Licensing terms and conditions for software from MATESO GmbH

for Password Safe licenses purchased in Germany

As of April 2013

1. General scope

1.1 These licensing terms and conditions are supplementary to the general terms and conditions of MATESO GmbH (hereinafter referred to as the Licensor). These terms and conditions apply to the provided software as well as to any updates, upgrades, additions, support and other services offered online. Should any of the products mentioned above come with their own licensing terms and conditions, those shall have priority.

1.2 The Licensee accepts these licensing terms and conditions upon installation or use of the software.

1.3 If the software is purchased from a sales partner (cleverbridge), the licensing terms and conditions shall apply in their entirety and remain hereby unaffected. MATESO shall remain the exclusive holder of the rights of use within the scope specified in these licensing terms and conditions.

1.4 System responsibility shall lie with the Licensee. The Licensor is only required to provide delivery of the software if the product is purchased through direct sales. The option to download products is also included under delivery of software.

2. Definitions

2.1 Licensed products refer to all software products offered by MATESO GmbH.

2.2 Licensing material includes updates and documentation provided by the Licensor to the Licensee.

3. Allocation of rights

3.1 The Licensor shall retain ownership of all rights to the licensed product even if the Licensee should modify the licensed product without authorization or connect it to their own programs or to those of a third party. The above shall also apply if the reseller modifies the license key so that it bears a name other than that of MATESO, with the exception of rights granted in accordance with these terms and conditions.

3.2 The Licensor shall grant the Licensee a non-exclusive, simple right of use to the licensed products and documentation that excludes the granting of sublicenses.

3.3 The Licensee shall have the right to create a backup copy of the provided licensed products for backup purposes only. The Licensor shall hold all rights to these copies unless these terms and conditions specify that such rights are to be transferred to the Licensee. The Licensee has the right to use the licensed products on their data processing system as specified in the terms and conditions even if doing so involves the creation of backup copies in the system’s RAM. The creation of additional copies is not permitted.

3.4 If applicable national law and/or jurisdiction states that licenses may be sold to third parties, the original Licensee is under the obligation to make sure that any copies that have been downloaded onto their data processing system are unusable at the time of resale. Further use of the product by the original Licensee constitutes a violation of the Licensor’s exclusive right of reproduction and shall be subject to prosecution under civil and criminal law.

3.5 Individual editions containing several licenses may not be split up and sold separately.

3.6 The software and licenses may only be sold to another party after MATESO has first transferred the license. Should the original license holder decide to sell the license, a fee must be paid to MATESO before the license can be transferred, modified or before a new license can be granted.

4. Special provisions regarding rights of use for full versions

4.1 The Licensee has the right to use the software with the number of licenses they have purchased. The products are structured according to the named user license model.

4.2 After purchasing a license, only one Licensee shall have the right to install and use the software. The database can be used by all named users.

4.3 The software may only be installed and used on one computer. If the software is installed on another computer or data processing system, the software on the first device must be uninstalled completely. The software may only be installed on more than one computer or system if the customer has paid an additional fee.

4.4 The customer must purchase a server license (terminal server/Citrix Module) if they intend to store the software on a data processing unit that is being used as a server. Single licenses may not be installed on a server.

4.5 If the customer will be using the licenses on a server, they must also purchase an additional license for each user.

5. Special provisions regarding rights of use for demo versions (test phase)

5.1 Licenses can be provided on a test basis. The right of use for demo versions of software is limited to the test phase period (30 days). The right of use for demo versions is a non-exclusive, simple right of use that excludes the granting of sublicenses and is granted for a limited period of time only.

5.2 The Licensee has the right to provide the demo software to other computer users for test purposes during the test phase. If the Licensee intends to provide the demo software to other users, the Licensee must inform said users of the duration of the test phase and of the consequences of continuing to use the software once the test phase has come to an end. The Licensee is responsible for compliance with these and any legal provisions, also when it comes to third-party use of the software.

5.3 Once the test phase has been completed, further use of the software shall be considered an infringement of copyright punishable by law, and the Licensor expressly reserves the right to prosecution for such use.

