What is the migration process?
The migration process describes the actual porting process in which all data from a version 7 database is transferred to a new/existing version 8 database. The required amendments to the data set due to the redesign of the authorization concept are also carried out.
Starting the migration
Firstly, a new database is created as described in the section “”: https://help.passwordsafe.de/v8/81312/en/topic/erstellen-und-verwalten-von-datenbanken#Erstellen. The data migration is activated in the third step of the wizard.
After completing the database wizard, you can go directly to the migration wizard.
- Select the desired Import type
- Under Migration file, select the previously created Password Safe V7 backup which is in .psx format
- In addition, when migrating a server database, the private key file in .prvkey format that belongs to the backup must be selected. Users are requested to Enter the password for single and multiuser databases.
- The complete migration is carried out as a test via the test run. Users do not receive passwords in this case and thus cannot log in. This step is only for test purposes.
- For local users or users in deactivated Masterkey mode, randomly generated passwords can be created. These are sent to users via email. If the passwords are not automatically generated, they need to be manually issued in the database.
- Merging existing users: If an existing database is migrated, any duplicate users are merged using the name. The rights will be added together. * If this option is inactive, a “*” is added to the name of the newly imported user. In the next run “**”, etc.
- Create form field with folder path: A form field is created that replaces the folder path from Password Safe version 7. This field contains every record and allows you to search based on the old folder path in future.
- Master Key mode for Active Directory objects: It is decided here whether the AD user is imported in or using . Note that a corresponding is created in Master Key mode.
- If documents had their own folder structure in version 7, the document folder can be added as an organisational unit.
- It is recommended that the migration user is deleted, as this is authorized by the migration to all records in the database! As a rule, this user is no longer required after the migration, since the administrator is taken as the user from the migrated backup and will be used in the future.
After the process has been started, the data are analysed and processed. Depending on the database size, this step can take several hours.
Migration into an existing database
The data can also be migrated into an existing database via the ribbon. The migration process remains the same. This function allows multiple databases to be merged. Identical records, documents, forms, etc. are duplicated. Exception: Duplicated users will have a * added to the end of the name. They can, however, be merged together. Tags are not duplicated if they are written identically.