Setting up the offline database

It is important to ensure that the right requirements have been met before setting up the offline client. The following configurations need to be defined in both the AdminClient and also the user rights/user settings.

Requirements

To set up offline databases, this option must firstly be activated in the AdminClient. This process is carried out separately for each database in the database view in the AdminClient in the “General settings” (right click on the database). This is also possible to do when the database is initially created.

You will find further information on this subject in the sections: Creating databases and Managing databases

User rights

The user requires the “offline mode” right. In addition, how long offline mode can be used without a server connection can be defined in the user rights.

Creating an offline database

The synchronization with the offline database can generally be carried out automatically. However, the first synchronization must be carried out manually. The synchronization is started via the Main menu/Account.

An offline database can be created per user and client for each online database. This makes it possible to use several offline databases with an offline client.

Synchronization

In order to keep the data always consistent, the offline database must be synchronized regularly. Synchronization is automatically performed by the client in the background. The interval can be freely configured in the settings. The synchronization is completed every 30 minutes by default. When creating and editing records, it is also possible to synchronize outside of the synchronization cycle so that the changes are directly available offline. In addition, the synchronization can also be started manually in Backstage via “Account”.

A running synchronization is displayed in the icon in the task bar as well as by a status bar in the client:

As soon as the synchronization is completed, this is indicated by a hint.

Relevant settings

Offline mode can be configured and personalised using the four settings mentioned:

  • “Offline synchronization after saving a record”: The synchronization of the offline database is completed directly after saving a record. It is important to note that this only applies to those records that are saved by the user who is logged in. Changes made by another user do not trigger any synchronization!
  • Automatic synchronization after an interval: This setting is used to define the interval at which a synchronization of the offline database will be periodically carried out. The default value is 30 minutes.
  • Path where the offline database should be saved: If this field is left empty, the system default is used. The storage location for the offline database can otherwise be entered directly.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.