5.4 Once the test phase has been completed, the customer can use a license key to activate the software. By doing so, the Licensee shall be granted a right of use covering the scope described in these licensing terms and conditions. In addition to the other provisions, no. 3 of these licensing terms and conditions particularly applies to the scope of use for full versions.

6. Modification, reverse engineering

6.1 The Licensee does not have the right to modify the software in any way, to copy the software or to translate the software. Any form of reverse engineering is prohibited. This includes extracting structural elements of the licensed product or parts thereof. The Licensee is also prohibited from generating the source code (decompilation) or disassembling the software (conversion of the native code into an assembly language that people can read). The only exception to the above is if it is absolutely necessary to decompile the software in order to obtain interface information and MATESO was unable to provide the information required for interoperability after having received a written request from the Licensee to do so.

6.2 §§ 69d paragraph 2 and 3 and 69e German Copyright Act (UrhG) shall remain unaffected.

7. Documentation

Documentation (user manual) is available online at www.passwordsafe.de under Support in the Download Center and can be printed or downloaded as a PDF.

8. Software support

8.1 The Licensee has the choice of different software support plans. The right of use granted applies to updates, etc., depending on the plan selected (Private, Company Classic, Company Premium).

8.2 The right of use to the original software purchased does not expire with the expiration of the software support plan. The customer can continue to use the software that was originally purchased without having to take any additional steps. However, the customer must renew the software support plan if they wish to receive further updates, upgrades or support.

8.3 Within the scope of software support, the Licensee shall be granted a non-exclusive, non-transferable, simple right of use to the software support products that excludes the granting of sublicenses a for a period of twelve months. The software support plan cannot be interrupted.

8.4 The Licensee may renew the software support plan 30 days before the software support period expires. If the Licensee decides to renew software support they will be granted another non-exclusive, non-transferable, simple right of use to the software support products that excludes the granting of sublicenses for another twelve months.

8.5 The Licensee can purchase software support retroactively if they forget to renew their software support plan by the deadline. The twelve-month period of the renewed software support plan will begin as of the date on which the previous software support plan expired.

8.6 Private software support plan

The Private plan is only available for the private products and comes with updates of one version for the next 12 months. It does not include any upgrades to the next version up. E-mail support is also provided working days from Monday through Friday at support@passwordsafe.de. The maximum response time generally does not exceed 72 hours. In some cases, however, the response time may be longer.

8.7 Company Classic software support plan

The Company Classic plan comes with updates of one version for the next twelve months as well as an upgrade to the next version up if an upgrade of that version is available within the twelve-month period. E-mail support is also provided working days from Monday through Friday at support@passwordsafe.de. The maximum response time generally does not exceed 48 hours. In some cases, however, the response time may be longer.

8.8 Company Premium software support plan

The Company Premium plan comes with updates and upgrades within the next 12 months. Company Premium software support also includes free e-mail support (support@passwordsafe.de) working days from Monday through Friday, phone support and remote assistance (TeamViewer). The maximum response time generally does not exceed 24 hours. In some cases, however, the response time may be longer.

8.9 Product training may be purchased separately.

8.10 The sole purpose of support provided via phone, email or remote access is to provide support and/or advice regarding product use or in determining the cause of an error. Success is not guaranteed.

8.11 The customer is under the obligation to pay the fee for software support regardless of whether or not they choose to utilize the software support products.

9. Liability

9.1 MATESO shall only be liable for customer claims for damages arising from injury to life, body or health or the violation of critical contractual obligations (material obligations). MATESO shall also be liable for other damages that can be attributed to intentional or negligible violation of obligations on the part of MATESO, MATESO’s legal representatives or vicarious agents. Material contractual obligations are defined as obligations that must be fulfilled so that the purpose of the agreement can be accomplished. Any further liability is excluded.

9.2 Liability for the violation of material contractual obligations is limited to foreseeable damage that is typical to an agreement if said damage was caused as the result of negligence unless the matter at hand involves customer claims for damages arising from injury to life, body or health.

