Preparations in version 8

Before migration, ensure that both the server and the client for version 8 are installed and can be used. Refer to the Getting started section for more information. In addition, you should specify before the migration whether Active Directory users should be imported in Master Key mode or using end-to-end encryption. The connection to Active Directory section will help you to make a decision.

Preparations in version 7

Email addresses

In the v7 database, all local users, as well as all users who are to be migrated in the end-to-end mode, must have an email address. Version 8 utilises a new process (PBKDF2) which enables the delivery of new, randomly generated passwords to the email addresses mentioned above.

Backup, password, and private key

  • A valid backup of version 7 must exist in .psx format
  • The associated private key with the ending .prvkey is required for server databases.
  • The database password is required (for single and multiuser databases)

Offline mode and USB sticks

  • All offline databases must be synchronized before the migration
  • All USB sticks must be synchronized before the migration

The value for “Exported databases” shown in the database overview (see following subsection) is the sum of all offline databases and synchronized USB sticks.

Cleaning up the data set

The migration to version 8 is an opportune time to clean up the data on the existing version 7 database. On the one hand, this shortens the migration process, while on the other, it makes it easier to “get your bearings” in version 8. The database overview can be called up in version 7 via Edit -> Reports -> Database overview and is a very important source of information during the clean-up process.

  • Records, documents, folders or applications that are no longer required should be deleted. Personal records and documents must be cleaned up by the user themselves.
  • It is useful to adjust the folder structures in advance with a view to the migration
  • Cleaning up the logbook (Edit -> Database settings -> Logbook) also often makes sense. There is an option to export data before deletion. The size of the logbook can be seen in the database overview.
  • The size of the synclog is also shown in the database overview. If the value is more than 10,000, it should be deleted. Otherwise, this could massively increase the size of the backup file.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.