What are passwords?

In Password Safe v8, the data record with the passwords contained therein represents the central data object. The Passwords module provides administrators and end users with central access to the passwords on a daily basis for the purpose of handling this sensitive data that requires protection. Freely definable search filters in combination with colour-highlighted tag markings on records enable very focussed work. Various approaches can be used to help apply the desired permissions to objects. Furthermore, the ergonomic structure of the module helps all users to use Password Safe in an efficient and targeted manner. The configuration of Masking is explained in a similar way to the other modules in one place.

Prerequisite

The following user right is required for adding new passwords:

  • Can add new passwords

Module-specific ribbon functions

A great strength of the ribbon is that it offers access to all possible actions relevant to the situation at all times. Especially within the “Passwords” module, the ribbon plays a key role due to the numerous module-specific functions. General information on the subject of the ribbon is available in the relevant section. The module-specific ribbon functions will be explained below.

New

  • New password: New passwords can be added via this icon in the ribbon, via the context menu that is accessed using the right mouse button and via the shortcut (Ctrl + N). The next step is to select a suitable form.
  • Open: Opens the object marked in list view and provides further information about the record in the reading pane.
  • Delete: Deletes the object marked in list view. A log file entry is created (see logbook).
  • Reveal: The function Reveal can be used for all records that have a password field. Here, the passwords in the reading pane are revealed and are visible. In the example, the passwords have been revealed and can be hidden again with the Hide button.

Actions

  • Notifications: Defining notifications enables a constant flow of information about any type of change to records. The issuing of notifications is carried out in the module designed for this purpose.
  • Duplicate: Duplicating records produces an exact copy of the record marked in list view. This applies to all saved information and also defined permissions.
  • Move: Moves the record marked in list view to another organisational structure. More…
  • Favourite: The selected record is marked as a favourite. It is possible to switch between all records and favourites at any time above the list view.
  • Quick view: A modal window opens for the selected record for 15 seconds and displays all available information including the value of the password.
  • Change form: It is possible to change the form used for individual records. “Mapping” of the previous form fields can be directly carried out in the modal window that opens.

Permissions

  • Permissions: The drop-down menu can be used to set both password permissions and also form field permissions. This method only allows the manual setting of permissions for data (see authorization concept).
  • Password masking: Masking passwords that need to be protected from unauthorized users is an important feature of the security concept in Password Safe. The functionality of this mechanism is described in a separate section.
  • Seal: The double-check principle in Password Safe is also covered in its own section.

Clipboard

The clipboard is a key element in the ribbon. This only exists in the “Passwords” module. Clicking on the desired form field for a record in the ribbon will copy it to the clipboard.

The message in the style of the “Balloon Tips” in Windows shows that the password has now been saved in the clipboard for 300 seconds. (Note: the time until the clipboard is cleared is 60 seconds by default. In the present case, this has been adjusted via the user settings.)

Start

Conveniently working with passwords is only possible via the efficient usage of automated accesses via RDP, SSH, general Windows applications or websites. This makes it possible to dispense with (unsecure) entries via “copy & paste”.

  • Open web page: If a URL is saved in the record, this menu option can be used to directly open it.
  • Applications: If applications have been linked to records, they can be directly opened via the “start menu”.

Extras

  • Create external link: This option makes it possible to create an external link for the record marked in list view. A number of different options can be selected:

  • History: This icon opens the history for those records selected in list view in a new tab. Due to the comprehensive recording of historical versions of passwords, it is now possible to compare several versions with one another. Further information on this subject is available in a separate section.
  • Export: It is possible to export both all the selected records and also the data defined by the filter to a .csv file. More…
  • Change form: This option can be used to assign a new form to the selected passwords.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Was sind Passwörter?

In Password Safe v8 stellt der Datensatz mit den darin enthaltenen Passwörtern das zentrale Datenobjekt dar. Über das Modul Passwörter erhalten Administratoren und Endbenutzer den zentralen Zugang zu den sensiblen und schützenswerten Daten. Frei definierbare Suchfilter im Zusammenspiel mit Tag-Markierungen auf Datensätzen ermöglichen zielführendes Arbeiten. Mithilfe diverser Ansätze kann die gewünschte Form der Berechtigung an Objekten angebracht werden. Die Konfiguration der Sichtbarkeit ist analog zu den anderen Modulen an zentraler Stelle erläutert.

Voraussetzung

Sie benötigen folgendes recht, um neue Passwörtern anzulegen:

  • Kann neue Passwörter anlegen

Modulspezifische Ribbonfunktionen

Die Ribbon bietet innerhalb des Moduls Passwörter eine Vielzahl an modulspezifischen Funktionen an. Allgemeine Informationen zum Thema Ribbon gibt es im hierfür vorgesehenen Kapitel. Im Folgenden wird auf die modulspezifischen Ribbonfunktionen eingegangen.