9.3 Should claims be made directly against MATESO’s legal representatives or vicarious agents, the limitations discussed in the previous section shall also apply in their favour.

9.4 The provisions stipulated in the German Product Liability Act shall remain unaffected.

10. Written form provision

There are no verbal side agreements. Any changes or additions to these terms and conditions must be made in writing. The same applies to this written form provision.

11. Place of jurisdiction

The place of performance and the sole place of jurisdiction for all disputes arising from the contractual relationship in question and involving merchants, legal entities or special assets under public law shall be Augsburg, Germany.

12. Final clause

12.1 The law of the Federal Republic of Germany, excluding the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods, shall apply to contracts between MATESO and the customer.

12.2 If individual provisions of these general terms and conditions should become ineffective, the remaining provisions shall remain thereby unaffected. The invalid provision shall be replaced by legal regulations to the extent these are present. If the above should constitute unreasonable hardship for one of the contracting parties, however, the agreement shall become invalid as a whole.

12.3 Contractual language is German. In case of interpretation and linguistic discrepancies between the foreign-language and the German versions, the German version will be binding.

Need more help with this?
Don’t hesitate to contact us here.

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Lizenzbestimmungen für Software der MATESO GmbH

für in Deutschland erworbene Password Safe Lizenzen

Stand April 2013

1.Allgemeiner Geltungsbereich

1.1 Diese Lizenzbestimmungen gelten ergänzend zu den Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen der MATESO GmbH (nachstehend Lizenzgeber). Diese Bestimmungen gelten neben der gelieferten Software auch für alle Updates, Upgrades, Ergänzungen, den Support und sonstige über das Internet angebotene Dienste. Sollten insoweit den oben genannten Produkten eigene Lizenzbestimmungen beiliegen, gelten diese vorrangig.

1.2 Indem der Lizenznehmer die Software installiert bzw. benutzt, erkennt er diese Lizenzbestimmungen an.

1.3 Wurde die Software von einem Vertriebspartner (cleverbridge) erworben, gelten die gesamten Lizenzbedingungen und bleiben unberührt. Das Nutzungsrecht wird ausschließlich von MATESO in dem in diesen Lizenzbestimmungen bestimmten Umfang eingeräumt.

1.4 Die Systemverantwortung liegt beim Lizenznehmer. Der Lizenzgeber schuldet im Wege des Direktvertriebs nur die Lieferung der Software. Als Lieferung der Software wird insbesondere die Downloadmöglichkeit angesehen.

2.Definitionen

2.1 Lizenzprodukte sind alle von der MATESO GmbH angebotenen Softwareprodukte.

2.2 Zum Lizenzmaterial gehören auch die Updates und Dokumentationen, die der Lizenzgeber dem Lizenznehmer überlässt.

3.Rechteverteilung

3.1 Der Lizenzgeber bleibt Inhaber aller Rechte am Lizenzprodukt, auch wenn der Lizenznehmer das Lizenzprodukt unberechtigterweise verändert oder mit seinen eigenen Programmen oder denjenigen eines Dritten verbindet. Dies gilt auch, wenn der Reseller den Lizenzschlüssel auf einen anderen Namen als auf MATESO ausstellt. Hiervon ausgenommen ist die Rechtseinräumung nach diesen Bestimmungen.

3.2 Der Lizenzgeber räumt dem Lizenznehmer ein nicht ausschließliches, nicht unterlizensierbares einfaches Nutzungsrecht an den Lizenzprodukten und der Dokumentation ein.

3.3 Ausschließlich zu Sicherungszwecken ist der Lizenznehmer berechtigt, Kopien des überlassenen Lizenzproduktes herzustellen. Der Lizenzgeber erwirbt an diesen Kopien sämtliche Rechte, sofern sie nicht durch diese Bestimmungen auf den Lizenznehmer übertragen wurden. Der Lizenznehmer ist berechtigt, die Lizenzprodukte im Rahmen der bestimmungsgemäßen Verwendung auf seiner DV-Anlage zu nutzen, auch wenn hierbei im Arbeitsspeicher Zwischenkopien angefertigt werden. Die Herstellung weiterer Kopien ist nicht gestattet.

