribbon (alternatively via Ctrl + N or via the context menu). These processes are supported by various wizards. The example below shows the creation of a new organisational unit:

Create organisational unit

  • Allocated organisational unit: If the new object is defined here as a main organisational unit, it is not allocated to an existing organisational unit
  • Rights template group: If an already existing organisational unit was selected under “allocated organisational unit”, you can select one of the existing rights template groups here

Create role

When creating a new organisational unit, the second tab in the wizard enables you to directly create a new role. This role will not only be created but also given “read” rights to the newly created organisational unit.

Configuring rights

The third tab of the wizard allows you to define the permissions for the newly created organisational unit. If an allocated organisational unit or a rights template group was defined in the first tab, the new organisational unit will inherit its permissions. Here, these permissions can be adapted if desired.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was ist eine Organisationsstruktur?

In Anlehnung an bereits vorhandene Organigramme eines Unternehmens oder Abteilungen ist eine Organisationsstruktur die Abbildung eben dieser hierarchischen Strukturen in Password Safe. Natürlich ist es auch möglich, andere Kriterien – wie z.B. die ausgeübte Funktion/Tätigkeit – als Grundlage für die Erstellung von Hierarchien heranzuziehen. Es bleibt dabei Ihnen überlassen, welche Struktur für den Einsatzzweck am sinnvollsten ist. Der Zugriff auf Passwörter oder Dokumenten erfolgt entsprechend den jeweiligen Berechtigungen in den einzelnen Hierarchie-Ebenen. Die Konfiguration der Sichtbarkeit des Moduls wird analog zu den anderen Modulen an zentraler Stelle erläutert.

Relevante Rechte

Sie benötigen folgende Option zum Anlegen neuer Organisationsstrukturen:

Benutzerrechte

  • Kann neue Organisationseinheiten anlegen
  • Kann neue Benutzer anlegen
  • Organisationsstruktur Modul anzeigen

Modulspezifische Ribbonfunktionen

Die Bedienung der Ribbon unterscheidet sich in ein paar Punkten von der Handhabung in anderen Modulen. Diese werden hier erklärt. Die restlichen Aktionen sind im Modul Passwörter bereits erläutert.

  • Neue Organisationseinheit/Benutzer: Sowohl über die Ribbon, über den Shortcut “STRG + N” als auch über das Kontextmenü können Sie neue Organisationseinheiten bzw. neue Benutzer anlegen. Aufgrund der Komplexität existieren für diesen Unterpunkt separate Kapitel: neue Organisationsstrukturen / neue Benutzer.
  • Drag & Drop: Mit dieser Option können Sie Benutzer oder Organisationseinheiten in der Listenansicht per Drag & Drop verschieben.
  • Berechtigungen: Legen Sie fest, wer die Organisationsstruktur in welcher Form administrieren darf.
  • Einstellungen: Können Sie sowohl auf Benutzer als auch auf Organisationseinheiten konfigurieren. Näheres zu den Benutzereinstellungen finden Sie im Kapitel globale Einstellungen.
  • Active Directory: Die Anbindung an das Active Directory, die ab der Enterprise Edition möglich ist, wird in einem eigenen Kapitel erläutert.
  • Multifaktor-Authentifizierung: Die Anmeldung nach erfolgreicher Authentifizierung durch einen weiteren Faktor schafft zusätzlich Sicherheit.
  • Passwort zurücksetzen: Administratoren können die Passwörter, mit denen sich Benutzer am Password Safe anmelden, auf einen definierbaren Wert zurücksetzen, sofern Sie die Active Directory Anbindung über die Ende zu Ende Verschlüsselung konfigurieren. Im alternativen Master Key Modus ist die Authentifizierung an die korrekte Eingabe des AD-Passwortes gekoppelt.

Nachfolgend die Konfiguration eines Benutzers, bei der lediglich der Benutzer selbst Mitglied ist.

Durch diese Konfiguration kann das Benutzerpasswort nicht durch Administratoren zurückgesetzt werden. Bei Verlust des Passwortes besteht daher technisch keine Möglichkeit, das Passwort systemseitig zu “resetten”.

Anlegen lokaler Organisationseinheiten

Sowohl Benutzer als auch Organisationseinheiten selbst können Sie wie gewohnt über die Ribbon (Alternativ über Ctrl. + N oder Kontextmenü) anlegen. Dabei öffnet sich ein Assistent, der Sie unterstützt. Nachfolgend wird eine neue Organisationseinheit erstellt:

Organisationseinheit erstellen

  • Zugeordnete Organisationseinheit: Sobald Sie hier die Hauptorganisationseinheit festlegen, erhält das neue Objekt keine Zuordnung zu einer bereits bestehenden Organisationseinheit.
  • Rechtevorlagengruppe: Haben Sie unter “zugeordneter Organisationseinheit” eine bereits bestehende ausgewählt, können Sie hier eine der dort möglicherweise vorhandenen Rechtevorlagengruppen auswählen.

Rolle erstellen

Über den zweiten Reiter im Assistenten legen Sie neue Rollen an. Diese Rolle wird automatisch mit “lesend” auf die neu erstellte Organisationseinheit berechtigt.

Rechte konfigurieren

Im dritten Reiter des Assistenten definieren Sie die Berechtigungen auf die neue Organisationseinheit. Haben Sie im ersten Reiter eine zugeordnete Organisationseinheit, bzw. eine Rechtevorlagengruppe, definiert, so erbt die neue Organisationseinheit deren Rechte. Passen Sie diese Berechtigungen bei Bedarf an.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.