What happens when records are moved?

Data can be moved within Password Safe to another organisational structure. This does not necessarily have to be linked to a change in permissions (the effects are described separately below). Moving records without changing the permissions mainly has effects on the filtering or search functions for records.

How do you move a record?

The (marked) records are moved either via the ribbon or via the context menu that is accessed using the right mouse button.

Multiple records can also be marked and moved. The selected permissions are then valid for all records in this case.

Required permissions

No special user rights/settings are required in order to move records. The “move” right for the record is the only deciding factor.

Effects on existing permissions

  • Retain permissions: The permissions for the record are not changed by moving it and are retained
  • Overwrite permissions: The permissions for the record are overwritten by the target OU
  • Extend permissions: The existing permissions are extended to include the permissions for the target OU

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.