3.4 Soweit die Veräußerung der Lizenz an Dritte nach dem maßgebenden Landesrecht beziehungsweise der Rechtsprechung möglich ist, ist der ursprüngliche Lizenznehmer verpflichtet, die auf seine DV-Anlage heruntergeladene Kopie zum Zeitpunkt des Weiterverkaufs vollständig unbrauchbar zu machen. Eine weitere Nutzung durch den ursprünglichen Lizenznehmer stellt einen Verstoß gegen das ausschließliche Vervielfältigungsrecht des Lizenzgebers dar und wird zivil- und strafrechtlich verfolgt.

3.5 Einzelne Editionen mit mehreren Lizenzen dürfen nicht aufgespalten und einzeln verkauft werden.

3.6 Eine Weitergabe der Software und Lizenzen durch Verkauf ist grundsätzlich erst nach Lizenzumschreibung durch MATESO möglich. Eine Lizenzumschreibung aufgrund eines Verkaufs durch den ursprünglichen Lizenznehmer, eine Lizenzänderung und eine erneute Lizenzausstellung sind nur gegen Entrichtung einer Gebühr an MATESO möglich.

4.Besondere Bestimmungen zum Nutzungsrecht an den Vollversionen

4.1 Der Lizenznehmer ist berechtigt, die Software in der entsprechend erworbenen Anzahl von Lizenzen zu nutzen. Es handelt sich hierbei um ein sog. Named-User-Lizenzmodell.

4.2 Durch den Erwerb einer Lizenz ist jeweils ein Lizenznehmer berechtigt, die Software zu installieren und zu nutzen. Die Datenbank kann von allen named usern benutzt werden.

4.3 Die Software darf nur auf einem PC installiert und genutzt werden. Soll die Software auf einem anderen PC oder DV-Anlage installiert werden, ist die Software vom Erstgerät vollständig zu deinstallieren. Eine Mehrfachinstallation ist erst nach Entrichtung einer Gebühr zulässig.

4.4 Für die Speicherung der Software auf einer Datenverarbeitungseinheit, die als Server benutzt wird, bedarf es des Erwerbs einer Serverlizenz (Terminalserver/Citrix Modul). Einzellizenzen dürfen dort nicht installiert werden.

4.5 Darüber hinaus muss bei der Verwendung der Lizenzen auf einem Server sichergestellt sein, dass für jeden Nutzer eine eigene Lizenz erworben wurde.

5.Besondere Bestimmungen zum Nutzungsrecht an der Demoversion (Testphase)

5.1 Die Lizensierung auf Testbasis ist möglich. Die Nutzungsrechte an der Demoversion der Software sind zeitlich auf die Testphase (30 Tage) beschränkt. Es handelt sich dabei um ein nicht ausschließliches, nicht unterlizensierbares, zeitlich beschränktes einfaches Nutzungsrecht.

5.2 Während der Testphase ist der Lizenznehmer berechtigt, anderen PC-Anwendern die Demosoftware zu Testzwecken zur Verfügung zu stellen. Stellt der Lizenznehmer die Demosoftware anderen Anwendern zur Verfügung, ist er verpflichtet, diese auf die Testlaufzeit und die Folgen bei Nutzung der Software nach Ablauf der Testphase hinzuweisen. Der Lizenznehmer ist für die Einhaltung dieser und der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen auch im Hinblick auf die Verwendung durch Dritte verantwortlich.

5.3 Nach Ablauf der Testphase stellt das weitere Verwenden der Demosoftware eine strafbare Urheberrechtsverletzung dar, deren Verfolgung sich der Lizenzgeber ausdrücklich vorbehält.

5.4 Nach Ablauf der Testphase kann die Software durch einen Lizenzschlüssel freigeschalten werden. Dadurch erhält der Lizenznehmer ein Nutzungsrecht in dem in diesen Lizenzbestimmungen beschriebenen Umfang. Der Nutzungsumfang der Vollversion richtet sich neben den anderen Bestimmungen insbesondere nach Nr. 3 dieser Lizenzbestimmungen.