Neu

  • Neues Passwort: Sowohl über dieses Icon in der Ribbon als auch über das Kontextmenü der rechten Maustaste sowie per Shortcut (STRG + N) können neue Datensätze angelegt werden. Im nächsten Schritt wählen Sie ein geeigneten Formular aus.
  • Öffnen: Öffnet das in der Listenansicht markierte Objekt und gibt weitere Informationen des Datensatzes im Lesebereich wieder.
  • Löschen: Entfernt das in der Listenansicht markierte Objekt. Es wird ein Logfile-Eintrag erstellt (s. Logbuch).
  • Aufdecken: Bei allen Datensätzen, die ein Passwortfeld besitzen, kann die Funktion Aufdecken genutzt werden. Hierbei werden die Passwörter im Lesebereich aufgedeckt und sind einsehbar. Im Beispiel ist dieses aufgedeckt. Sie verdecken das Passwort wieder über den Button Zudecken.

Aktionen

  • Benachrichtigungen: Die Definition von Benachrichtigungen ermöglicht den stetigen Informationsfluss bei jedweder Form von Datensatz-Änderungen. Die Ausgabe der Benachrichtigungen erfolgt in dem hierfür vorgesehenen Modul.
  • Duplizieren: Beim Duplizieren wird eine exakte Kopie des Datensatzes in einem neuen Tab erstellt. Hier haben Sie dann die Möglichkeit den Datensatz weiter zu bearbeiten.
  • Verschieben: Verschiebt den in der Listenansicht markierten Datensatz in eine andere Organisationsstruktur. Weitere Informationen hierzu finden Sie in einem eignen Kapitel.
  • Favorit: Der ausgewählte Datensatz wird als Favorit markiert. Wählen Sie oberhalb der Listenansicht jederzeit zwischen allen Datensätzen und Favoriten.
  • Schnellansicht: Für den ausgewählten Datensatz öffnet sich 15 Sekunden lang ein modales Fenster mit allen verfügbaren Informationen inklusive dem Wert des Passwortes.
  • Formular wechseln: Es ist möglich, für einzelne Datensätze das bisher genutzte Formular zu wechseln. Das “Mapping” der bisherigen Formularfelder nehmen Sie direkt im sich öffnenden, modalen Fenster vor.

Berechtigungen

  • Berechtigungen: Sowohl Passwortberechtigungen als auch Formularfeldberechtigungen setzen Sie über das sich öffnende Drop-Down Menü. Über diesen Weg ist einzig die manuelle Berechtigung von Daten möglich (s. Berechtigungskonzept).
  • Sichtschutz: Das Verdecken von schützenswerten Passwörtern gegenüber unbefugten Benutzern stellt ein wesentliches Feature innerhalb des Sicherheitskonzepts in Password Safe dar. Die Funktionsweise dieses Mechanismus ist separat erläutert.
  • Siegel: Auch dem Mehr-Augen-Prinzip im Password Safe ist ein eigenes Kapitel gewidmet.

Zwischenablage

Ein dominantes Element in der Ribbon ist die Zwischenablage. Dieses existiert ausschließlich im Modul “Passwörter”. Ein Mausklick auf das gewünschte Formularfeld eines Datensatzes in der Ribbon kopiert dieses in die Zwischenablage.

Durch die Meldung im Stile der “Balloon Tipps” unter Windows ist erkenntlich, dass das Passwort nun für 300 Sekunden in der Zwischenablage abgelegt wurde. (Anmerkung: Die Dauer bis zur Bereinigung der Zwischenablage beträgt standardmäßig 60 Sekunden. Im vorliegenden Fall wurde dies über die Benutzereinstellungen angepasst.)

Starten

Erst die Nutzung von Automatismen bei Zugängen via RDP, SSH, generell Windows-Anwendungen oder Webseiten, ermöglicht bequemes Arbeiten mit Passwörtern. Eintragungen mit “Copy&Paste” entfallen somit.

  • Internetseite öffnen: Ist im Datensatz eine URL hinterlegt, öffnen Sie diese hiermit direkt.
  • Anwendungen: Verknüpfen Sie Anwendungen direkt mit Datensätzen, öffnen Sie diese direkt über das “Starten-Menü”.

Extras

  • Externen Link erzeugen: Ermöglicht, für den in der Listenansicht markierten Datensatz, einen externen Link zu erzeugen. Hierfür stehen mehrere Möglichkeiten zur Auswahl:

  • Historie: Über das Icon öffnen Sie die Historie des in der Listenansicht ausgewählten Datensatzes in einem neuen Tab. Durch die lückenlose Erfassung historischer Versionsstände von Passwörtern können Sie mehrere Stände miteinander vergleichen. Weitere Informationen zu dieser Thematik sind in einem eigenen Kapitel erfasst.
  • Export: Es ist möglich, sowohl alle selektierten Datensätze als auch durch den Filter definierte Daten in eine .csv Datei zu exportieren. Mehr…
  • Formular wechseln: Hierüber weisen Sie den selektierten Passwörtern ein neues Formular zu.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.