6.Bearbeitung, Reverse Engineering

6.1 Dem Lizenznehmer ist es nicht gestattet, die Software in irgendeiner Form zu bearbeiten, zu vervielfältigen oder zu übersetzen. Jegliche Form des Reverse Engineering ist untersagt. Dazu gehört unter anderem das Extrahieren von Konstruktionselementen des Lizenzprodukts oder Teile davon. Weiter ist es dem Lizenznehmer untersagt den ursprünglichen Quellcode zu erzeugen (dekompilieren) oder die Software zu disassemblieren (Umwandlung der Maschinensprache in eine für Menschen lesbare Assemblersprache). Eine Ausnahme gilt nur für den Fall, dass die Dekompilierung der Software zur Ermittlung von Schnittstelleninformationen zwingend erforderlich ist und MATESO nach schriftlicher Aufforderung durch den Lizenznehmer die erforderlichen Informationen für die Interoperabilität nicht ohne weiteres zugänglich gemacht hat.

6.2 §§ 69d Abs. 2 und 3 und 69e UrhG bleiben unberührt.

7. Dokumentation

Die Dokumentation (Benutzerhandbuch) steht auf der Internetseite www.passwordsafe.de unter der Rubrik Support im Download Center in ausdruckbarer Form als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.

8. Softwarepflege und Support

8.1 Der Lizenznehmer kann zwischen verschiedenen Ausgestaltungen der Softwarepflege und des Supports wählen. Je nach Auswahl (Private, Company Classic, Company Premium) richtet sich das Nutzungsrecht an den Updates etc.

8.2 Das Nutzungsrecht an der primär erworbenen Software erlischt nicht durch Ablauf des Softwarepflegezeitraums. Die ursprünglich erworbene Software kann in dem oben beschriebenen Maße weiter benutzt werden, jedoch sind ohne Verlängerung der Softwarepflege keine Updates, Upgrades oder Support mehr möglich.

8.3 Der Lizenznehmer erhält im Rahmen der Softwarepflege für 12 Monate ein nicht ausschließliches, nicht übertragbares, nicht unterlizensierbares einfaches Nutzungsrecht an den Softwarepflegeprodukten. Die Softwarepflege kann nicht unterbrochen werden.

8.4 30 Tage vor Ablauf des Softwarepflegezeitraums kann der Lizenznehmer die Softwarepflege verlängern. Verlängert der Lizenznehmer die Softwarepflege, erhält er wieder für 12 Monate ein nicht ausschließliches, nicht übertragbares, nicht unterlizensierbares einfaches Nutzungsrecht an den Softwarepflegeprodukten.

8.5 Wurde die Softwarepflege nicht rechtzeitig verlängert, besteht die Möglichkeit, dass der Lizenznehmer rückwirkend die Softwarepflege erwirbt. Der 12-Monatszeitraum der neu erworbenen Softwarepflege läuft ab dem Zeitpunkt des Endes des vorhergehenden Softwarepflegezeitraums.

8.6 Softwarepflege und Support Private
Private ist nur für die Privatanwenderprodukte verfügbar und beinhaltet Updates innerhalb einer Version für die nächsten 12 Monate. Upgrades auf die nächsthöhere Version sind nicht inbegriffen. Darüber hinaus ist ein Email-Support werktags von Montag bis Freitag an support@passwordsafe.de enthalten. Die maximale Reaktionszeit beträgt regelmäßig nicht mehr als 72 Stunden, im Einzelfall kann es zu einer zeitlichen Überschreitung kommen.

8.7 Softwarepflege und Support Company Classic
Company Classic beinhaltet sowohl Updates innerhalb der nächsten 12 Monate einer Version sowie des Upgrade auf die nächsthöhere Version, soweit dies innerhalb von 12 Monaten nach dem Kauf geschieht. Darüber hinaus ist ein Email-Support werktags von Montag bis Freitag an support@passwordsafe.de enthalten. Die maximale Reaktionszeit beträgt regelmäßig nicht mehr als 48 Stunden, im Einzelfall kann es zu einer zeitlichen Überschreitung kommen.

8.8 Softwarepflege und Support Company Premium
Company Premium beinhaltet Updates und Upgrades innerhalb der nächsten 12 Monate. Zudem gehört zum Leistungsumfang kostenloser Email-Support (support@passwordsafe.de) werktags von Montag bis Freitag, der Telefonsupport und eine Hilfe per Fernzugriff (TeamViewer). Die maximale Reaktionszeit beträgt regelmäßig nicht mehr als 24 Stunden, im Einzelfall kann es zu einer zeitlichen Überschreitung kommen.

8.9 Produktschulungen können separat erworben werden.

8.10 Der Support via Telefon, Email und Fernzugriff dient lediglich der Unterstützung/Beratung bei der Anwendung oder bei der Fehlersuche. Ein Erfolg wird dabei nicht geschuldet.

8.11 Die Pflicht des Kunden zur Bezahlung des Entgelts für die Softwarepflege besteht unabhängig von der Inanspruchnahme der Softwarepflegeprodukte.

9. Haftung

9.1 MATESO haftet nur für Schadenersatzansprüche des Kunden aus der Verletzung des Lebens, des Körpers, der Gesundheit oder aus der Verletzung wesentlicher Vertragspflichten (Kardinalspflichten) sowie die Haftung für sonstige Schäden, die auf einer vorsätzlichen oder grob fahrlässigen Pflichtverletzung von MATESO, der gesetzlichen Vertreter oder Erfüllungsgehilfen beruhen. Wesentliche Vertragspflichten sind solche, deren Erfüllung zur Erreichung des Vertragsziels notwendig ist. Eine weitergehende Haftung ist ausgeschlossen.

9.2 Die Haftung bei Verletzung wesentlicher Vertragspflichten ist auf den vertragstypischen, vorhersehbaren Schaden beschränkt, wenn dieser einfach fahrlässig verursacht wurde, es sei denn, es handelt sich um Schadenersatzansprüche des Kunden aus einer Verletzung des Lebens, des Körpers oder der Gesundheit.

9.3 Werden Ansprüche direkt gegen gesetzliche Vertreter und Erfüllungsgehilfen von MATESO geltend gemacht, gelten die Einschränkungen der vorstehenden Abschnitte auch zu deren Gunsten.

9.4 Die Vorschriften des Produkthaftungsgesetzes bleiben unberührt.

10. Schriftformklausel

Mündliche Nebenabreden wurden nicht getroffen. Änderungen und Ergänzungen dieser Bedingungen bedürfen der Schriftform. Dies gilt auch für diese Klausel.

11. Gerichtsstand

Im Verhältnis zu Kaufleuten, juristischen Personen oder öffentlich-rechtlichen Sondervermögen ist Erfüllungsort und ausschließlicher Gerichtsstand für alle sich aus dem jeweiligen Vertragsverhältnis ergebenden Streitigkeiten Augsburg.

12. Schlussbestimmungen

12.1 Auf Verträge zwischen MATESO und den Kunden findet das Recht der Bundesrepublik Deutschland unter Ausschluss des UN-Kaufrechts Anwendung.

12.2 Sollten einzelne Klauseln dieser allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen unwirksam sein, werden die übrigen Bestimmungen davon nicht berührt. Anstelle der unwirksamen Punkte treten, soweit vorhanden, die gesetzlichen Vorschriften. Soweit dies für eine Vertragspartei eine unzumutbare Härte darstellen würde, wird der Vertrag jedoch im Ganzen unwirksam.

12.3 Vertragssprache ist Deutsch. Bei Auslegungsproblemen und sprachlich bedingten Diskrepanzen zwischen der ausländischen und der deutschen Fassung ist die deutsche Fassung maßgeblich.

Haben Sie noch weitere Fragen?
Kontaktieren Sie uns.

War das hilfreich?

Ja Nein
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.